Research Guides: Social Classes and Inequality: Data

Relevant Datasets

DemographicsNow (Gale Business) This link opens in a new window
Demographics Now has been developed by SRC, LLC to bring you the data you need to make sound business decisions. With DemographicsNow you can analyze the demographic and market potential of any geography in the U.S. Ceases publication on March 28, 2025.
Abbreviation: demnow
Vendor: Gale
Subjects: Communication, Demography and Population Studies, Geography, Hospitality, Public Health
Type: Datasets / Statistics, Maps
OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window
OECD iLibrary is the online library of the OECD, the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development. Everything published by the OECD (books, journals, series, working papers, databases) is available online on OECD. OECD iLibrary also contains content published by the International Energy Agency (IEA), the Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA), the OECD Development Centre, PISA (Programme for International Student Assessment), and the International Transport Forum (ITF). OECD iLibrary presents all content so users can find - and cite - tables and databases as easily as articles or chapters in any available format: PDF, WEB, XLS, ActiveChart, DATA, ePUB, READ.
Tutorials:
User Guide

Subjects include:
Agriculture and Food
Development
Economics
Education
Employment
Energy
Environment
Finance and Investment
Governance
Industry and Services
Nuclear Energy
Science and Technology
Social Issues/Migration/Health
Taxation
Trade
Transport
Urban, Rural and Regional Development

Abbreviation: sourceoecd
Vendor: OECD
Subjects: Anthropology, Art, Business, Communication, Criminology and Criminal Justice, Demography and Population Studies, Economics, Educational Leadership and Policy Studies, Geography, Higher Education, Human Development & Family Science, Information Studies, International Affairs, Law, Music Education, Political Science, Psychology, Public Administration and Policy, Public Health, Retail Entrepreneurship, Sociocultural and International Education, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: Datasets / Statistics, Directories, E-Book Collections, E-Journal Collections
Social Explorer (1 concurrent user limit) This link opens in a new window
Note: Only 1 simultaneous user is allowed. Contains historical decennial census data for the United States from 1790 to the latest census, the American Community Survey, the American Religious Bodies (ASARB), and InfoGroup for latest religion data. Able to create reports and download data in convenient formats quickly and easily. Engagement between society and science.
Tutorials:
Social Explorer LibGuide

Abbreviation: socex
Vendor: Center for Research Libraries
Subjects: Anthropology, Communication, Criminology and Criminal Justice, Demography and Population Studies, Economics, Geography, Human Development & Family Science, Information Studies, International Affairs, Law, Political Science, Psychology, Public Administration and Policy, Public Health, Social Work, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: Datasets / Statistics, Directories, Encyclopedias & Dictionaries, Government Publications, Historical / Primary Sources, Maps

Data.Gov
Federal Open Data helps guide business investment, foster innovation, improve employment opportunities, and spur economic growth.
IPUMS CPS
IPUMS CPS harmonizes microdata from the monthly U.S. labor force survey, the Current Population Survey (CPS), covering the period 1962 to the present. Data include demographic information, rich employment data, program participation and supplemental data on topics such as fertility, tobacco use, volunteer activities, voter registration, computer and internet use, food security, and more.
Migration Policy Institute Data Hub
The Data Hub showcases the most current national and state-level demographic, social, and economic facts about immigrants to the United States; as well as stock, flow, citizenship, net migration, and historical data for countries in Europe, North America, and beyond.
U.S. Census Bureau - American FactFinder
American FactFinder provides access to data about the United States, Puerto Rico and the Island Areas. The data in American FactFinder come from several censuses and surveys.
U.S. Census Bureau - Population Data
The U.S. Census Bureau is the leading source of statistical information about the nation’s people. Our population statistics come from decennial censuses, which count the entire U.S. population every ten years, along with several other surveys.

Bureau of Labor Statistics
The Bureau of Labor Statistics of the U.S. Department of Labor is the principal Federal agency responsible for measuring labor market activity, working conditions, and price changes in the economy.
Civil Rights Data Collection (CRDC)
Data about "key education and civil rights issues" in schools around the country every other year since 1968. Some variables include school name, school district, city, street address, or other information to access detailed and specific data on Student Enrollment, Staffing and Finance, and other fields.
U.S. Census Bureau - Employment Data
The U.S. Census Bureau collects data that measure the state of the nation's workforce, including employment and unemployment levels, as well as weeks and hours worked.
U.S. Census Bureau - Income & Poverty Data
Income is the gauge many use to determine the well-being of the U.S. population. Survey and census questions cover poverty, income, and wealth.
U.S. Senate Joint Economic Committee
The Joint Economic Committee (JEC) is a bicameral Congressional Committee composed of ten members from each the Senate and the House of Representatives. Its main purpose is to make a continuing study of matters relating to the US economy.
Measure of America
Measure of America is a project of the Social Sciences Research Council that attempts to "provide easy-to-use yet methodologically sound tools for understanding well-being and opportunity in America."
United Nations University World Institute for Development Economics Research
Bureau of Justice Statistics
National Center for Education Statistics

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
Search for data and statistics on topics related to health and wellness.
County Health Rankings & Roadmaps
Formerly the CDC Community Health Indicators Database, CHR&R allows researchers to make nationwide comparisons of counties with similar populations based on key demographic, social, and economic indicators.
CDC Youth Risk Behavior Surveillance System (YRBSS)
The YRBSS was developed in 1990 to monitor priority health risk behaviors that contribute markedly to the leading causes of death, disability, and social problems among youth and adults in the United States.
U.S. Census Bureau - Health Data
Health statistics are increasingly important in measuring the nation’s overall well-being. The Census Bureau provides accurate, detailed, and up-to-date statistics—covering people and business—relating to health in America.

iPOLL Databank (Roper Center) This link opens in a new window
IPOLL, from the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research, is a full-text database of 500,000 questions from national public opinion surveys since 1935 and updated daily. iPOLL includes survey results data from academic, commercial and media survey organizations such as Gallup, Harris Interactive, Pew Research Associates, ABC, CBS, Wall Street Journal and many more. Many data sets are available for download in ASCII or SPSS format.
Tutorials:
iPOLL Quick Guide (pdf)
Introduction to New Roper iPoll (02:01)
Conducting a Search in Roper iPoll (04:59)

Abbreviation: ipoll
Vendor: Cornell University
Coverage: 1935–Current
Subjects: Anthropology, Communication, Criminology and Criminal Justice, Demography and Population Studies, Economics, Geography, Human Development & Family Science, Information Studies, International Affairs, Law, Political Science, Psychology, Public Administration and Policy, Public Safety and Security, Retail Entrepreneurship, Social Work, Sociology, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: Datasets / Statistics

General Social Survey (GSS) Data Explorer
General Social Survey (GSS) on American society, by NORC (formerly the National Opinion Research Center) "an objective non-partisan research institution" at the University of Chicago.
Pew Research Center
Pew research projects include: Pew Research Center for the People & the Press, Project for Excellence in Journalism, Pew Internet & American Life Project, and Social & Demographic Trends.