Research Guides: Anthropology: Primates

Wisconsin National Primate Research Center

Wisconsin National Primate Research Center - Fact Sheets

Select Databases for Primate Research

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Tutorials:
Web of Science LibGuide

Abbreviation: webofsci
Vendor: Clarivate Analytics
Subjects: *General Science, *General / Multi-Subject, Engineering
Type: Citation Management, Indexes / Catalogs
Google Scholar [see description for access instructions] This link opens in a new window
To access FSU resources from Google Scholar, please follow these instructions:
- Go http://scholar.google.com
- Click on the hamburger menu on the upper left hand side and click on "Settings"
- Click on Library links
- Type Florida State University in the box that appears
- Click on the blue Search button
- Click in the check box next to "Florida State University- Find It @ FSU" (Not Cengage Gale Full Text)
- Click on Save
- Scholar should now recognize you as an FSU patron
Abbreviation: gsch
Vendor: Google
Type: Citation Management, Indexes / Catalogs
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Apps:
Android (PowerPoint)
iPhone (PowerPoint)

Abbreviation: ascomplete
Vendor: EBSCO
Coverage: 1987-Current
Subjects: *General / Multi-Subject, Hospitality
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Tutorials:
JSTOR on YouTube
How to search (04:20)
Primary Source Collection: 19th-Century British Pamphlets (00:51)

Abbreviation: jstor
Vendor: JSTOR
Coverage: 1665-present
Subjects: Arts Administration, Art History, *General / Multi-Subject
Type: E-Book Collections, E-Journal Collections
Oxford Handbooks This link opens in a new window
Abbreviation: oxhp
Vendor: Oxford University Press
Subjects: Classics, Linguistics, Literature, Philosophy, Religion
Type: E-Book Collections, Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window
Abbreviation: anthplus
Vendor: EBSCO
Coverage: 1869-Current
Subjects: Anthropology, Linguistics
Type: Indexes / Catalogs

Select Journals for Primate Research

Here are some of the top journals in the field of primatology. Browsing individual journals helps you to stay current with the latest research. Searching in journals can provide more nuanced results than searching in a large database.

Reference Sources for Primate Reserach

Oxford Handbooks
The Oxford Handbooks is a database of authoritative surveys of original research. Each chapter is a deep dive into a particular topic of research. The authors provide a lot references.

Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new window
Developed cooperatively with scholars and librarians worldwide, Oxford Bibliographies offers exclusive, authoritative research guides. Oxford Bibliographies combines features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia, giving researchers scholarship across a wide variety of subjects.
Subjects:
African Studies
African American Studies
American Literature
Anthropology
Art History
Atlantic History
Biblical Studies
British and Irish Literature
Buddhism
Childhood Studies
Chinese Studies
Cinema and Media Studies
Classics
Communication
Criminology
Ecology
Education
Hinduism
International Law
International Relations
Islamic Studies
Jewish Studies
Latin American Studies
Linguistics
Literary and Critical Theory
Medieval Studies
Military History
Music
Philosophy
Political Science
Psychology
Public Health
Renaissance and Reformation
Social Work
Sociology
Victorian Literature

Abbreviation: oxbib
Vendor: Oxford University Press
Subjects: Religion, Urban and Regional Planning, *General / Multi-Subject, Bibliography
Type: Encyclopedias & Dictionaries, Research Starter
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
This Collection includes over 650 titles with particular emphasis on subject encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, and reference handbooks. Also included are over 1,000 short reference videos, nearly 300,000 high-resolution art images, and thousands of additional images across all subject areas. Subject coverage is especially diverse and equipped to address all key disciplines.
Abbreviation: credo
Vendor: Credo Reference
Subjects: *General / Multi-Subject
Type: Encyclopedias & Dictionaries, Images, Streaming Video

Encyclopedia of Anthropology
The Encyclopedia of Anthropology provides numerous articles on primates and primate behavior. Encyclopedia articles can give short concise surveys of topics and provide great resources to follow up with.