Research Guides: Counseling: Home

Finding Articles & Books

APA PsycInfo (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
ProQuest online version of Psychological Abstracts, 1887 to present. Covers journal articles, book chapters, books, technical reports, and dissertations, in psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines. Some links to full text.
Subject coverage:
Applied psychology
Communication systems
Developmental psychology
Educational psychology
Experimental human and animal psychology
Personality
Psychological and physical disorders
Physiological psychology and neuroscience
Professional personnel and issues
Psychometrics and statistics
Social psychology
Social processes and issues
Sports psychology and leisure
Treatment and prevention

Abbreviation: psycinfo
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1887–Current
Subjects: African-American Studies, Art Therapy, Communication, Communication Disorders, Early Childhood Education, Educational Psychology, Exceptional Student Education, Higher Education, Hospitality, Human Development & Family Science, Instructional Systems & Learning Technologies, Linguistics, Medicine, Music Education, Music Therapy, Psychology, Public Health, Social Work, Sociocultural and International Education, Sociology, Urban and Regional Planning, Women's and Gender Studies
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
APA PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to articles from journals published by American Psychological Association and allied organizations mostly since 1988. Covers general psychology and specialized basic, applied, clinical, and theoretical research in psychology.
Abbreviation: psycart
Vendor: American Psychological Association
Coverage: 1988–Current
Subjects: African-American Studies, Psychology, Women's and Gender Studies
Type: E-Journal Collections
Child Development & Adolescent Studies This link opens in a new window
This database is today's source for references to the current and historical literature related to the growth and development of children through the age of 21. This includes all of the issues of Child Development Abstracts & Bibliography from 1927–2001 previously published by the Society for Research in Child Development, plus new coverage on child rights and welfare issues.
Abbreviation: cdandas
Vendor: EBSCO
Subjects: Early Childhood Education, Educational Psychology, Exceptional Student Education, Human Development & Family Science, Psychology, Teacher Education
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
ERIC (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
ERIC (ProQuest) is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to educational-related literature. The ERIC database corresponds to two printed journals: Resources in Education (RIE) and Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE).
Coverage includes:
Adult, career and vocational education
Counseling
Elementary and early childhood education
Education management
Higher education
Junior colleges
Second-language learning
Special education
Teacher education
Tests, measurement and evaluation

Abbreviation: ericcsa
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1966–Current
Subjects: Art Education, Art Therapy, Education, Early Childhood Education, Educational Leadership and Policy Studies, Educational Psychology, Exceptional Student Education, Human Development & Family Science, Higher Education, Instructional Systems & Learning Technologies, Linguistics, Music Therapy, Rhetoric & Composition, Sociocultural and International Education, Sport Psychology, Teacher Education
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
Leadership and Management (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to authoritative periodical content covering topics such as 21st-century skills, organizational dynamics and leadership, adult learning and continuing education, and more. Updated daily, this library resource is useful for researchers or any professional interested in career development.
Topics:
Skills Development
Professional Development

Abbreviation: procoll
Vendor: Gale
Subjects: Art Education, Early Childhood Education, Exceptional Student Education, Music Education, Teacher Education
Type: E-Book Collections, E-Journal Collections, Indexes / Catalogs, Newspapers and Newswires

Journal Search
Search journals by title or subject to find databases that provide full text access
Community Mental Health Journal
Journal of Counseling and Development
Adultspan Journal
Career Development Quarterly
Counseling and Values
Counselor Education and Supervision
Journal of Addictions & Offender Counseling
Journal of College Counseling
Journal of Employment Counseling
Journal of Humanistic Counseling
Journal of Multicultural Counseling and Development
Counseling Today
Journal of Mental Health Counseling
Counseling and Human Development
Rehabilitation Counseling Bulletin
Measurement and Evaluation in Counseling and Development

OneSearch
OneSearch is a discovery tool that searches across the majority of our books, journals, articles, and more. It can also be used to search for material outside of our collections.
Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
Request books and journal articles from libraries around the world. Use ILL to request materials not available at FSU.
Citation Assistance
Research Guide for APA Citations

Google Scholar [see description for access instructions] This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar uses Google's search engine to provide a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Using the link within Google Scholar, you may also link to resources that FSU owns. For more information, visit our Google Scholar LibGuide.
To access FSU resources from Google Scholar, please follow these instructions:
- Go http://scholar.google.com
- Click on the hamburger menu on the upper left hand side and click on "Settings"
- Click on Library links
- Type Florida State University in the box that appears
- Click on the blue Search button
- Click in the check box next to "Florida State University- Find It @ FSU" (Not Cengage Gale Full Text)
- Click on Save
- Scholar should now recognize you as an FSU patron
Abbreviation: gsch
Vendor: Google
Type: Citation Management, Indexes / Catalogs

Counseling

Finding Articles & Books

test