FSU's Reference Tools and ResourcesTips for Evaluation Online Resources
RefWorks and Zotero
This is the "Home" page of the "*Anthropology" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

*Anthropology  

This guide provides a variety of resources for anthropology students.
Last Updated: Apr 9, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.fsu.edu/anthropology Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome

This guide is intended to provide a starting point for your research in anthropology. You will find lists of books, journals and databases that may be helpful, along with links to websites with good information for anthropology scholars.

Should you find that you need more assistance, please do not hesitate to contact Sarah Buck Kachaluba for a personal research consultation.


Thanks to Michelle Demeter who originally developed this guide.

 

Ask us Now

Professional Associations

  • American Anthropological Association.
    This is the official site for the AAA. It offers resources for archaeoology, ethnography, museums, funding opportunities, and other areas of interest.

Anthropology Resources at FSU

This is Anthropology!

This is Anthropology

Click on the link to watch this Prezi Presentation made by Students at University of South Florida, to respond to Gov. Rick Scott's assertion that the state of Florida doesn't need any more anthropologists.  This is a powerful statement which shows many critical career applications for anthropology education and training across society.

      

    Key Resources

    The Center for Research Libraries (CRL) is another excellent resource for books, periodicals, manuscripts, newspapers, and archival materials in print, microfilm, and digital formats. FSU belongs to this international consortium of university, college, and independent research libraries, which allows FSU patrons to borrow CRL materials via interlibrary loan for extended periods.

    One way to identify key collections is through CRL Topic Guides.

    • Academic Info Anthropology Digital Library

      This library has compiled links to texts, podcasts, and other
      resources useful for research in anthropology. It includes links to
      anthropology anthropology museums, organizations, and a directory organizations

    • FSU Department of Anthropology Online Resources
      The FSU Department of Anthropology has compiled a very comprehensive cadre of online resources. Included on their page are links for both general and specific anthropology topics, in addition to a variety of search engines and other research and software links.
    • eHRAF World Cultures
      A unique cross-cultural database containing more than a quarter of a million pages of descriptive information on the cultures of the world.
    • Anthropological Index, Royal Anthropological Institute
    • Anthropology Plus
      Anthropology Plus brings together into one resource the highly respected Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and Anthropological Index, Royal Anthropological Institute from the UK. Anthropology Plus provides extensive worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies. The index offers excellent coverage of all core periodicals in the field in addition to local and lesser-known journals. Coverage is from the late 19th century to the present.
     

    Catalog Search

    (hints)

    advanced
    | renewals / library account

    Research Librarian: Humanities

    Profile Image
    Sarah Buck Kachaluba
    Contact Info
    Research Librarian
    Robert Manning Strozier Library
    116 Honors Way
    PO Box 3062047
    Tallahassee, FL 32306-2047
    (850) 645-2600
    sbuckkachaluba@fsu.edu
    Send Email

    Librarian

    Profile Image
    Dan Schoonover
    Contact Info
    850-661-2890
    dschoonover@fsu.edu
    Send Email
    Education:
    MA, MLIS
    Areas of Responsibility:
    Anthropology, Faculty Delivery, Uborrow, Print Collections and Remote Storage
     

    Let Us Know How We're Doing!

    Was this information helpful?

    How useful is this page?
    (1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

    Additional comments:


    Your Email:


    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip