Skip to main content

Strozier Library Map Collections

A guide to locating Maps in Strozier Library, including bound atlases and sheet maps.

Online Maps

Aerial Photography: Florida
"The University of Florida Map & Digital Imagery Library houses the largest and most complete collection of Florida aerial photographs (~160,000 photos) outside of the National Archives. These photos document the dramatic changes in Florida's land use between 1937 and 1990. Originally intended to assist farmers in accurately assessing their farms and to provide information on crop determination and soil conservation, today these images provide some of the oldest land use/cover information available. They are used extensively in agriculture, conservation, urbanization, recreation, education, hydrology, geology, land use, ecology, geography, and history."

Map and Imagery Collections from the University of Florida
The result of several state university lilbraries partnering with UF, this online database provides several hundred images of current and historical Florida maps and aerial photographs. The collection also includes historical maps from the Sanborn Map Company, which provide extremely detailed street maps of several cities and towns in the state.

Maps in American Memory from the Library of Congress
The Library of Congress is a tremendous repository of maps, and this website provides very high resolution images of thousands of historical maps of the United States.

Geography and Map Reading Room, Library of Congress

Historic Aerials Easy search function and cmprehensive. Data derived from a range of government sources.

Old Maps Online
 “The broadest single collection of historical maps.” This site is "a central repository to a collection of maps held by institutions across the globe."

Tallahassee-Leon County GIS
A great online collection of local maps covering property, crime, traffic, elevation, and other topics. Created and maintained by Leon County.

Map Products from the U.S. Census Bureau
Using the data generated by the Census, this site includes dozens of downloadable maps that visually represent statistical findings.

NOAA Charts
With charts of coastal waters and the Great Lakes, this site has all current nautical charts from NOAA.

USGS Topographical Maps
This site from the USGS provides downloadable copies of all current topographical maps for the United States.

FEMA Map Service Center
The Federal Emergency Management Agency maintains this collection of maps showing flood-prone areas.

David Rumsey Map Collection
Run by a private group, this site features a database of over 21,000 maps, with the majority coming from the 18th and 19th century.

UT Austin
The Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection at the University of Texas at Austin provides digital images of hundreds of maps of locations around the world.

Geodata.gov U.S. maps & data for federal, state and local areas.

University of Georgia Libraries, Online Cartographic Resources. Very useful list of map resources, including aerial photography and gazeteers.

The University of Tennessee Map Services Good links to useful sites.

Union List of Sanborn and Other Fire Insurance Maps by Philip Hoehn. List of libraries in all states that have Sanborn maps in their collection and online (UC Berkeley Earth Sciences and Map Library)

 

The Florida State University Libraries
Library Hours | Maps and Directions | Employment | Giving to the Libraries | The FSULib Blog | Library Homepage

© 2016 Florida State University Libraries | 116 Honors Way | Tallahassee, FL 32306 | (850) 644-2706