Research Guides: Open Educational Resources: OER Collections

OER Metafinder

The OER Metafinder allows you to search across over 15 different OER collections at once. It is a great place to start your search!

Suggested OER Collections

Below is a list of suggested OER resources, focusing on textbooks. Remember: your subject librarians at FSU Libraries would be happy to help you find good OER materials for your classes!

Open Textbook Library from the University of Minnesota
The Open Textbook Library contains complete textbooks with open licensees which are used by two or more institutions. All textbooks are free and peer-reviewed.
OpenStax College
A nonprofit group at Rice University, OpenStax provides textbooks for AP and college classes. Funding is provided by various foundations and through "partnerships with for-profit companies that provide sophisticated, optional online homework at a low cost". All textbooks are free and peer-reviewed; optional online homework is not free.
College Open Textbooks
College Open Textbooks focus on materials and adoption for community and two-year colleges. Textbooks are peer-reviewed and available for free or at minimal cost.
British Columbia Open Campus Textbook List
The B.C. Open Textbook Project was started to reduce student costs by using textbooks with open licenses. Textbooks focus on the top subject areas in British Columbia.
Lumen Learning
Lumen provides open courses to support classroom learning for no or minimal cost.
OER Commons
OER Commons contains open resources ranging from full university courses to mini-lessons to open textbooks.
MERLOT II
"MERLOT is a curated collection of free and open online teaching, learning, and faculty development services contributed and used by an international education community."
more...less...
MERLOT: Multimedia Educational Resource for Learning and Online Teaching
MIT OpenCourseWare
This is an index to MIT OpenCourseWare and contains open textbooks or very detailed course notes. MIT OpenCourseWare is one of the few collections with open materials on aeronautics, engineering, and nuclear science.
OpenStax CNX
One of the "big three" OER repositories, including thousands of discrete modules as well as book-length collections
Open SUNY Textbooks
Open SUNY Textbooks is an open access textbook publishing initiative established by State University of New York libraries.
PDXOpen
PDXOpen is an open access textbook publishing initiative to support Portland State faculty developing open access textbooks.

Create Your Own OER

Some instructors have taken the idea of Open Educational Resources and decided to create their own textbook, video, or other resource. If you decide to do the same, these are some items which might help.

Authoring Open Textbooks
The Open Textbook Network has an excellent guide on Authoring Open Textbooks.
more...less...
Authors: Melissa Falldin, Karen Lauritsen
Description: This guide is for faculty authors, librarians, project managers and others who are involved in the production of open textbooks in higher education and K-12. Content includes a checklist for getting started, publishing program case studies, textbook organization and elements, writing resources and an overview of useful tools.
Copyright: 2017 by Open Textbook Network
Guidelines for Creating and Sharing Open Educational Resources
A list of steps and resources to create and share OER.
more...less...
A guide from the Center for Open Educational Resources & Language Learning (COERLL), housed at The University of Texas at Austin.
COERLL Modules This is a series of modules from COERLL, and is a developing resource for language educators who are interested in using and creating Open Educational Resources (OER). The modules describe the practices COERLL currently recommends to language educators who are developing OER, and will be updated as new techniques and methods emerge.
more...less...
A series of modules from the Center for Open Educational Resources & Language Learning (COERLL), housed at The University of Texas at Austin.