Research Guides: Anthropology: Archaeology

Select Databases for Archaeology

Google Scholar [see description for access instructions] This link opens in a new window
To access FSU resources from Google Scholar, please follow these instructions:
- Go http://scholar.google.com
- Click on the hamburger menu on the upper left hand side and click on "Settings"
- Click on Library links
- Type Florida State University in the box that appears
- Click on the blue Search button
- Click in the check box next to "Florida State University- Find It @ FSU" (Not Cengage Gale Full Text)
- Click on Save
- Scholar should now recognize you as an FSU patron
Abbreviation: gsch
Vendor: Google
Type: Citation Management, Indexes / Catalogs
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Tutorials:
JSTOR on YouTube
How to search (04:20)
Primary Source Collection: 19th-Century British Pamphlets (00:51)

Abbreviation: jstor
Vendor: JSTOR
Coverage: 1665-present
Subjects: Arts Administration, Art History, *General / Multi-Subject
Type: E-Book Collections, E-Journal Collections
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Tutorials:
Web of Science LibGuide

Abbreviation: webofsci
Vendor: Clarivate Analytics
Subjects: *General Science, *General / Multi-Subject, Engineering
Type: Citation Management, Indexes / Catalogs
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Apps:
Android (PowerPoint)
iPhone (PowerPoint)

Abbreviation: ascomplete
Vendor: EBSCO
Coverage: 1987-Current
Subjects: *General / Multi-Subject, Hospitality
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
AnthroSource This link opens in a new window
Abbreviation: anthro
Vendor: Wiley
Subjects: Anthropology, Linguistics
Type: E-Journal Collections

Human Relations Area Files (eHRAF)

eHRAF is a key resource for archaeological research. The database interface is a bit different than others, so make sure to check out the video tutorials below and let me know if you have questions.

eHRAF Archaeology This link opens in a new window
eHRAF Archaeology focuses on in-depth descriptive documents of archaeological traditions from around the world. The traditions are chosen from the Outline of Archaeological Traditions (OAT).
See also: eHRAF World Cultures

Abbreviation: ehrafa
Vendor: Yale University
Subjects: Anthropology, Classics
Type: Indexes / Catalogs

eHRAF video tutorials

Select Journals for Archaeology

Click on this link to search the complete list of archaeological journals subscribed to by FSU Libraries.

Southeastern and Caribbean archaeology

Ripley P. Bullen Series
Books related to Southeastern and Caribbean archaeology. The University of Florida Press established this series in honor of Ripley Bullen. Bullen, known as the Dean of Floridian Archaeology, was a professor at the University of Florida and the curator of the Florida Museum of Natural History.