Research Guides: Anthropology: Cultural Anthropology

eHRAF World Cultures

eHRAF is a key resource for ethnographic research. The database interface is a bit different than others, so make sure to check out the video tutorials below and let me know if you have questions.

eHRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new window
A unique cross-cultural database containing more than a quarter of a million pages of descriptive information on the cultures of the world. (Human Relations Area Files)
See also: eHRAF Archaeology

Abbreviation: ehrafa
Vendor: Yale University
Subjects: Anthropology, Classics
Type: Indexes / Catalogs

eHRAF video tutorials

Select Databases for Cultural Anthropology

AnthroSource This link opens in a new window
Abbreviation: anthro
Vendor: Wiley
Subjects: Anthropology, Linguistics
Type: E-Journal Collections
Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window
Abbreviation: anthplus
Vendor: EBSCO
Coverage: 1869-Current
Subjects: Anthropology, Linguistics
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Tutorials:
JSTOR on YouTube
How to search (04:20)
Primary Source Collection: 19th-Century British Pamphlets (00:51)

Abbreviation: jstor
Vendor: JSTOR
Coverage: 1665-present
Subjects: Arts Administration, Art History, *General / Multi-Subject
Type: E-Book Collections, E-Journal Collections
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Apps:
Android (PowerPoint)
iPhone (PowerPoint)

Abbreviation: ascomplete
Vendor: EBSCO
Coverage: 1987-Current
Subjects: *General / Multi-Subject, Hospitality
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Subject coverage:
Culture and social structure
Family and marriage
History and theory of sociology
Organizational sociology
Political sociology
Poverty and homelessness
Race and ethnicity
Social change and economic development
Social control
Sociology of health and medicine
Sociology of education

Abbreviation: socabs
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1963-Current
Subjects: African-American Studies, Anthropology, Demography and Population Studies, Human Development & Family Science, Latin American & Caribbean Studies, Psychology, Public Health, Social Work, Sociocultural and International Education, Sociology, Urban and Regional Planning, Women's and Gender Studies
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
Google Scholar [see description for access instructions] This link opens in a new window
To access FSU resources from Google Scholar, please follow these instructions:
- Go http://scholar.google.com
- Click on the hamburger menu on the upper left hand side and click on "Settings"
- Click on Library links
- Type Florida State University in the box that appears
- Click on the blue Search button
- Click in the check box next to "Florida State University- Find It @ FSU" (Not Cengage Gale Full Text)
- Click on Save
- Scholar should now recognize you as an FSU patron
Abbreviation: gsch
Vendor: Google
Type: Citation Management, Indexes / Catalogs
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
- African American/Caribbean/African
- Arab/Middle Eastern
- Asian/Pacific Islander
- European/Eastern European
- Hispanic
- Jewish
- Native Peoples
Abbreviation: ethnicnews2
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1973-Current
Subjects: African-American Studies, Asian Studies, Communication, History, International Affairs, Latin American & Caribbean Studies, Middle Eastern Studies, Political Science, Russian & Eastern European Studies
Type: E-Journal Collections, Newspapers and Newswires

Films

These streaming video databases have thousands of anthropology and ethnographic films. Search for their anthropology collections to browse, or search for specific topics or cultures.

Films On Demand: Master Academic Collection This link opens in a new window
Abbreviation: fod
Vendor: Films Media Group
Subjects: *General / Multi-Subject
Type: Streaming Video
Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Tutorials:
Browsing Channels (3:20 minutes)
Clip Making (1:53 minutes)
Searching and Filtering (1:50 minutes)
Scrolling and Searchable Transcripts (1:13 minutes)

Abbreviation: asavon
Vendor: Alexander Street, a ProQuest Company
Type: Streaming Video