Research Guides: Newspapers: Today's News

Popular Newspapers and News Magazines

New York Times

Tallahassee Democrat

Washington Post

The Atlantic

New Yorker

Wall Street Journal

Database Collections of Contemporary Newspapers

U.S. Southeast Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Includes Atlanta Journal-Constitution (2001-present), Tampa Bay Times (1986-present), Tennesseean (Nashville) (1999-present) and many more newspapers from Florida and Southeastern United States.
Abbreviation: ussnews
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1980–Current
Type: Citation Management, Newspapers and Newswires
Access World News Research Collection This link opens in a new window
Includes the Miami Herald (5/19/82–Current), Orlando Sentinel (4/1/85–Current), and USA Today (7/1/87–Current).
Find current and archived state, national, and international full-text articles on issues, events, people, government and more with over 4,500 newspapers and other news sources.
Log into NewsBank and create an account to save your search history, save articles, save searches, and create Email alerts.

To Create an Alert
- Enter a search that you're interested in.
- On the results page click on Set up an Alert.
- Choose to create the alert as a registered user or without registering.
- Specify the frequency by which you'd like to receive your alerts.
- If there are new results, NewsBank will send them to you in an email.
Please note that FSU does not having a data-mining subscription with Newsbank. Downloading entire series or papers is prohibited.

Abbreviation: awn
Vendor: NewsBank
Coverage: 1903–Current
Subjects: Communication, Hospitality
Type: Newspapers and Newswires
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni offers a simple, intuitive research experience with flexible search options and tools to help guide students through common research tasks. Nexis Uni offers the same trusted content collection of more than 15,000 news, legal and business sources that students and librarians alike have come to expect from LexisNexis, while also providing a better research experience.
Content:
Briefs, Pleadings and Motions
Cases
Company and Financial
Directories
Law Reviews and Journals
Legal News
News
Statutes and Legislation

Abbreviation: nexis
Vendor: LexisNexis
Subjects: Business, Business Legal Studies, Communication, Hospitality, Law, Psychology, Public Administration and Policy, Sociology
Type: Directories, Historical / Primary Sources, Newspapers and Newswires, Proceedings
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
Regional Business News provides comprehensive full-text coverage for regional business publications, incorporating 75 business news magazines, newspapers and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. This database is updated on a daily basis.
Abbreviation: bwh
Vendor: EBSCO
Coverage: 1993–Current
Subjects: Business, Entrepreneurship, Hospitality, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: Citation Management, E-Journal Collections, Newspapers and Newswires

Select U.S. Newspapers by Title

Chronicle of Higher Education This link opens in a new window
The Chronicle of Higher Education provides news reports and editorials on all facets of higher education in the United States, Canada, and abroad, with reference lists of relevant research, books, seminars, workshops, fellowships, and grants; for senior administrative, business, and academic officers.
Abbreviation: chronicle
Vendor: Chronicle of Higher Education
Coverage: 1970–Current
Subjects: Educational Leadership and Policy Studies, Educational Psychology, Higher Education
Type: Newspapers and Newswires

Seminole Tribune (Hollywood, Fla.)
1984 - present
Link goes to the database Ethnic Newswatch. Search publications for "Seminole Tribune" to limit your search to this publication.
Official newspaper of the Seminole Tribe of Florida.
more...less...
Print editions of the Alligator Times, predecessor to the Seminole Tribune, are available in the FSU Special Collections & Archives.
Indian Country Today
Indian Country Today is an independent nonprofit, multimedia news enterprise, covering the Indigenous world, including American Indians and Alaska Natives.
Indian Country Today covers tribes and Native people throughout the Americas.

Los Angeles Times This link opens in a new window
The Los Angeles Times ranks as the largest metropolitan daily newspaper in the country. The Los Angeles Times' editorial department is one of the most formidable in the world—23 foreign, 9 national, five California and six regional bureaus—and the largest news-gathering operation in California
Abbreviation: latimes
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1985–Current
Type: Newspapers and Newswires
Wall Street Journal (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
The Wall Street Journal is the financial newspaper of record. It is an indispensable source for business professionals, providing business and financial news coverage, personal and company profiles, feature reporting, special reports, and regular columns.
Also see: ProQuest (for today's edition back to Jan 8, 2010) Wall Street Journal Online
Also see: Wall Street Journal, Eastern edition

Abbreviation: wsj
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1984–Current
Type: Citation Management, Newspapers and Newswires