Hello Young Scholars! Welcome to FSU Libraries. This guide was created to provide you with support on how to use and access library resources. Many of the following pages can help you understand the world of academic resources, so explore the various pages and check out the different links; you never know what might spark your curiosity. Feel free to reach out if you have any questions or need help.
OneSearch for all items
You can search for your items with FSU Libraries OneSearch on the left of the library homepage. It is a discovery tool that searches any items in our collections. It’s a great starting point for your research and can be used to narrow down resources with the advanced search function.
Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 9,100 full-text periodicals, including nearly 7,900 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 13,690 journals and publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
This scholarly collection offers unmatched full-text coverage of information in many areas of academic study including, but not limited to: animal science, anthropology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology and many other fields. Updated daily.
140 titles, including areas of astronomy, biology, botany, chemistry, earth science, environmental issues, mathematics, medicine, physics, and zoology from 1984—abstracting coverage begins with periodicals published in March 1993. The abstracts range from 50 to 300 words and describe the content and scope of the source articles. Full-text coverage begins in 1997.
This Collection includes over 650 titles with particular emphasis on subject encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, and reference handbooks. Also included are over 1,000 short reference videos, nearly 300,000 high-resolution art images, and thousands of additional images across all subject areas. Subject coverage is especially diverse and equipped to address all key disciplines. Access ends December 31, 2024.
What is Google scholar? Why should I use it?
Google Scholar searches for scholarly materials such as peer-reviewed papers, theses, dissertations, books, preprints, abstracts, and technical reports. It draws on information from journal publishers, university repositories, and other websites that it has identified as scholarly. Google Scholar includes both full text and citations.
How can I find items in Google Scholar?
Search Google Scholar just as you would search Google. Like a regular Google search, Google Scholar ranks and lists results according to relevancy, with the most relevant ones at the top. Google Scholar rankings include how often the work was cited.
When you see this next to an article you want to read it means we can find the it in an FSU database. Just click on it!
If you want to search for a specific discipline but do not know where to start, go to the subject guide for that topic!
There are general guides that cover broad areas of study and others that focus on very specific topics. Explore some of the different guides for inspiration and to learn about different resources.
© Florida State University Libraries | 116 Honors Way | Tallahassee, FL 32306 | (850) 644-2706
