World War I

British Official Naval Despatches

Mit der Grand Fleet im Weltkrieg

Collected diplomatic documents relating to the outbreak of the European War.

The Army and the Curragh incident, 1914

The military correspondence of Field Marshall Sir Henry Wilson, 1918-1922

Sir John French's despatches; official records

British documents on the origins of the war, 1898-1914

Douglas Haig: War diaries and Letters, 1915-1918

The Life of General Lord Rawlinson of Trent from his Journals and Letters

Revolt in the Desert- T. E. Lawrence

Seven Pillars of Wisdom: A Triumph- T.E. Lawrence

The Times history of the war

The War illustrated; a pictorial record of the conflict of the nations

Oxford Pamphlets



The Year

The Jellicoe Papers; Selections from the Private and Official Correspondence of Admiral of the Fleet Earl Jellicoe of Scapa

The submarine peril; the Admiralty policy in 1917- John Jellicoe

The grand fleet, 1914-16; its creation, development and work- John Jellicoe

The crisis of the naval war- John Jellicoe

Why we are at war; Great Britain's case

The military correspondence of Field-Marshal Sir William Robertson, Chief of the Imperial General Staff, December 1915 - February 1918.

Sea fights of the great war, naval incidents during the first nine months

Women's work in war time; a handbook of employments

A woman's diary of the war by Sarah Mcnaughton

World War I Resources from the BBC (online)

Backing up the government series

The roll-call of serving women ; a record of woman's work for combatants and sufferers in the great war

England's effort; letters to an American friend

The Women at Work Collection, from the Imperial War Museum

German Empire

Vocabulary of German Military Terms and abbreviations

The German Forces in the Field

Handbook of German military and naval aviation, 1914-1918

Handbook of the German Army in war, April 1918 [Second copy available here]

Austria-Hungary

Handbook of the Austro-Hungarian Army in war

The Austro-Hungarian forces in the field

Russian Empire

Handbook of the Russian Army, 1914

Ottoman Empire
Handbook of the Turkish Army: handbook revised to Feb. 10, 1916

Belgium
Handbook of the Belgian Army

Balkan States

Armies of the Balkan States, 1914-1918: the military forces of Bulgaria, Greece, Montenegro, Rumania, and Servia [sic!]

A brief record of the advance of the Egyptian expeditionary force under the command of General Sir Edmund H. H. Allenby ... July 1917 to October 1918

Allenby in Palestine : the Middle East correspondence of Field Marshal Viscount Allenby, June 1917-October 1919

Memories and reflections, 1852-1927 by Asquith

The genesis of the war by Asquith

The navy and the war (August, 1914, to August, 1915) by Balfour

Balfour, Viviani and Joffre; their speeches and other public utterances in America, and those of Italian, Belgian and Russian commissioners during the Great War; with an account of the arrival of our warships and soldiers in England and France under Admiral Sims and General Pershing, April 21, 1917-July 4, 1917

The Beatty papers: selections from the private and official correspondence of Admiral of the Fleet Earl Beatty

Khaki and gown, an autobiography by Birdwood

In my time; recollections and anecdotes by Birdwood

The war on German submarines. Sir Edward Carson on the British navy's success