Research Guides: Open Science: Open Science Toolkit

Getting Started with Open Science

You can learn more about open science as a practice with the following resources:

2023 Year of Open Science Symposium at FSU
Recordings of the participant-driven symposium featuring a range of topics, projects, and resources related to open science including open access publishing, open data and more.
Foster Open Science Toolkit
FSU Open Scholars Project
A community of practice for researchers and practitioners who are curious about open access publishing, open science, and FAIR data at Florida State University, the Tallahassee community, and beyond.
NASA’s Transform to Open Science (TOPS): Open Science 101
The open science curriculum will introduce those beginning their open science journey to important definitions, tools, and resources; and provide participants at all levels recommendations on best practices.
Open Data Handbook
Guides, case studies and resources for government & civil society
on the "what, why & how" of open data.
SPARC Open Data Fact Sheet

Open science is the principle of making each stage of the research process as transparent as possible to the scientific community and beyond. The goals of this movement are to promote:

Research accessibility
Reproducibility of results
Data reusability
Ethical research practices
Collaboration

Explore Open Science Tools at Each Stage of the Research Lifecycle

These tools help you find, cite, and store research related to your project.

Find:

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.
Directory of Open Access Preprint Repositories (DOAPR)
Provides a list of preprint repositories that are available to the research community
NLM Dataset Catalog
A catalog of biomedical datasets from various repositories for users to search, discover, retrieve, and connect with datasets to accelerate scientific research.
Open Access Button
A website and browser extension that points you toward open access versions of articles available in various locations
OpenAlex
An open-access index of scholarly works, authors, citations, venues, institutions, and concepts.
Protocols.io
A secure platform for developing and sharing reproducible methods
Re3data
A global registry of research data repositories that covers research data repositories from different academic disciplines
Semantic Scholar
A free, AI-powered discovery tool for scientific literature
Unpaywall
Website and browser extension; find and access legal, author-posted manuscripts of research articles as you browse

Cite and Store:

CiteAs
Get the correct citation for diverse research products, from software and datasets to preprints and articles
LitMaps
Creates a visual citation network of related works based on seed articles of your choice
ResearchRabbit
A similar tool to Litmaps but is designed to resemble the researcher’s thought process (“falling down the rabbit hole”)
Zotero
Free citation management tool; includes a Word plugin to make citing/writing easier.

Utilizing tools like these can get your research ideas and findings out into the world faster while maintaining your intellectual rights.

Obsidian
A private, flexible writing app that adapts to the way you think and enables you to visualize connections between your notes
Octopus
Allows you to publish supporting components of your research, such as a hypothesis, piece by piece
Open Science Framework (OSF)
A comprehensive open platform for discovering and sharing papers, data, and materials, as well as collaborating on active research projects and publishing related outputs
Re3data
A global registry of research data repositories that covers research data repositories from different academic disciplines
Zotero
Free citation management tool; includes a Word plugin to make citing/writing easier.

These tools enable you to preserve and share the raw data you’ve collected and/or resources you’ve generated.

ARGOS
Machine actionable data management planning tool, integrated with Zenodo
DMPTool
Create a data management plan for your grant. This supports NSF and NIH data management plan templates, among others. DMPTOOL is a service of the University of California Curation Center of the California Digital Library.
Figshare
A repository where users can make all of their research outputs available in a citable, shareable, and discoverable manner
FSU Digital Repository
Florida State University's Digital Library and Research Repository. Provides online access to thousands of unique manuscripts, photographs, pamphlets, books and maps, and other materials from across the FSU campus libraries and beyond.
Github
A developer platform to build, scale, and deliver secure software
NLM Dataset Catalog
A catalog of biomedical datasets from various repositories for users to search, discover, retrieve, and connect with datasets to accelerate scientific research.
Obsidian
A private, flexible writing app that adapts to the way you think and enables you to visualize connections between your notes
Octopus
Allows you to publish supporting components of your research, such as a hypothesis, piece by piece
Open Science Framework (OSF)
A comprehensive open platform for discovering and sharing papers, data, and materials, as well as collaborating on active research projects and publishing related outputs
Protocols.io
A secure platform for developing and sharing reproducible methods
Re3data
A global registry of research data repositories that covers research data repositories from different academic disciplines
Zenodo
An open repository for all scholarship, enabling researchers from all disciplines to share and preserve their research outputs, regardless of size or format

Use these tools to analyze and create visualizations for your research data.

D3.js
A free, open-source JavaScript library for visualizing data
Infogram
An infographic and chart maker
KNIME
An analytics platform that is free and open source, including 300+ connectors to data sources and integrations with all popular machine learning libraries
Matplotlib
A comprehensive library for creating static, animated, and interactive visualizations in Python

These resources can facilitate or supplement the publishing process.

Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB)
DOAB intends to make it easier to find Open Access books. All books in DOAB are free to read but may not be free to share or copy. All publishers are screened to make sure they have good peer-review and licensing requirements.
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.
Directory of Open Access Preprint Repositories (DOAPR)
Provides a list of preprint repositories that are available to the research community
Figshare
A repository where users can make all of their research outputs available in a citable, shareable, and discoverable manner
FSU Digital Repository
Florida State University's Digital Library and Research Repository. Provides online access to thousands of unique manuscripts, photographs, pamphlets, books and maps, and other materials from across the FSU campus libraries and beyond.
FSU Open Publishing
Florida State Open Publishing provides publishing services for journals, monographs, textbooks, and other scholarly and creative works.
Github
A developer platform to build, scale, and deliver secure software
NLM Dataset Catalog
A catalog of biomedical datasets from various repositories for users to search, discover, retrieve, and connect with datasets to accelerate scientific research.
Open Science Framework (OSF)
A comprehensive open platform for discovering and sharing papers, data, and materials, as well as collaborating on active research projects and publishing related outputs
Peer Community In Registered Reports
Free and transparent pre- and post-study peer reviews and recommendations across research fields
PREreview
Provide and receive constructive feedback on preprints from an international community of your peers
Protocols.io
A secure platform for developing and sharing reproducible methods
Publish or Perish
Software program that retrieves and analyzes academic citations
PubPeer
Enables scientists to search for their publications or their peers’ publications and provide feedback and/or start a conversation anonymously
Sherpa Romeo
Aggregates and analyses publisher open access policies from around the world and provides summaries of publisher copyright and open access archiving policies on a journal-by-journal basis
Zenodo
An open repository for all scholarship, enabling researchers from all disciplines to share and preserve their research outputs, regardless of size or format

These tools can help you assess and improve the visibility and impact of your research.

Figshare
A repository where users can make all of their research outputs available in a citable, shareable, and discoverable manner
FSU Digital Repository
Florida State University's Digital Library and Research Repository. Provides online access to thousands of unique manuscripts, photographs, pamphlets, books and maps, and other materials from across the FSU campus libraries and beyond.
FSU Open Publishing
Florida State Open Publishing provides publishing services for journals, monographs, textbooks, and other scholarly and creative works.
Impactstory
Track buzz about your research on X, blogs, news outlets and more
OpenAlex
An open-access index of scholarly works, authors, citations, venues, institutions, and concepts.
ORCID
Provides a persistent digital identifier (an ORCID iD) that you own and control, and that distinguishes you from every other researcher; also includes system integrations and tools to make it easy to get credit for your activities
Paperbuzz
A free and open way to track the online buzz around scholarly articles
Zenodo
An open repository for all scholarship, enabling researchers from all disciplines to share and preserve their research outputs, regardless of size or format

Open science tools exist for every stage of the research lifecycle, and some can even be used at multiple stages for convenience. Learn more about these tools, and others, in the tabs above.

Tool	Discover	Brainstorm & Plan	Manage & Share	Publish & Preserve	Promote & Measure
Directory of Open Access Preprint Repositories	✔			✔
NLM Dataset Catalog	✔		✔	✔
OpenAlex	✔				✔
Zotero	✔	✔
Obsidian		✔	✔
Octopus		✔	✔
Open Science Framework		✔	✔	✔
FSU Digital Repository			✔	✔	✔
Figshare			✔	✔	✔
Github			✔	✔
Protocols.io	✔		✔	✔
R3data	✔	✔	✔
Zenodo			✔	✔	✔
Directory of Open Access Journals	✔			✔
Florida State Open Publishing				✔	✔

Open Science Librarian

Kassidy Hof-Mahoney

(she/her)

Email Me

Subjects: Biological Sciences, Engineering