Skip to main content

World War I

Welcome



This guide (which is still a work in progress), collects information related to the First World War that is available in the University Libraries.

Use the tabs across the top of the page to navigate between collections of German, British, French, American, and Russian documents from the conflict, as well as information dealing with surrender and treaties.

Introductory Resources

Online International Encyclopedia of the First World War

This multi-perspective, open-access, English-language virtual reference work on the First World War is the result of an international collaborative project involving more than 1,000 authors, editors, and partners from over fifty countries.

David F. Burg and L. Edward Purcell, Almanac of World War I (Lexington, Ky: University Press of Kentucky, 1998).

FSU STROZIER LIBRARY Reference -- D522.5.B87 1998

Gerald Herman,The pivotal conflict: a comprehensive chronology of the First World War, 1914-1919 (New York: Greenwood Press,1992).

FSU STROZIER LIBRARY Reference -- D522.5.H43 1992

Stephen Pope, Elizabeth-Anne Wheal, Keith Robbins, and Brendan Eddison, The dictionary of the First World War (New York: St. Martin's Press, 1995).

FSU STROZIER LIBRARY Reference -- D510.P66 1996

Special WWI Collections at FSU

World War I and II Papers, FSU Special Collections & Archives

This collection consists of two groups of items. There are three army regulations post cards dated "Somewhere in France," which are acknowledgement of thanks from soldiers at the front, and they are addressed to Miss C. Tracey at Erie, Pennsylvania, 1918. The other part of this collection is a newspaper, The Stars and Stripes, extra, dated Tuesday, May 8, 1945, with headlines "Nazis Quit." With the newspaper are two arm bands of the German armed forces, one red and black and one black on yellow.

Spessard Lindsey Holland Papers, 1892-1971, FSU Claude Pepper Library

The collection includes correspondence, photos, campaign materials, tax records, recordings, books and memorabalia.  He served in WWI and the collection includes WWI-related corresopndence and printed matter.

Poetry During World War I

Scanned collection of books of poetry published during the years of World War I from the John MacKay Shaw Childhood in Poetry collection. They were selected from a bibliography that covers 360 poetry books and young adult magazines produced in Great Britain and North America during the Great War and collected by Shaw for inclusion in his larger poetry collection.

Subject Guide

Amauri Serrano
Contact:
Strozier Library
Scholars Commons
(850) 645-2708
The Florida State University Libraries
Library Hours | Maps and Directions | Employment | Giving to the Libraries | The FSULib Blog | Library Homepage

© 2016 Florida State University Libraries | 116 Honors Way | Tallahassee, FL 32306 | (850) 644-2706