Frequently Used Resources
Lots of fun performances are available on YouTube and Vimeo -- both current and archival. You can also find recordings in the Allen Music Library -- our non-reserve CDs circulate for 21 days and our non-reserve DVDs circulate for 7 days. If you don't have a CD or DVD player, you can listen in the Allen Music Library or check out an external CD/DVD player that can plug into your laptop via USB.
How do you find what we have? Search the library catalog! Example searches below -- mostly using subject or author/performer/composer searches:
These patterns should give you an idea of what will work for you. Click on a search and then modify it to suit your topic!
We subscribe to a number of resources, but there are also some great free resources documenting American music (not necessarily YouTube or SoundCloud!).
Plus subscription resources (meaning FSU has paid for you to have access to them!):
A collection of sound recordings documenting American music largely ignored by the commercial recording companies. Works can be browsed by work, album or track titles, as well as by artist roles, and date of recording and composition. Some biographical and role information are provided for artists.
Kanopy is a streaming video resource with a broad collection of over 26,000 films on every subject imaginable and from leading producers such as Criterion Collection, The Great Courses, New Day Films, HBO California Newsreel, Kino Lorber, PBS, BBC, First Run Features, The Video Project, Media Education Foundation, Documentary Education Resources.
American Music is a history database that allows people to hear and feel the music from America's past. The database includes songs by and about American Indians, miners, immigrants, slaves, children, pioneers, and cowboys. Included in the database are the songs of Civil Rights, political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, anti-war protests, and more.
Music Online: Jazz Music Library is the largest and most comprehensive collection of streaming jazz available online with thousands of jazz artists, ensembles, albums, and genres.
The most comprehensive collection of classical music available online. It includes the complete Naxos and Marco Polo catalogues of over 1,452,000+ tracks, including Classical music, Opera, Jazz, World, Folk and Chinese music. Whilst listening, you can read notes on the works being played as well as biographical information on composers or artists in Naxos's extensive database.
Naxos Music Library Jazz is one of the most comprehensive collections of Jazz music available online. It offers over 250,123 tracks of jazz from more than 23,484 albums. Naxos Music Library Jazz comprises the catalogues of 22 labels of Fantasy Jazz, Warner Jazz and over 520 other labels. US-based Fantasy has the world's deepest jazz catalogue and offers the very best in blues and R&B.
© Florida State University Libraries | 116 Honors Way | Tallahassee, FL 32306 | (850) 644-2706