This guide points to historical, current and geographic lists of newspapers.
- Federal News Service
"Federal News Service was founded... in response to an urgent and growing need for immediate verbatim transcripts of government briefings, speeches, press conferences... Quickly, FNS assumed a broader mandate and began to transcribe Congressional hearings, National Press Club speeches, and significant events such as conferences at Brookings Institution, Carnegie Endowment and broadcast interviews with opinion leaders." Also contains transcript coverage.
- Government News (USA.gov)
"Find federal news and press releases, RSS feeds, e-mail newsletters, and more."
- Kidon Media Link
Kidon Media Link provides links to over 19,000 newspapers and other news sources from almost every country and territory in the world.
- News Voyager
A directory and links to online editions of U.S. and international newspapers and media sources
- State Newspapers
Links to websites for current newspapers from all the states.
- Today's Front Pages- Newseum Washington, D.C.
On the map, place your mouse on a city anywhere in the world and the newspaper headlines pop up. Double click and the page gets larger, even sometimes large enough to read the entire paper if you click on the right spot.
- Wikipedia List of Online Newspaper Archives
- Get Local News
Online Search Engine providing access to over 29,000 local news sources, originating from 242 countries and nearly 9,000 cities around the world.
- Access World News
Access World News is a newspaper collection from NewsBank that provides full-text articles from the electronic editions of record for more than 700 newspapers around the globe, including 18 Florida newspapers. Dates of coverage vary for each newspaper, with some access beginning as early as 1977.
- African American Newspapers, 1827-1998
African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 (Readex) provides online access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. This unique collection features papers from more than 35 states,including many rare and historically significant 19th century titles.
- ICON: International Coalition on Newspapers
"Highlights and links to past, present, and prospective digitization projects of historic newspapers. The focus is primarily on digital conversion efforts, not full-text collections of current news sources."
- LexisNexis Academic
- NewsBank InfoWeb
A Web-based collection of primary source information from regional, national and international newspapers, newswires, government and international documents, regional business journals and, periodicals.
Online database provided by the University of Florida providing links to over 1000 freely accessible, full-text digital newspapers in the United States and Caribbean.
- America's Historical Newspapers
Full-text, searchable access to Series I,II, and III of the Readex collection, Early American Newspapers, 1690-1922.
- Burney Collection
The Burney Collection Newspapers is a full-text, fully searchable digital archive of nearly 1,270 17th and 18th century newspapers and news pamphlets from the United Kingdom. Collected by the Reverend Charles Burney, this unique collection represents the largest single archive of 17th and 18th century news media available from the British Library. For an excellent guide dedicated to the Burney Collection, copy the following link and paste into your browser: http://subjectguides.wcupa.edu/burney
- The Times (London)
Full-text access to the London Times 1985-present
- The Times (London) Digital Archive
Full-Text Access to the London Times, 1785-1985
- (The Palmers Index to the London) Times, 1790-1905
In C 19: The 19th Century Index
- World Newspaper Archive Latin American Newspapers
Provides access to more than 35 fully searchable newspapers from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, Venezuela, and elsewhere published between 1805 and 1922.
- News Guide from Center for Research Libraries
- Historical New York Times (Legacy Platform)
- The New York Times- 1980-present
- Tallahassee Democrat
- Japanese-American Relocation Camp Newspapers: Perspectives on Day-to-Day Life
"One of the darker chapters in American history and one of the lesser discussed events of World War II was the forced internment, during the war, of an important segment of the American population-persons of Japanese descent. This collection, consisting of 25 individual titles, documents life in the internment camps."
- The Atlanta Constitution: a Georgia Index
STROZIER LIBRARY Micromaterials -- AI21.A87A85a
- The Atlanta Journal, The Atlanta Constitution Index
STROZIER LIBRARY Micromaterials -- AI21. A88 A85
v. 3 (1982)-v. 17 (1996)
- Barron's Index
STROZIER LIBRARY Micromaterials -- AI21.B37
- The Boston Globe Index
STROZIER LIBRARY Micromaterials -- AI21. B63 B44
1987-1996 (Film NP 421)
- Chicago Tribune. Newspaper Index
STROZIER LIBRARY Micromaterials -- AI21.C45 C47
- Chicago Tribune Index
STROZIER LIBRARY Micromaterials -- AI21.C45 C471
v. 1 (1982)-v. 15 (1996)
- The Christian Science Monitor Index
STROZIER LIBRARY Micromaterials -- AI21.C462C45
- The Denver Post Index
STROZIER LIBRARY Micromaterials -- AI21.D44 B44
- Florida Subject Index
Indexes the Florida Flambeau and the Tallahassee Democrat
STROZIER LIBRARY Micromaterials -- AI21.F57
- The Guardian Index (Manchester, England)
STROZIER LIBRARY Micromaterials -- AI21.G8G82
v. 4 (1989)-v. 7 (1992), Jan. 1993-1999, Oct./Dec.
- The Houston Post Index
STROZIER LIBRARY Micromaterials -- AI21.H68B44
- Los Angeles Times. Newspaper index
STROZIER LIBRARY Micromaterials -- AI21.L65 N49
- The New York Times Index
STROZIER LIBRARY Micromaterials -- AI21.N44
- The Official Index to the Financial Times
STROZIER LIBRARY Micromaterials -- AI21.F56A56
- Washington Post Index
STROZIER LIBRARY Micromaterials -- AI21.W3 1971-2003
The Center for Research Libraries (CRL) is another excellent resource for books, periodicals, manuscripts, newspapers, and archival materials in print, microfilm, and digital formats. FSU belongs to this international consortium of university, college, and independent research libraries, which allows FSU patrons to borrow CRL materials via interlibrary loan for extended periods.
One way to identify key collections is through CRL Topic Guides.