Skip to Main Content
Below is a list of other locations with items which can be used as OER. Remember: your subject librarians at FSU Libraries would be happy to help you find good OER materials for your classes.
Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB)
DOAB intends to make it easier to find Open Access books. All books in DOAB are free to read but may not be free to share or copy. All publishers are screened to make sure they have good peer-review and licensing requirements.
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.
Free Copyrighted Textbooks and Other Materials
A list of free (but not open) copyrighted textbooks and other materials from the Community College Consortium for Open Educational Resources.
Library resources as course materials
"Library resources can be one way to lower textbook costs for students. They are high-quality resources that students already pay to access through their tuition and fees. This post explores several strategies that libraries can pursue to encourage the use of library content as course materials."
National Academies Press
The National Academies Press is a National Academy of Sciences institution. Items are not published under an open license but are still publicly available. Be sure to check copyright restrictions before copying or redistributing!
Open Access Publishing in European Networks (OAPEN)
OAPEN is an online library of Open Access books and is based in the Netherlands.
Open Access Scholarly Publishers Association (OASPA)
"The Open Access Scholarly Publishers Association (OASPA) is a trade association that was established in 2008 in order to represent the interests of Open Access (OA) journal publishers globally in all scientific, technical and scholarly disciplines."
Open Access Textbooks: A FIPSE Grant Project
The legacy page of a Florida initiative to "create a sustainable model for the discovery, production, and dissemination of open textbooks."
Open Course Library
A collection of high quality, free-to-use courses that you can download and use for teaching. All content is stored in Google docs making it easy to access, browse and download.
Open Syllabus Project (OSP)
"The Open Syllabus Project (OSP) is an effort to create the first large-scale online database of university course syllabi as a platform for the development of new research, teaching, and administrative tools. We have this opportunity because, to date, syllabi are almost completely unexploited resources. They are treated as ephemera of the teaching enterprise rather than as its DNA."
Florida's Open Educational Resource Repository
Saylor Academy Open Textbooks
Saylor Academy Open Textbooks are available under an assortment of licenses. Saylor Academy also has open online courses.
SOL*R: A Repository of Freely Available Online Learning Resources
SOL*R includes learning resources from a wide variety of disciplines and subject areas. Resources range from open textbooks, individual learning activities and tools, all the way to full programs.
An open-source online homework system focused on mathematics courses and supported by the Mathematical Association of America (MAA) and the National Science Foundation (NSF). Options include a free trial, limited free hosting, and fee-based hosting.