Research in FSU Special Collections & Archives

The Society of American Archivists defines archival silences as "a gap in the historical record resulting from the unintentional or purposeful absence or distortion of documentation." When conducting archival research, it is imperative to take into account the existence of archival silences that can affect the interpretation of documents or leave out certain perspectives entirely, mainly marginalized groups. Keeping these silences in mind and understanding the current limitations facing archives today will allow for more thorough research and careful consideration of your topic.

Archival silences may result from documentation having never existed in the first place, being left out of a collection, or being represented from a biased perspective. Consider the histories of groups with oral traditions or restricted literacy, their histories are either nonphysical or nonexistent and therefore can make up a gap in an archive.

Archives Have the Power to Boost Marginalized Voices | Dominique Luster | TEDxPittsburgh

Online

Main SCA Website
https://www.lib.fsu.edu/special-collections

Email SCA Staff
lib-specialcollections@fsu.edu

Visit SCA
https://www.lib.fsu.edu/special-collections/visit

FSU Library Catalog
fsu-flvc.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/discovery/search?vid=01FALSC_FSU:Home
Filter results for SCA by selecting "Library > FSU Special Collections and Archives"

FSU Finding Aid Database
archives.lib.fsu.edu

FSU Digital Library
https://repository.lib.fsu.edu/islandora/object/fsu:digital_library

Special Collections & Archives Reading Rooms Hours

Summer 2025

SCA Research Center
110 Strozier Library, Main Floor
(850) 644-3271

Monday By Appointment
Tuesday 11am - 5pm
Wednesday 11am - 5pm
Thursday 11am - 5pm
Friday By Appointment

Claude Pepper Library Reading Room
Claude Pepper Center, 636 W Call St
(850) 644-9217 

Monday By Appointment
Tuesday 12pm - 5pm
Wednesday 12pm - 5pm
Thursday 12pm - 5pm
Friday By Appointment