Skip to Main Content

Ancient Texts at FSU Libraries

What is considered an ancient text?

Ancient texts in the Special Collections & Archives of Florida State University Libraries include cuneiform tablets, ostraka, and papyrus fragments created between 3,000 BC and 500 AD. More information about each collection is available by clicking on the tabs to the left of the page.

Materials in these collections are available to the FSU community and general public to see upon request in the Special Collections Research Center reading room.  Researchers can browse and download digital images of selected pre-print materials in the Diginole online repository.

If you have further questions about researcher and instructor access to ancient texts, please contact Special Collections & Archives staff at (850) 644-3271 or lib-specialcollections@fsu.edu.

Explore the tabs to the left to learn more about ancient texts in FSU Special Collections & Archives, as well as additional resources for scholars at FSU and beyond.

Ancient Text Resources at FSU Libraries

Special Collections & Archives

Online

Main SCA Website
https://www.lib.fsu.edu/special-collections

Email SCA Staff
lib-specialcollections@fsu.edu

Visit SCA
https://www.lib.fsu.edu/special-collections/visit

FSU Library Catalog
fsu-flvc.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/discovery/search?vid=01FALSC_FSU:Home
Filter results for SCA by selecting "Library > FSU Strozier, Special Coll"

FSU Finding Aid Database
archives.lib.fsu.edu

FSU Digital Library
diginole.lib.fsu.edu/islandora/object/fsu:digital_library

Special Collections & Archives Reading Rooms Fall Hours

SCA Research Center
110 Strozier Library, Main Floor
(850) 644-3271

Monday 10am - 6pm
Tuesday 10am - 6pm
Wednesday 10am - 7pm
Thursday 10am - 6pm
Friday 10am - 5pm

Claude Pepper Library Reading Room
Claude Pepper Center, 636 W Call St
(850) 644-9217

Tuesday 12 - 5pm
Wednesday 12 - 5pm
Thursday 12 - 5pm

Monday and Friday by appointment 

The Florida State University Libraries
Library Hours | Employment | Giving to the Libraries | The FSULib Blog | Library Homepage

Florida State University Libraries | 116 Honors Way | Tallahassee, FL 32306 | (850) 644-2706