Marsha Gontarski Children's Literature Collection

Welcome to the Special Collections & Archives guide to the Marsha Gontarski Children's Literature Collection!

Within this vast compendium of titles, researchers can explore many subjects and themes that have been used throughout the history of children's literature. Through books collected from around the world, Dr. Gontarski has compiled titles on subjects ranging from elaborately illustrated fairytales to dynamic approaches to dealing with death. This guide highlights patterns found within these categories with room for more in-depth analysis on a wide range of connections. No matter what age or scholarly level you are, there is something interesting to be found in this collection for everyone.

Marsha Gontarski (Ph.D, FSU, 1993) has a background in Education with a research focus on visual literacy in children’s literature. Her children’s literature collection contains over 2,000 titles, ranging from classic fairy-tales to contemporary pieces featuring modern art. She has traveled the world to seek out these works, meeting some of the very authors who are included in this collection. Her enthusiasm for exploring how children's books compare from different cultures gives the collection a wide variety of experiences and trends 

Read Dr. Gontarski's dissertation on visual literacy online or by visiting the Special Collections & Archives Reading Room.

Search the Marsha Gontarski Children's Literature Collection in FSU Libraries OneSearch

Online

Main SCA Website
https://www.lib.fsu.edu/special-collections

Email SCA Staff
lib-specialcollections@fsu.edu

Visit SCA
https://www.lib.fsu.edu/special-collections/visit

FSU Library Catalog
fsu-flvc.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/discovery/search?vid=01FALSC_FSU:Home
Filter results for SCA by selecting "Library > FSU Special Collections and Archives"

FSU Finding Aid Database
archives.lib.fsu.edu

FSU Digital Library
https://repository.lib.fsu.edu/islandora/object/fsu:digital_library

Special Collections & Archives Reading Rooms Hours

Fall 2024

SCA Research Center
110 Strozier Library, Main Floor
(850) 644-3271

Monday 10am - 6pm
Tuesday 10am - 6pm
Wednesday 10am - 7pm
Thursday 10am - 6pm
Friday 10am - 5pm

Claude Pepper Library Reading Room
Claude Pepper Center, 636 W Call St
(850) 644-9217 

Monday 10am - 5pm
Tuesday 110am - 5pm
Wednesday 10am - 5pm
Thursday 10am - 5pm
Friday 10am - 5pm