Historical News - World - Newspapers - Research Guides at The Florida State University

Database Collections of non-US Historical Newspapers

Some newspaper databases collect around a theme, such as those dedicated to African-American newspapers. Others provide a wide range of titles from across the country with varying date ranges, such as America's Historical Newspapers.

If you are looking for a specific newspaper title, or newspapers from a particular city, try using OneSearch first to determine which database might include coverage of the needed resource. FSU may also have the newspaper you need, but only on microfilm.

Contact your subject librarian if you need help navigating the often complicated world of historical newspapers.

British Library Newspapers This link opens in a new window
British Library Newspapers, Part I and II (1800–1900) include regional and local newspaper titles that illuminate diverse and distinct regional attitudes, cultures, and vernaculars, providing an alternative viewpoint to the London-centric national press. Parts III (1741-1950), IV (1732-1950), and V (1746-1950) add even more regional and local depth, encompassing powerful provincial news journals, local interest publications, and specialist titles. Part VI (1783-1950) provides the Irish perspective, a counterpoint to the major UK daily newspapers.
FSU Libraries has access to parts one through six of the British Library Newspapers collection.

Abbreviation: britln
Vendor: Gale
Coverage: 1732-1950
Subjects: History
Type: Historical / Primary Sources, Newspapers and Newswires

Burney Collection
The Burney Collection Newspapers is a full-text, fully searchable digital archive of nearly 1,270 17th and 18th century newspapers and news pamphlets from the United Kingdom. Collected by the Reverend Charles Burney, this unique collection represents the largest single archive of 17th and 18th century news media available from the British Library. For an excellent guide dedicated to the Burney Collection, copy the following link and paste into your browser: http://subjectguides.wcupa.edu/burney

Caribbean Newspapers, Series I: 1718–1876 This link opens in a new window
Caribbean Newspapers, 1718–1876—the largest online collection of 18th- and 19th-century newspapers published in this region—will provide a comprehensive primary resource for studying the development of Western society and international relations within this important group of islands. This unique resource will prove essential for researching colonial history, the Atlantic slave trade, international commerce, New World slavery and U.S. relations with the region as far back as the early 18th century.
Abbreviation: carinp
Vendor: NewsBank
Coverage: 1718-1876
Subjects: History, Latin American & Caribbean Studies
Type: Historical / Primary Sources, Newspapers and Newswires
Times Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
Searchable and browsable digital reproduction, cover to cover, of the London Times in PDF files, 1785–1985 and 2015-2019. The PDFs in this database are not transcribed into text, so you may need to search for keywords with unusual spelling for earlier copies. For articles outside of these dates, use the database Times (The London Times).
Abbreviation: tdar
Vendor: Gale
Coverage: 1785-1985, 2015-2019
Subjects: History
Type: Historical / Primary Sources, Images, Newspapers and Newswires

World Newspaper Archive Latin American Newspapers
Provides access to more than 35 fully searchable newspapers from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, Venezuela, and elsewhere published between 1805 and 1922.

People's Daily–Renmin Ribao (2 concurrent user limit) This link opens in a new window
People's Daily is the most influential and authoritative newspaper in China. It is the official voice of the central government of the People's Republic of China. For the last 70 years, the People's Daily has published daily issues that provide the single location where the central government and the Communist Party of China announce their respective policies and disseminate governmental, political, and economic messages to the public and the world. Most importantly, since its inception the newspaper has been the true barometer of the political climate of Chinese society on a daily basis. Access limited to 2 users.
Abbreviation: renmin
Vendor: Ori Probe Information Service
Coverage: 1946present
Subjects: Asian Studies, History
Type: Historical / Primary Sources, Newspapers and Newswires
Asahi Shimbun Cross-Search This link opens in a new window
Asahi Shimbun Cross-Search from the Asahi Shimbun Company is the largest newspaper article database in Japan. It includes 15 million articles and advertisements from more than 135 years of the newspaper, from its first edition in 1879 Meiji 12) to today. The database also contains articles from the magazines 'AERA' and 'Shukan Asahi', a Historical Photo Archive database of approximately 10 thousand photographic records mostly taken in Asia during the World War II period, an English-language News Database, Asahi Graph, Who's Who database, Image Database of Regional pages, and contemporary Dictionary Chiezo.
Abbreviation: kikuzo
Vendor: Asahi Shimbun Company
Coverage: 1879-present
Type: Historical / Primary Sources, Newspapers and Newswires

Websites

Latin American Newspapers (via LANIC)
UT Austin's Latin American Network Information Center (LANIC) provides a useful portal to identify newspapers with online interfaces by country. It also lists alternative regional news sources.
La Jornada
One of Mexico's Leading Newspapers. Online Access is provided from 1995 to the present.
Wikipedia:List of online newspaper archives
"This is a list of free and pay wall blocked digital online newspaper archives. Most were scanned from microfilm and stored in gif or similar format until converted to text with optical character recognition (OCR). "
ABYZ News Links
News links (mostly current) for many countries in the world.
International News Archive on the Web
Also includes links to other sources.
Onlinenewspapers.com
Current newspapers from around the world
Newspaperindex.com
Newspapers and front pages from around the world