Research Guides: Social Classes and Inequality: Finding Books

Find Books @ Other Libraries

Books in libraries other than FSU may be requested through UBORROW or Interlibrary Loan. FSU students and faculty may personally check out books from any state university or community college library in Florida by using their FSU card.

UBorrow
Borrow books from any of the 11 state universities in Florida. It's faster than ILL and renewals can be requested. Start by searching the FSU catalog, then click on the blue UBorrow icon at the top of your search results. Select the book you want and click on the blue UBorrow link again to request it.
Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
Request books and journal articles from libraries around the world. Use ILL to request materials not available at FSU.

WorldCat (OCLC WorldCat Discovery) This link opens in a new window
WorldCat Discovery provides single-search access to OCLC's catalog of books and other materials in libraries worldwide.
Abbreviation: wcwc
Vendor: OCLC
Subjects: Indexes & Catalogs
Type: Indexes / Catalogs

E-Book Collections

Please refer to this comprehensive guide on our E-book collections for more information about available platforms and access.

Cambridge Books Online This link opens in a new window
With online access to unique, indispensable and extensive scholarly content, Cambridge Books Online will offer all levels of user a new dimension of access and usability to support and enhance research. FSU does not have access to all titles. Full text noted by a green circle.
Abbreviation: cbookso
Vendor: Cambridge University Press
Subjects: *General / Multi-Subject
Type: E-Book Collections
Digitalia This link opens in a new window
Digitalia is an online provider of Spanish language academic book and journal titles, with publications from Spain, Columbia, Chile, Argentina, Mexico, Peru, Dominican Republic, and more.
Abbreviation: digit
Vendor: Digitalia
Coverage: 1961-Current
Subjects: History, Latin American & Caribbean Studies, Linguistics, Literature
Type: E-Book Collections, E-Journal Collections
eBook Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
EBSCO's collection of over 30,000 recently published titles consisting of a broad range of reference, scholarly, popular and professional books. Compatible with all mobile devices, no separate app is required.
Tutorials:
Training Tutorials for EBSCO eBooks

Apps:
EBSCOhost Mobile Applications (website)
Android (PowerPoint)
iPhone (PowerPoint)
Downloading EBSCO eBooks to Your Mobile Device (03:38)

Abbreviation: netlibrary
Vendor: EBSCO
Subjects: *General / Multi-Subject
Type: E-Book Collections
HathiTrust This link opens in a new window
HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.
Note, you must use the instructions below to access Hathi Trust:

Go to the HathiTrust homepage.
Click on the yellow 'Log In' button.
Select FSU from the drop-down menu and click 'Continue.'
Enter your FSU ID and password and click 'Continue.'

FSU users have full-text access and downloading capabilities for those items in the public domain, including:

US federal government documents
Works published before 1923
Works still protected by copyright, but made available to HathiTrust with the permission of the copyright holder

See also: Research Guide: HathiTrust Digital Library

Abbreviation: hathi
Vendor: HathiTrust
Coverage: 1564-Current
Subjects: *General / Multi-Subject
Type: E-Book Collections, E-Journal Collections
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a digital library of academic content in many formats and disciplines. The collections include top peer-reviewed scholarly journals as well as respected literary journals, academic monographs, research reports from trusted institutes, and diverse primary sources. FSU has access to JSTOR’s Archive, Primary Sources, and Global Plants collections.
Tutorials:
JSTOR on YouTube
How to search (04:20)
Primary Source Collection: 19th-Century British Pamphlets (00:51)

Abbreviation: jstor
Vendor: JSTOR
Coverage: 1665-present
Subjects: Arts Administration, Art History, *General / Multi-Subject
Type: E-Book Collections, E-Journal Collections
Oxford Reference (5 concurrent user limit) This link opens in a new window
Oxford Reference contains over 100 general and subject dictionaries, and language reference works published by Oxford University Press. The collection includes quotations, proverbs, place-names and other general reference works. Among the English language reference works are thesauri and a wide variety of dictionaries (e.g. grammar, abbreviations, idioms, eponyms, euphemisms). Foreign language dictionaries include German, Italian, and Spanish. Specialized subject dictionaries are available in a wide range of disciplines.
Please note: Oxford Reference only allows access for 5 FSU users at one time. If you are being asked for a username and password, please try to access the database later.

Subjects:
Archaeology
Art & Architecture
Bilingual dictionaries
Classical studies
Encyclopedias
English Dictionaries and Thesauri
History
Language reference
Law
Linguistics
Literature
Media studies
Medicine and health
Music
Names studies
Performing arts
Philosophy
Quotations
Religion
Science and technology
Social sciences
Society and culture

Abbreviation: oxfordref
Vendor: Oxford University Press
Subjects: *General / Multi-Subject
Type: Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
Oxford Scholarship Online This link opens in a new window
A cross-searchable library containing the full text of over 1,100 Oxford books in the areas of Economics and Finance, Philosophy, Political Science, and Religion. Includes full text and abstracts.
Subjects with full text:
Philosophy
Law
Religion
Political Science
Economics and Finance
Psychology

Tutorials:
Take a Tour (PowerPoint, PDF, and video available)

Abbreviation: oso
Vendor: Oxford University Press
Subjects: *General / Multi-Subject
Type: E-Book Collections, Indexes / Catalogs
Oxford Scholarship Online This link opens in a new window
A cross-searchable library containing the full text of over 1,100 Oxford books in the areas of Economics and Finance, Philosophy, Political Science, and Religion. Includes full text and abstracts.
Subjects with full text:
Philosophy
Law
Religion
Political Science
Economics and Finance
Psychology

Tutorials:
Take a Tour (PowerPoint, PDF, and video available)

Abbreviation: oso
Vendor: Oxford University Press
Subjects: *General / Multi-Subject
Type: E-Book Collections, Indexes / Catalogs
Sage Reference Online This link opens in a new window
A collection of over 250 Reference Titles. Sage Reference Online is a social science book platform, where you will find an expansive range of SAGE book and reference content.
Subjects include:
Business & Management
Communication and Media Studies
Counseling and Psychotherapy
Criminology & Criminal Justice
Education
Engineering & Materials Science
Geography, Earth & Environmental Science
Health and Social Care
History
Life & Biomedical Sciences
Maths, Physics, Chemistry & Computing
Philosophy
Politics & International Relations
Psychology
Research Methods & Evaluation
Sociology

Abbreviation: sro
Vendor: Sage Publishing
Subjects: *General / Multi-Subject
Type: Citation Management, E-Book Collections, Encyclopedias & Dictionaries, Indexes / Catalogs
Springer LINK This link opens in a new window
An electronic journal service with over 410 full-text electronic journals published by Springer. The journals are searchable and browsable by author, title, topic or individual issue.
Disciplines include:
Architecture & Design
Astronomy
Biomedical Sciences
Business & Management
Chemistry
Computer Science
Earth Sciences & Geography
Economics
Education & Language
Energy
Engineering
Environmental Sciences
Food Science & Nutrition
Law
Life Sciences
Materials
Mathematics
Medicine
Philosophy
Physics
Psychology
Public Health
Social Sciences
Statistics

Abbreviation: springer
Vendor: Springer
Coverage: 1996-Current
Subjects: *General / Multi-Subject
Type: Citation Management, E-Journal Collections, Indexes / Catalogs
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Wiley Online Library features 1,500 journals, over 14,000 books, and hundreds of multi-volume reference works, databases, and other resources.
Tutorials:
Wiley Online Library Tutorials

Subjects include:
Agriculture, Aquaculture & Food Science
Architecture & Planning
Art & Applied Arts
Business, Economics, Finance & Accounting
Chemistry
Computer Science & Information Technology
Earth, Space & Environmental Sciences
Humanities
Law & Criminology
Life Sciences
Mathematics & Statistics
Mathematics
Statistics
Medicine
Nursing, Dentistry & Healthcare
Physical Sciences & Engineering
Psychology
Social & Behavioral Sciences
Veterinary Medicine

Abbreviation: wiley
Vendor: Wiley
Subjects: *General / Multi-Subject
Type: Citation Management, E-Book Collections, E-Journal Collections

Ebook Central (Proquest)
Ebook Central (formally known as Ebook Library, or EBL) is a web-based ebook lending platform from ProQuest which is capable of delivering a rapidly expanding catalogue of ebooks to academic and research libraries.
Taylor & Francis eBooks
Taylor & Francis eBooks is a new single destination platform from Taylor & Francis that offers library users search and filtering, chapterization, APA format citations, and other features.