1. To find organizations on an issue, use the site:.org or site:.gov search code at Google. Or add "advocacy" to the search keywords
E.g., "death penalty" site:.org drug abuse advocacy
2. To find similar organizations, use the related: search code at Google
E.g., National Alliance of Mental Illness (http://www.nami.org) related:nami.org
CQ ResearcherThis link opens in a new windowThis database combines many of CQ's most well- known government and political titles into a single searchable database. It includes such titles as the Political Handbook of the world, Elections A to Z, the Federal Regulatory Directory and the Washington Information Directory and covers such topics as International Affairs, Congress, Law and the Courts, Elections and Political Behavior, the Presidency and Politics and History.
Resource URL: http://library.cqpress.com/cqresearcher
Vendor: SAGE Publishing
Subjects: Communication, Political Science, Public Administration and Policy, Public Health
Type: Directories, Government Publications, Reports
For a controversial issue where you need to look up the pros and cons of it, CQ Researcher is a great resource.
iPOLL Databank (Roper Center)This link opens in a new windowIPOLL, from the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research, is a full text database of 500,000 questions from national public opinion surveys since 1935 and updated daily. iPOLL includes survey results data from academic, commercial and media survey organizations such as Gallup, Harris Interactive, Pew Research Associates, ABC, CBS, Wall Street Journal and many more. Many data sets are available for download in ASCII or SPSS format.
Resource URL: https://ropercenter.cornell.edu/ipoll
Vendor: Cornell University
Subjects: Anthropology, Communication, Criminology and Criminal Justice, Demography and Population Studies, Economics, Geography, Human Development & Family Science, Information Studies, International Affairs, Law, Political Science, Psychology, Public Administration and Policy, Public Safety and Security, Retail Entrepreneurship, Social Work, Sociology, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: Datasets / Statistics
Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR)This link opens in a new windowInter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research maintains and provides access to a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction.
If you receive an error about not being able to access this database because of using a proxy server, please go straight to https://www.icpsr.umich.edu/ then create an account using the link in the upper right to access their site from anywhere. Please use your FSU credentials for the account. If you receive an error about not being from a member institution, submit a request for validation by sending an email to firstname.lastname@example.org and include your name, your institutional email address, and the name of your institution.
Resource URL: http://www.icpsr.umich.edu/
Vendor: University of Michigan
Subjects: Anthropology, Communication, Criminology and Criminal Justice, Demography and Population Studies, Economics, Human Development & Family Science, Geography, Information Studies, International Affairs, Law, Political Science, Psychology, Public Administration and Policy, Public Safety and Security, Retail Entrepreneurship, Social Work, Sociology, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: Datasets / Statistics
Business Source CompleteThis link opens in a new windowBusiness Source Complete is the world's definitive scholarly business database, providing the leading collection of bibliographic and full text content. As part of the comprehensive coverage offered by this database, indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 are included. In addition to the searchable cited references provided for more than 1,200 journals, Business Source Complete contains detailed author profiles for the 20,000 most-cited authors in the database. Journal ranking studies reveal that Business Source Complete is the overwhelmingly superior database for full text journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
Search the Business Source Complete database for poll results from Gallup News Service. Type in "Gallup News Service," choose the "SO Publication Name" field, and add a keyword. Then sort the results by the Date Newest.
Browse and search within the following organization websites for the descriptive data from reputable sources on your topic.
Or, use news search engines such as Google News to find the survey or poll data on your topic.
E.g., vaping (survey OR poll)
Peer-Reviewed Journal Articles for Original Survey Research
Communication & Mass Media CompleteThis link opens in a new windowCommunication & Mass Media Complete (CMMC) offers full text and cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for journals covering communication, mass media, linguistics, rhetoric, language, logic, and other closely related fields. Content includes more than 440 full-text journals, Cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for 670 journals, and 5,500 author profiles.
CINAHL Plus with Full TextThis link opens in a new windowThe CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature) Plus with Full Text research database provides full text for hundreds of nursing and allied health journals indexed in the CINAHL database, and includes a higher number of records, additional journals, records dating back to 1937 and expanded content. Additional materials included in CINAHL Plus with Full Text include Evidence-Based Care Sheets and Quick Lessons which provide concise overviews of diseases and conditions and outline the most effective treatment options.
Resource URL: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=rzh
Subjects: Communication, Communication Disorders, Medicine, Nursing, Public Health
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
APA PsycInfo (ProQuest)This link opens in a new windowProQuest online version of Psychological Abstracts, 1887 to present. Covers journal articles, book chapters, books, technical reports, and dissertations, in psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines. Some links to full text.
Experimental human and animal psychology
Psychological and physical disorders
Physiological psychology and neuroscience
Professional personnel and issues
Psychometrics and statistics
Social processes and issues
Sports psychology and leisure
Treatment and prevention
Resource URL: http://search.proquest.com/psycinfo/advanced?accountid=4840
Subjects: African-American Studies, Art Therapy, Communication, Communication Disorders, Early Childhood Education, Educational Psychology, Exceptional Student Education, Higher Education, Hospitality, Human Development & Family Science, Instructional Systems & Learning Technologies, Linguistics, Medicine, Music Education, Music Therapy, Psychology, Public Health, Social Work, Sociocultural and International Education, Sociology, Urban and Regional Planning, Women's and Gender Studies
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
1. At the Communication & Mass Media Complete database:
Once you entered the keywords, limit your search by peer-reviewed journal articles published within the last 10 years.
2. At the APA PsycINFO database:
The SAGE Handbook of Persuasion: Developments in Theory and Practice by James Price Dillard (Editor); Lijiang Shen (Editor)The Second Edition of The SAGE Handbook of Persuasion: Developments in Theory and Practice provides readers with logical, comprehensive summaries of research in a wide range of areas related to persuasion. From a topical standpoint, this handbook takes an interdisciplinary approach, covering issues that will be of interest to interpersonal and mass communication researchers as well as to psychologists and public health practitioners. Persuasion is presented in this volume on a micro to macro continuum, moving from chapters on cognitive processes, the individual, and theories of persuasion, to chapters highlighting broader social factors and phenomena related to persuasion, such as social context and larger scale persuasive campaigns. Each chapter identifies key challenges to the area and provides research strategies for addressing those challenges.
Encyclopedia of Communication Theory by Stephen W. Littlejohn (Editor); Karen A. Foss (Editor)With more than 300 entries, these two volumes provide a one-stop source for a comprehensive overview of communication theory, offering current descriptions of theories as well as the background issues and concepts that comprise these theories. This is the first resource to summarize, in one place, the diversity of theory in the communication field.Key ThemesApplications and ContextsCritical OrientationsCultural OrientationsCybernetic and Systems OrientationsFeminist OrientationsGroup and Organizational ConceptsInformation, Media, and Communication TechnologyInternational and Global ConceptsInterpersonal ConceptsNon-Western OrientationsParadigms, Traditions, and SchoolsPhilosophical OrientationsPsycho-Cognitive OrientationsRhetorical OrientationsSemiotic, Linguistic, and Discursive OrientationsSocial/Interactional OrientationsTheory, Metatheory, Methodology, and Inquiry
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2009
Planned Behavior by Vincent L. RushThe theory of planned behaviour (TPB) is one of the most widely applicable, and frequently utilised, models of human behaviour. The TPB provides a theoretical framework for assessing potential determinants of behaviour; such information can then be used to guide the creation of targeted interventions. This book provides insight on the theory of planned behaviour and its application to the field of substance use; provides information on gender variations and TPB; fruit consumption determinants among young adults in Italy; discusses moderation of intense physical activity intentions; and gives a short-communication which discusses applying the TPB on school based interventions on children's fruit and vegetable intake.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2014
Predicting and Changing Behavior: The Reasoned Action Approach by Martin Fishbein; Icek AjzenThis book describes the reasoned action approach, an integrative framework for the prediction and change of human social behavior. It provides an up-to-date review of relevant research, discusses critical issues related to the reasoned action framework, and provides methodological and conceptual tools for the prediction and explanation of social behavior and for designing behavior change interventions.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2011
Health Message Design
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Health and Risk Message Design and Processing by Roxanne Parrott (Editor-In-Chief)The Oxford Encyclopedia of Health and Risk Message Design and Processing has been compiled as an up-to-date and comprehensive theoretically guided work in health and risk communication. Research and practice dedicated to communicating about health and risk to lay audiences grows exponentiallywith the availability of scientific knowledge on the subject. This work seeks to ensure that what is communicated is not only scientifically accurate but also avoids any partial information or overemphasis of particular features that result in beliefs or actions that may result in personal orsocietal harms. With the body of knowledge associated with health and risk communication collected in a credible and accessible resource, such outcomes appear to be less likely to occur is a collaboration of the leading scholars in the field.Comprising 134 extensive articles, The Oxford Encyclopedia of Health and Risk Message Design and Processing examines, among others:* message exposure and reach* message recipient sociodemographics* normative and integrated approaches* cognitive- and affect-based motivational processes* social determinants of health and riskMore than 150 scholars from around the globe examined the overarching topic from the lens of multiple disciplines and eras of thought. The perspectives represented range from disciplinary to interdisciplinary to transdisciplinary in illuminating decades of knowledge. Authors do not shy away fromcritiques of past strategic message design efforts in explaining the roles of individual characteristics linked to outcomes. Nor do contributors avoid controversial discussions related to the substantial evidence that demonstrates roles for personal relationships, social networks, and societalpractices and policies on individual decision-making aligned with health and risk. Novel insights emerge from systematic case studies used to illustrate some of these principles in practice, while gaps in existing research generate recommendations for future programs of study and practice.