Research Guides: Enslavement and Sharecropping in Florida: External Resources

Helpful links to resources outside of FSU

Afro-American Historical and Genealogical Society
AAHGS was founded in 1977 in Washington, DC by a small group of historians and genealogists who felt a need to share resources and methodology for pursuing historical and genealogical research. For more than 35 years, our members have worked together to trace the historical ties that bind us one to another, mold the present, and shape the future.
Genealogy.com Classes
Access a variety of introductory lessons in genealogy available through Genealogy.com
U.S., Freedmen’s Bureau Marriage Records, 1846-1867
The Bureau of Refugees, Freedmen, and Abandoned Lands, also known as the Freedman’s Bureau, was established in the War Department by an act of Congress on March 3, 1865. Marriage records are useful for tracing individuals before and after emancipation.
U.S., Freedmen's Bureau Records of Field Offices, 1863-1878
The Bureau of Refugees, Freedmen, and Abandoned Lands, also known as the Freedman’s Bureau, was established in the War Department by an act of Congress on March 3, 1865. The Bureau's records are regarded as useful for establishing genealogical links to individuals during enslavement.

Goodwood Museum and Gardens
The Goodwood Museum and Gardens preserves and interprets Hardy Bryan Croom's historic plantation house. Croom moved along with enslaved people from North Carolina to Tallahassee.
The Grove Museum
The Grove Museum preserves and interprets the Call-Collins House in a dialogue about enslavement, civil rights, and american history.
Knott House Museum
The Knott House is believed to have been constructed by George Proctor, a free Black man that built houses in Tallahassee.
Riley House Museum
The John Gilmore Riley Center/Museum for African American History & Culture is a representation of the Smokey Hollow neighborhood. It seeks to discover, archive, and illuminate the relationships between African, Native, and European American history while preserving their legacy.
Tallahassee Museum
The Tallahassee Museum preserves and interprets the Bellevue Plantation house
where Achille and Catherine Murat, and 25 enslaved people resided.

Baptismal Records Database for Slave Societies
The Baptismal Records Database for Slave Societies is a digital history project to digitize and standardize the data of enslaved people recorded in baptismal records.
Digital Public Library of America
The Digital Public Library of America is a collaborative online library that provides access to digital materials from participating institutions across the United States of America.
Freedom on the Move
A database of runaway slave newspaper advertisements.
Race and Slavery Petitions Project
Searchable database of information on enslaved and free people of color from county court petitions.
Slavery Era Insurance Registry
Registry of insurance claims and filings by slave owners.
Slave Narratives from the Federal Writers' Project, 1936 to 1938
Over 2,300 firsthand accounts and 500 photographs of former enslaved people.
Slave Voyages Database
The Slave Voyages database is a digital history project devoted to tracking the vessels of the Transatlantic Slave Trade.
Slave Wrecks Project
The Slave Wrecks Project conducts marine archaeology to document the Transatlantic slave trade.
U.S., Freedmen’s Bureau Marriage Records, 1846-1867
The Bureau of Refugees, Freedmen, and Abandoned Lands, also known as the Freedman’s Bureau, was established in the War Department by an act of Congress on March 3, 1865.
U.S., Freedmen's Bureau Records of Field Offices, 1863-1878
The Bureau of Refugees, Freedmen, and Abandoned Lands, also known as the Freedman’s Bureau, was established in the War Department by an act of Congress on March 3, 1865.