Picture That: A Tutorial for Finding and Using Digital Images in the Humanities

Browse entries by artist name, movement, medium, subject, or nationality.

The Digital Public Library of America brings together the riches of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world.

Digital Scriptorium is a growing consortium of American libraries and museums committed to free online access to their collections of pre-modern manuscripts. Our website unites scattered resources from many institutions into a national digital platform for teaching and scholarly research.

A portal to +20 million digital items from +1,500 European archives, libraries, museums from 32 countries. In mutliple languages, the portal includes links to texts (books, newspapers, etc.), images (works of arts, maps, etc.), video (film, TV broadcasts, etc.), and sound (music, radio broadcasts). Both public domain and materials still in copyright are included. For those in copyright, you may not have complete access to the items. Links in Europeana go out to the institution hosting the digital item.

Florida State University's Digital Library and Research Repository. Provides online access to thousands of unique manuscripts, photographs, pamphlets, books and maps, and other materials from across the FSU campus libraries and beyond.

The Index of Christian Art is the largest database of medieval art in existence with full-text records for over 23,000 works of art dating from early apostolic times to A.D. 1400.

Find collections of digitized photographs, books, sound recordings, and other archival documents here.

Digital library of original Greek and Latin literature and images.

The Archives of American Art collects, preserves, and makes available primary sources documenting the history of the visual arts in the United States.

This Gallery is meant to be a landing page for interested researchers to explore some of the many digitized collections held at the Smithsonian. You can explore by Arts & Design, History & Culture, or by individual Smithsonian repositories and museums.

A selection of book illustrations, photos, drawings, and other images from across the Libraries.

A virtual museum and searchable database of European painting and sculpture of the Gothic, Renaissance, Baroque, Neoclassicism, Romanticism and Realism periods (1100-1850), currently containing over 22,600 reproductions.