Florida State Heritage & University Archives

Talisman (1906-1914)

The Talisman was a student-run literary magazine that was first published in 1906 and then quarterly by the Thalian Literary Society and the Minerva Club, the first two literary debate societies of Florida State College for Women. It ran until 1914, when it was turned into a weekly newspaper called the Florida Flambeau. The Talisman featured short stories, poems, editorials, and campus notes all written by students.

Florida Flambeau (1915-1996)

Florida Flambeau was a student-run newspaper started by Florida State College for Women students in 1915 and published until 1998, when it was merged with FSView to become the FSView & Florida Flambeau.

FSView (1997)

FSView was another student-run newspaper established in 1992 as a rival to the Florida Flambeau. The two eventually merged in 1998.

Distaff (1928-1945)

Distaff was the college literary magazine for Florida State College for Women from 1927 until 1947. The name was then changed to Talaria. Much like The Talisman, Distaff served to showcase the literacy and expressiveness of students and to share news as to the happenings on campus.

Talaria (1947-1951) & Smoke Signals (1951-1970)

Talaria and Smoke Signals were continuations of the college literary magazine, previously the Distaff. It was renamed Talaria in 1947 and then to Smoke Signals in 1951. With the name change to Smoke Signals came a shift of content from literary to satire and humor. The last issue of Smoke Signals in our holdings is from Winter 1970, although publication continued until at least 1985.

Student Handbooks (1949-1960)

Student handbooks were the primary source for all information regarding campus and university life, including but not limited to campus rules, information regarding campus services, and social regulations for men and women. Some handbooks have been digitized, but handbooks for almost every year are available to view at the archives.

Bulletins & Course Catalogs (1880-2024)

Bulletins and course catalogs are published yearly and provide information about campus services, course offerings, and more.

Sports Media Guides (1949-2015)

Media guides are issued at the beginning of every sporting season and include schedules, team and player information, and some photographs. The collection includes a variety of sports and spans the 1940s to the 2010s.