Research Guides: Market Research: Industry

Industry Overview

Databases

NetAdvantage (Standard & Poor's) This link opens in a new window
NetAdvantage covers public companies with their Corporate Records and Analyst Reports. Industry Surveys provide basic industry information and trends for the industry sub-sectors..Industry Surveys also have a good review of how industry operates and what are the qualitative and quantitative issues to follow to understand company success.
Abbreviation: nasp
Vendor: Standard & Poor's
Subjects: Business, Communication, Economics, Finance, Hospitality
Type: E-Book Collections
IBISWorld Industry Market Research This link opens in a new window
A collection of Industry Market Research and Industry Risk Ratings. Coverage includes over 700 U.S. industries in over 1100 industry-specific reports. Research reports contain trends, statistics and analysis on market size, market share of competitors, forecasting, and industry growth rates. Performance analysis includes emerging trends, recent production performance and 5-year forecasts. The US Specialized Industry Reports series covers niche industries such as pawn shops, boat insurance companies, air gun manufacturers and circus operators.
Abbreviation: ibisworld
Vendor: IBISWorld
Subjects: Business, Communication, Entrepreneurship, Finance, Hospitality, Marketing
Type: Reports
Gartner Higher Education Reference This link opens in a new window
Gartner Higher Education Reference provides unlimited access to a knowledge base of IT research and technology news, products, and trends to support your research and business projects. Funded in part by the Student Technology Fee, Gartner is available to all current Florida State University students, faculty, and staff. With thousands of research articles on every aspect of information technology and a wide-range of industries.
Abbreviation: gtnr
Vendor: Gartner
Subjects: Business, Information Technology, MIS: Management Information Systems
Type: Datasets / Statistics, E-Journal Collections, Testing / Tutorials
BCC Research This link opens in a new window
BCC Research is a market research and forecasting company providing industry reports for business categories such as biotech, chemicals, energy, engineering, environment, food and beverage, fuels cell and battery technologies healthcare, information technology, instrumentation and sensors, manufacturing, membrane and separation technology, nanotechnology, pharmaceuticals, plastics, safety and security, and semiconductor manufacturing. BCC publishes over 250 market research reports annually.
Tutorials:
BCC Research YouTube Channel

Abbreviation: bccr
Vendor: BCC Research LLC
Coverage: Current
Subjects: Environmental Sciences, Engineering, Marketing
Type: Datasets / Statistics
SMA: Sports Market Analytics This link opens in a new window
SMA: Sports Market Analytics combines market research from the largest single research supplier to the industry, the National Sporting Goods Association; the U.S. Department of Commerce; various sports governing bodies; and full-text articles from 14 magazines and newsletters published by VNU, the world's largest sporting goods trade publisher, and newsletters provided by leading independent industry experts. Subjects covered include sporting goods industry, sports sponsorship and marketing, broadcasting, facilities, broadcasting and new media.
Single sport/product search include:
Archery
Backpacking
Badminton
Baseball
Basketball
Bicycling
Billiards
Bowling
Cheerleading
Camping/Hiking Climbing
Equestrian
Exercise/Fitness
Eyewear
Fishing
Footwear
Football
Golf
Gymnastics
Hunting/Shooting
Ice Hockey
Inline Skating
Lacrosse
Martial Arts
Motorsports
Paintball
Rugby
Running/Jogging
Scooter Riding
Skateboarding
Skiing
Snowboarding
Soccer
Softball
Tennis
Volleyball
Water Sports (All)
Winter Sports (All)
Women's Total Market
Wrestling

Abbreviation: sbrnet
Vendor: SBRnet
Subjects: Business, Communication, Marketing, Sport Management, Sport Psychology, Statistics
Type: Datasets / Statistics, Directories, E-Journal Collections, Government Publications
WGSN This link opens in a new window
WGSN (Worth Global Style Network) is the leading online trend-analysis and research service providing creative and business intelligence for the apparel, style, design and retail industries. Keywords: Trade Shows, Marketing, Retail, Celebrity, Buying, Visual, Merchandising, Business.
Note: FSU has access to the Fashion Module.

Abbreviation: wgsntex
Vendor: WGSN
Subjects: Business, Interior Design, Marketing, Retail Entrepreneurship
Type: Datasets / Statistics, Directories, Images, Streaming Audio, Streaming Video
ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry This link opens in a new window
ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry™ provides business professionals with critical information about companies, products, and executives as well as in-depth news and analysis of industry trends and developments. With ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry, users can study and compare specific industries such as food & drink, pharmacy, telecommunications, computing, transportation, construction, and petrochemicals.
Subjects include:
Pharmaceutical industry
Telecommunications industry
Computing industry
Construction industry
Transportation industry
Petrochemical industry
Food & drink industry

See also: Youtube Tutorial created by Stockton College | Richard E. Bjork Library

Set up a My Research Account in ProQuest to save documents, searches, alerts and more (go to the top right corner of any ProQuest database).

Abbreviation: abi-trade
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1971–Current
Subjects: Accounting, Business, Business Legal Studies, Economics, Entrepreneurship, Finance, Insurance, Management & Strategy, Marketing, MIS: Management Information Systems, Real Estate, Risk Management
Type: Indexes / Catalogs