Research Guides: Neuroscience: Home

Article Evaluation

BMJ: How to Read a Paper
Links to guides for different types of papers
Ten simple rules for reading a scientific paper
Editorial guide in simple language
How to (seriously) read a scientific paper
Advice from various researchers

Welcome!

Welcome to the research guide for Neuroscience! Use this guide to find key journals, databases, and more resources pertaining to Neuroscience. If additional one-on-one help is needed, please feel free to schedule a consultation with the subject librarians. Additionally, please remember to check out the department's home page for relevant events, contact information, and other news. Happy searching!

Key Resources

PubMed (NLM) This link opens in a new window
PubMed, is a service of the National Library of Medicine, which provides access to over 16 million MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's and additional life science journals. MEDLINE is the primary database used for getting to the subject content of articles in medicine. There are several ways to get to MEDLINE, including OVID and PubMed. The FSU customized version of PubMed links directly from the article reference to the full article for all electronic journals available at FSU.
Tutorials:
PubMed Online Training

See also: MeSH (Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) is the National Library of Medicine's controlled vocabulary thesaurus and will assist you in formulating your successful searches.)

Abbreviation: pubmd
Vendor: National Library of Medicine
Subjects: Biological Sciences, Engineering, Communication, Communication Disorders, Medicine, Music Therapy, Nursing & Integrative Physiology, Public Health, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: E-Journal Collections, Indexes / Catalogs
APA PsycInfo (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
ProQuest online version of Psychological Abstracts, 1887 to present. Covers journal articles, book chapters, books, technical reports, and dissertations, in psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines. Some links to full text.
Subject coverage:
Applied psychology
Communication systems
Developmental psychology
Educational psychology
Experimental human and animal psychology
Personality
Psychological and physical disorders
Physiological psychology and neuroscience
Professional personnel and issues
Psychometrics and statistics
Social psychology
Social processes and issues
Sports psychology and leisure
Treatment and prevention

Abbreviation: psycinfo
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1887–Current
Subjects: African-American Studies, Art Therapy, Communication, Communication Disorders, Early Childhood Education, Educational Psychology, Exceptional Student Education, Higher Education, Hospitality, Human Development & Family Science, Instructional Systems & Learning Technologies, Linguistics, Medicine, Music Education, Music Therapy, Psychology, Public Health, Social Work, Sociocultural and International Education, Sociology, Urban and Regional Planning, Women's and Gender Studies
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
APA PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to articles from journals published by American Psychological Association and allied organizations mostly since 1988. Covers general psychology and specialized basic, applied, clinical, and theoretical research in psychology.
Abbreviation: psycart
Vendor: American Psychological Association
Coverage: 1988–Current
Subjects: African-American Studies, Psychology, Women's and Gender Studies
Type: E-Journal Collections
MEDLINE (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
This database is a comprehensive collection of journals covering clinical and biomedical literature. The database is updated daily with the full version refresh of the December 14, 2011, release by the U.S. National Library of Medicine to occur prior to March 13, 2012. Covers all areas of medicine, including clinical medicine, experimental medicine, dentistry, nursing, health services administration, nutrition, and much more.
Subject coverage:
Behavioral psychology
Clinical psychology
Developmental psychology
Neurology
Personality, Psychobiology
Psychometrics
Social psychology

Abbreviation: medline-csa
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1989–Current
Subjects: Communication Disorders, Human Development & Family Science, Medicine, Music Therapy, Nursing, Public Health
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science includes Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Links to some full text.
Tutorials:
Web of Science LibGuide

Abbreviation: webofsci
Vendor: Clarivate Analytics
Subjects: *General Science, *General / Multi-Subject, Engineering
Type: Citation Management, Indexes / Catalogs
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature including scientific journals, books, and conference proceedings. Scopus provides a comprehensive overview of worldwide research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, along with tools to track, analyze, and visualize research.
Abbreviation: scopus
Vendor: Elsevier
Subjects: *General Science, *General / Multi-Subject, Engineering
Type: Citation Management, Indexes / Catalogs

Subject Librarian

Jules Bailey

Email Me

Contact:

Dirac 439
jules.bailey@fsu.edu
Chat with Jules

Subjects: Health, Nutrition, and Food Science, Nursing

Librarian

Dan Schoonover

he/him

Email Me

Subjects: Anthropology, Archaeology, Education