Research in FSU Special Collections & Archives

Understanding the Differences Between OneSearch, DigiNole, and ArchivesSpace

ArchivesSpace is the database used for searching manuscript collections within FSU Special Collections & Archives. Manuscripts are unpublished documents and materials ranging from handwritten letters to silverware. The Society of American Archivists defines a manuscript as "a handwritten document, an unpublished document, or an author’s draft of a book, article, or other work submitted for publication."

OneSearch is the University Libraries’ catalog record of published books. All published materials housed in FSU Special Collections & Archives will be found in this catalog and not in ArchivesSpace.

DigiNole is a digital repository for the University Libraries where you can access digitized copies of books, journal articles, photographs, and much more. This can be a helpful tool for quickly flipping through materials, viewing materials remotely, or previewing materials before requesting to see them in the reading room.

When conducting any kind of research, the inputted search terms dictate the initial results. This section is meant to assist you in generating a more effective search by improving the key words. Below are a few tips you might find helpful.

• Do a quick internet search for synonyms of your keyword, you may find words you had not thought of initially. Inputting each of the synonyms will bring up different results.
• Conduct your research in each of the three catalogs and databases; OneSearch, ArchivesSpace, and DigiNole. This will yield the maximum number of results to select from.
• When researching historic materials, take into consideration the language and vocabulary from the time period.
• Begin your search with broad and succinct searches and then work your way towards more specific searches.

Keywords are what we use to search databases, but rarely does a single keyword produce perfect or complete results. Resources may not be described how you expect, and this is why approaching a search with multiple terms will produce the best outcome. 

When formulating keywords, focus on:

• Identifying the main concepts of your topic or research question
• Brainstorming synonyms and antonyms
• Spelling out any words that are abbreviated
• Avoiding abstract concepts as search terms

Example Search

Research Question: What is the history of the Everglades and how are they a unique ecosystem?

Keywords: Everglades, Florida, swamp, marsh, wetlands, mangroves, ecosystem, flood control, Lake Okeechobee, Florida Bay, cypress, Miami, manatees, alligators, sawgrass, Kissimmee River, biodiversity, coastal prairie, aquifer, environmental restoration

Online

Main SCA Website
https://www.lib.fsu.edu/special-collections

Email SCA Staff
lib-specialcollections@fsu.edu

Visit SCA
https://www.lib.fsu.edu/special-collections/visit

FSU Library Catalog
fsu-flvc.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/discovery/search?vid=01FALSC_FSU:Home
Filter results for SCA by selecting "Library > FSU Special Collections and Archives"

FSU Finding Aid Database
archives.lib.fsu.edu

FSU Digital Library
https://repository.lib.fsu.edu/islandora/object/fsu:digital_library

Special Collections & Archives Reading Rooms Hours

Fall 2024

SCA Research Center
110 Strozier Library, Main Floor
(850) 644-3271

Monday 10am - 6pm
Tuesday 10am - 6pm
Wednesday 10am - 7pm
Thursday 10am - 6pm
Friday 10am - 5pm

Claude Pepper Library Reading Room
Claude Pepper Center, 636 W Call St
(850) 644-9217 

Monday 10am - 5pm
Tuesday 110am - 5pm
Wednesday 10am - 5pm
Thursday 10am - 5pm
Friday 10am - 5pm