Research Guides: Neuroscience: Journal Articles & Databases

Neuroscience Databases

A-Z Databases
View all FSU databases. Tip: use the "Subjects" drop-down to select Psychology, Nursing, or Medicine.

PubMed (NLM)
PubMed, is a service of the National Library of Medicine, which provides access to over 16 million MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's and additional life science journals. MEDLINE is the primary database used for getting to the subject content of articles in medicine. There are several ways to get to MEDLINE, including OVID and PubMed. The FSU customized version of PubMed links directly from the article reference to the full article for all electronic journals available at FSU.

Tutorials:
PubMed Online Training

See also: MeSH (Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) is the National Library of Medicine's controlled vocabulary thesaurus and will assist you in formulating your successful searches.)

Abbreviation: pubmd
Vendor: National Library of Medicine
Subjects: Biological Sciences, Engineering, Communication, Communication Disorders, Medicine, Music Therapy, Nursing & Integrative Physiology, Public Health, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: E-Journal Collections, Indexes / Catalogs
APA PsycInfo (ProQuest)

ProQuest’s online version of APA’s PsycInfo covers journal articles, book chapters, books, technical reports, and dissertations in psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines, with comprehensive indexing and abstracts from 1805 to present.

Subject coverage:
Applied psychology
Communication systems
Developmental psychology
Educational psychology
Experimental human and animal psychology
Personality
Psychological and physical disorders
Physiological psychology and neuroscience
Professional personnel and issues
Psychometrics and statistics
Social psychology
Social processes and issues
Sports psychology and leisure
Treatment and prevention

Abbreviation: psycinfo
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1805–Current
Subjects: African-American Studies, Art Therapy, Communication, Communication Disorders, Early Childhood Education, Educational Psychology, Exceptional Student Education, Higher Education, Hospitality, Human Development & Family Science, Instructional Systems & Learning Technologies, Linguistics, Medicine, Music Education, Music Therapy, Psychology, Public Health, Social Work, Sociocultural and International Education, Sociology, Urban and Regional Planning, Women's and Gender Studies
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
Embase
International biomedical literature from over 95 countries, including 2000+ journals not indexed in PubMed/Medline.

Abbreviation: embase
Vendor: Elsevier
Subjects: Communication Disorders, Medicine, Nursing, Public Health
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
Cochrane Library

Prepares full-text systematic reviews of the effects of healthcare. Each Cochrane Review is a peer-reviewed systematic review that has been prepared and supervised by a Cochrane Review Group (editorial team) in The Cochrane Collaboration according to the Cochrane Handbook for Systematic Reviews of Interventions or Cochrane Handbook for Diagnostic Test Accuracy Reviews.

Subjects Covered:
Acute Respiratory Infections (200)
Airways (485)
Anaesthesia (321)
Back (298)
Bone, Joint and Muscle Trauma (278)
Colorectal Cancer (276)
Dementia and Cognitive Improvement (279)
Depression, Anxiety and Neurosis (785)
Eyes and Vision (200)
Heart (209)
Hepato-Biliary (400)
Menstrual Disorders and Subfertility (260)
Musculoskeletal (349)
Neonatal (394)
Neuromuscular Disease (266)
Oral Health (224)
Pain, Palliative and Supportive Care (314)
Peripheral Vascular Diseases (437)
Pregnancy and Childbirth (681)
Renal (245)
Schizophrenia (270)
Skin (296)
Stroke (226)
Upper Gastrointestinal and Pancreatic Diseases (213)
Wounds (208)

Abbreviation: cochrane
Vendor: Wiley
Subjects: Communication Disorders, Medicine, Medicine, Nursing, Public Health
Type: E-Journal Collections
Web of Science
Web of Science includes Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Links to some full text.

Tutorials:
Web of Science LibGuide

Abbreviation: webofsci
Vendor: Clarivate Analytics
Subjects: *General Science, *General / Multi-Subject, Engineering
Type: Citation Management, Indexes / Catalogs
Scopus

Scopus is an abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature including scientific journals, books, and conference proceedings. Scopus provides a comprehensive overview of worldwide research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, along with tools to track, analyze, and visualize research.

Abbreviation: scopus
Vendor: Elsevier
Subjects: *General Science, *General / Multi-Subject, Engineering
Type: Citation Management, Indexes / Catalogs

Database Tutorials: Search Basics

Embase Tutorials

Searching the Cochrane Library - Video
How to Search in the Cochrane Library
Written instructions with screenshots

Searching APA PsycInfo - Video
APA PsycInfo®
Guide from ProQuest with training and information on APA PsycInfo®
ProQuest Platform
Search tips that work in all ProQuest databases

Scopus How to conduct a basic search tutorial - Video
Scopus LibGuide: Help & Support
Written instructions with screenshots

Database Tutorials: Subject Headings

Learn about Medical Subject Headings (MeSH)
Training videos and courses

Emtree Information Page

APA Thesaurus Description

How to Use MeSH in the Cochrane Library
Cochrane training video
MeSH Tab Help
Written instructions with screenshots

Dissertations and Theses

FSU Digital Repository
FSU Digital Repository Commons is a service of The Florida State University Libraries. Research and scholarly output included here has been selected and deposited by the individual university departments, research units and faculty on campus. Complete Electronic Theses and Dissertations (ETD) at FSU from 2003 to the present. Includes select retrospective digitized dissertations from 1952-2002 (FSU Dissertations 1952-2002 section). Includes selected retrospective digitized theses prior to 2003 (FSU Historic Early Theses section).
Theses and Dissertations at FSU
A comprehensive list of ways to find theses and dissertations from FSU and resources to find other dissertations.

Dissertations & Theses (Global) (PQDT, ProQuest)

Also see: Theses and Dissertations at The Florida State University

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses covers every doctoral dissertation completed in the U.S. at accredited institutions for the last 150 years. Includes some master's theses and foreign language dissertations. Titles published since 1997 are available in PDF digital form full text.

You have access to:
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Full Text: Business
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Full Text: Health & Medicine
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Full Text: History
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Full Text: Literature & Language
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Full Text: Science & Technology
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Full Text: Social Sciences
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Full Text: The Arts

Abbreviation: dissertations
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1637–Current
Subjects: *General / Multi-Subject
Type: Dissertations / Theses

Finding FSU Resources

Article Evaluation

BMJ: How to Read a Paper
Links to guides for different types of papers
Ten simple rules for reading a scientific paper
Editorial guide in simple language
How to (seriously) read a scientific paper
Advice from various researchers