Research Guides: Center for Leadership & Social Change: Top Resources for the Center

Overview of Available Resources

Welcome to the Top Resources page, where you'll find a curated selection of databases, books, articles, and related guides designed to support your research in social change, leadership, and related fields. These resources are essential for exploring complex social issues, understanding leadership dynamics, and fostering positive change within communities and organizations.

Overview of Available Resources

As you begin your research, this page will guide you to the most relevant materials across various disciplines, including:

Databases: Specialized collections of academic and professional literature that will be crucial in gathering evidence-based research, theoretical frameworks, and case studies.
Related LibGuides: Additional guides that cover topics intersecting with social change and leadership, offering further reading and resources.
Featured Articles: Select scholarly articles that provide insights into recent research and key issues in social change and leadership.

Suggested Databases

These databases are tailored to your needs in researching social change, leadership, and related areas:

Social Services Abstracts This link opens in a new window
A focused database on social services & social work research with significant crossover with social change & social justice topics.
Subject coverage:
Community and mental health services
Crisis intervention
The family and social welfare
Gerontology
Poverty and homelessness
Professional issues in social work
Social services in addiction
Social work education
Social work practice
Violence, abuse, neglect

Abbreviation: socserabs
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1980-Current
Subjects: Anthropology, Demography and Population Studies, E-Journal Collections, Human Development & Family Science, Indexes & Catalogs, Public Health, Public Safety and Security, Social Work, Sociocultural and International Education, Sociology, Women's and Gender Studies
Type: Citation Management, Dissertations / Theses, E-Journal Collections, Indexes / Catalogs
Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window
Full text database covering broad social science research including theories, concepts, and methods.
Abbreviation: ssft
Vendor: EBSCO
Coverage: 1983-Current
Subjects: Anthropology, Criminology and Criminal Justice, Demography and Population Studies, Early Childhood Education, Economics, Geography, Human Development & Family Science, Political Science, Psychology, Public Administration and Policy, Public Health, Social Work, Sociology, Women's and Gender Studies
Type: E-Journal Collections, Indexes / Catalogs
APA PsycInfo (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Popular psychology database containing articles, chapters, reports, dissertations, and more on psychology and related disciplines.
Subject coverage:
Applied psychology
Communication systems
Developmental psychology
Educational psychology
Experimental human and animal psychology
Personality
Psychological and physical disorders
Physiological psychology and neuroscience
Professional personnel and issues
Psychometrics and statistics
Social psychology
Social processes and issues
Sports psychology and leisure
Treatment and prevention

Abbreviation: psycinfo
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1887-Current
Subjects: African-American Studies, Art Therapy, Communication, Communication Disorders, Early Childhood Education, Educational Psychology, Exceptional Student Education, Higher Education, Hospitality, Human Development & Family Science, Instructional Systems & Learning Technologies, Linguistics, Medicine, Music Education, Music Therapy, Psychology, Public Health, Social Work, Sociocultural and International Education, Sociology, Urban and Regional Planning, Women's and Gender Studies
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Reports on current events and topics of interest with commentary and pro/con arguments.
Tutorials:
Overview (04:03)

Abbreviation: cq
Vendor: Sage Publishing
Coverage: 1923-Current
Subjects: Communication, Political Science, Public Administration and Policy, Public Health
Type: Directories, Government Publications, Reports
ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive business and economic database with full text articles on corporate strategies, management, and company information,
Subjects include:
Business
Economic conditions
Corporate strategies
Management theory
Management techniques
Business trends
Competitive landscape and product information
Accounting
Finance

Tutorials:
Introduction to ABI/INFORM Collection (PowerPoint)
Overview of ABI Market Research Sources (PowerPoint)
Tip for Teaching: ABI/INFORM Collection Uncovering SWOT Analyses (03:51 minutes)

Set up a My Research Account in ProQuest to save documents, searches, alerts and more (go to the top right corner of any ProQuest database).

ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry- Features limited content compared to the Browse Search in ABI/INFORM Complete
ABI/INFORM Dateline- Browse Search not included
ABI/INFORM Global- features limited content compared to the Browse Search in ABI/INFORM Complete

Abbreviation: abi-com
Vendor: ProQuest
Subjects: Accounting, Business, Business Legal Studies, Communication, Economics, Entrepreneurship, Finance, Hospitality, Insurance, Real Estate, Risk Management, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Our most popular database with multi-disciplinary, full text coverage. A great place to start your research.
Apps:
Android (PowerPoint)
iPhone (PowerPoint)

Abbreviation: ascomplete
Vendor: EBSCO
Coverage: 1987-Current
Subjects: *General / Multi-Subject, Hospitality
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
ERIC (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Database with full text access to education related literature.
Coverage includes:
Adult, career and vocational education
Counseling
Elementary and early childhood education
Education management
Higher education
Junior colleges
Second-language learning
Special education
Teacher education
Tests, measurement and evaluation

Abbreviation: ericcsa
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1966-Current
Subjects: Art Education, Art Therapy, Education, Early Childhood Education, Educational Leadership and Policy Studies, Educational Psychology, Exceptional Student Education, Human Development & Family Science, Higher Education, Instructional Systems & Learning Technologies, Linguistics, Music Therapy, Rhetoric & Composition, Sociocultural and International Education, Sport Psychology, Teacher Education
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
Criminal Justice (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Provides cover-to-cover access for 45 criminal justice journals frequently consulted by professionals, and indexes 240 journals, 80 of those journals include full-text articles.
Subject coverage:
Criminology
Corrections administration
Criminal law
Criminal justice
Law enforcement
Addiction
Family law
Industrial security
Rehabilitation

Abbreviation: cjpindex
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1981-Current
Subjects: Criminology and Criminal Justice, Public Administration and Policy, Public Safety and Security
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
Full text collection with a focus on women's and gender issues.
Abbreviation: genderwatch
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1970-Current
Subjects: Communication, Psychology, Social Work, Sociology, Women's and Gender Studies
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
Access World News Research Collection This link opens in a new window
Current and archived newspaper articles from all over the world.
Log into NewsBank and create an account to save your search history, save articles, save searches, and create Email alerts.

To Create an Alert
- Enter a search that you're interested in.
- On the results page click on Set up an Alert.
- Choose to create the alert as a registered user or without registering.
- Specify the frequency by which you'd like to receive your alerts.
- If there are new results, NewsBank will send them to you in an email.
Please note that FSU does not having a data-mining subscription with Newsbank. Downloading entire series or papers is prohibited.

Abbreviation: awn
Vendor: NewsBank
Coverage: 1903-Current
Subjects: Communication, Hospitality
Type: Newspapers and Newswires
PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
Information on public affairs all over the world.
Subject coverage:
Administration of justice
Agriculture, forestry and fishing
Banking and finance
Business and service sector
Culture and religion
Economic conditions
Education
Energy resources and policy
Environment
Government
Health conditions
Human rights
International Relations
Labor conditions and policy
Law and ethics
Manufacturing and industry
Media and communications
Military and defense policy
Politics
Population and demographics
Science and technology
Social conditions
Trade
Transportation

Abbreviation: pais
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1972-Current
Subjects: International Affairs, Political Science, Urban and Regional Planning, Public Health, Asian Studies, Latin American & Caribbean Studies, Middle Eastern Studies, Russian & Eastern European Studies
Type: E-Book Collections, E-Journal Collections, Indexes / Catalogs

Related LibGuides

Explore these LibGuides for more in-depth information on topics closely related to social change and leadership:

Featured Articles

These articles provide a glimpse into current research and debates within the fields of social change and leadership: