Skip to main content

Communication & Media Studies: Getting Started

Resource guide for the Communication and Media Studies disciplines.

Help with Your Paper

Other Related Guides

Key Resources

Go straight to the key databases in Communication Studies

Communication Abstracts 
Formerly produced by Sage Publications, a comprehensive source of information about communication-related publications on a world-wide scale. Containing over 244,000 records, Communication Abstracts covers major journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study to create a research and reference resource that encompasses the breadth of the communication discipline. 

American Rhetoric: Online Speech Bank 
Index of 5000+ full text, audio and video (streaming) versions of public speeches, sermons, legal proceedings, lectures, debates, interviews, other recorded media events..." (Note the arrangement is alphabetical by first name.) Speeches by numerous American public figures.

Access World News 
Current and archived state, national, and international full-text articles on issues, events, people, government and more with over 4,500 newspapers and other news sources. Also includes: Access Business News, Access International News, Access Military, Government, and Defense, Access Newswires & Transcripts, and Acceda Noticias.

Ad*Access 
Over 7,000 U.S. and Canadian advertisements covering five product categories - Beauty and Hygiene, Radio, Television, Transportation, and World War II propaganda - dated between 1911 and 1955.

Business Source Complete 
Thousands of full-text academic journals in business, management and finance, case studies, company profiles, reports, conference papers, financial data and SWOT analysis.

Dissertations & Theses (ProQuest) 
Covers every doctoral dissertation completed in the U.S. at accredited institutions for the last 150 years. Includes some master's theses and foreign language dissertations. Titles published since 1997 are available in PDF digital form full-text. 

Meet Your Librarian!

Kyung Kim
Contact:
0027J Scholars Commons at Strozier Library
850.644.7558
The Florida State University Libraries
Library Hours | Maps and Directions | Employment | Giving to the Libraries | The FSULib Blog | Library Homepage

© 2016 Florida State University Libraries | 116 Honors Way | Tallahassee, FL 32306 | (850) 644-2706