Research Guides: Enslavement and Sharecropping in Florida: FSU Libraries Resources

Special Collections & Archives

Visit SCA Online

Special Collections & Archives Website

FSU Library Catalog
Filter results for SCA by selecting "Library > FSU Special Collections and Archives"

FSU Finding Aid Database

FSU Digital Repository

Email SCA Staff

Visit SCA In-Person

Visit SCA Spaces

SCA Reading Rooms Hours

SCA Research Center
110 Strozier Library, Main Floor
(850) 644-3271

Claude Pepper Library
Claude Pepper Center, 636 W Call St
(850) 644-9217

Below are historic Florida newspapers from the 1820s to the 1920s.

Note: Strozier Library staff need advanced notice to provide access to microfilm in remote storage. Some catalog records do not specify a reel. For assistance please fill out this online form: https://www.lib.fsu.edu/service/remote-storage-requests.

Florida Advocate
Tallahassee, Leon County, 1827-1829. Microform: Film NP3 and NP11, Reel 15.
The Floridian
Tallahassee, Leon County, 1828. Microform: Film NP4
Floridian & Advocate
Tallahassee, Leon County, 1829-1831. Microform: Film NP4
The Floridian
Tallahassee, Leon County, 1831-1848. Microform: Film NP4.
The Quincy Sentinel
Quincy, Gadsden County, 1839. Microform: Film NP11, Reels 6 and 15.
Star of Florida
Tallahassee, Leon County, 1840-1845. Microform: Film NP11, Reels 11 and 15.
The Florida Sentinel
Tallahassee, Leon County, -1866. Microform: Film NP 288.
Newport Gazette
Newport, Wakulla County, 1846-1847. Microform: Film NP11, Reel 5.
The Quincy Times
Quincy, Gadsden County, 1848. Available online.
Florida Whig
Marianna, Jackson County, 1847-1849. Microform: Film NP11, Reel 5.
The Floridian & Journal
Tallahassee, Leon County, 1849-1860. Available online.
Wakulla Times
Newport, Wakulla County, 1849-1859.
The Semi-Weekly Floridian
Tallahassee, Leon County, 1865-1867.Available online.
The Weekly Floridian
Tallahassee, Leon County, 1867-1897. Microform: Film NP4
The Tallahassee Sentinel
Tallahassee, Leon County, 1867-1876. Available online.
The Morning Sun
Tallahassee, Leon County, 1907. Available online.
Smith's Weekly
Tallahassee, Leon County, 1924-1929. Microform: Film NP30.
Florida Democrat and Weekly Record
Tallahassee, Leon County, 1924. Microform: Film NP30.
Florida State News
Tallahassee, Leon County, 1927-1941. Microform: Films NP31 and NP11, Reel 21.
The Florida Morning State
Tallahassee, Leon County, 1925- 1928. Microform: Film NP29.

Below are databases accessible by the public through FSU libraries.

Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law

This HeinOnline collection brings together all known legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world. This includes every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, every federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery.

Abbreviation: heinsla
Vendor: HeinOnline
Coverage: 1735–2001
Subjects: African-American Studies, Bibliography, E-Journal Collections, History, Indexes & Catalogs, Latin American & Caribbean Studies, Law, Newspapers
Type: Citation Management, E-Journal Collections, Government Publications, Historical / Primary Sources, Images, Indexes / Catalogs, Newspapers and Newswires
Biography and Genealogy Master Index
Biography and Genealogy Master Index enables users to locate biographical entries contained in more than 1,000 volumes and editions of important current and retrospective biographical reference sources. This index contains citations that point to over 15 million biographies on nearly 5 million people, living and deceased, from all time periods, geographical locations, and fields of endeavor.

Abbreviation: biog
Vendor: Gale
Subjects: *General / Multi-Subject
Type: Biographies

Using "Micro" Formats

Most of our historical newspapers have not been digitized, so you will find lots of materials in print or microform.

Never used microform materials before? No problem. We have a guide to get you started, instructions at every microform reader machine, and everyone in the library is happy to help you in person if you need assistance.

Using Micromaterials: A Guide
Describes the different kinds of micromaterials, where to find them, and how to use them in Strozier Library.