Research in FSU Special Collections & Archives

The word archives (usually written with a lowercase “a” and sometimes referred to in the singular, as archive) refers to the permanently valuable records—such as letters, reports, accounts, minute books, draft and final manuscripts, and photographs—of people, businesses, and government. These records are kept because they have continuing value to the creating agency and to other potential users. They are the documentary evidence of past events. They are the facts we use to interpret and understand history. An Archives (often written with a capital “A” and usually, but not always, in the plural) is an organization dedicated to preserving the documentary heritage of a particular group: a city, a province or state, a business, a university, or a community. For example, the National Archives and Records Administration in the United States, Bentley Historical Library at the University of Michigan, The Coca-Cola Company Archives, and The Archives of the Episcopal Church are all responsible for the preservation and management of archives. The word archives is also used to refer to the building or part of a building in which archival materials are kept, i.e., the archival repository itself.

Anyone! The Florida State University Special Collections & Archives (SCA) is open to all FSU students, faculty, and staff as well as the public.You do not need to be affiliated with the university to view Special Collections materials.  Materials held within Special Collections & Archives can be viewed in the SCA Reading Rooms in Strozier Library or the Claude Pepper Library or, if they are already digitized, online in the digital library.

There is a broad range of reasons that one might have for searching or visiting an archive. They include finding information for completing coursework, conducting research at the graduate or professional level, geneological research, and even for reasons such as plain curiosity or personal connection to an item in the collection.

Online

Main SCA Website
https://www.lib.fsu.edu/special-collections

Email SCA Staff
lib-specialcollections@fsu.edu

Visit SCA
https://www.lib.fsu.edu/special-collections/visit

FSU Library Catalog
fsu-flvc.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/discovery/search?vid=01FALSC_FSU:Home
Filter results for SCA by selecting "Library > FSU Special Collections and Archives"

FSU Finding Aid Database
archives.lib.fsu.edu

FSU Digital Library
https://repository.lib.fsu.edu/islandora/object/fsu:digital_library

Special Collections & Archives Reading Rooms Hours

Fall 2024

SCA Research Center
110 Strozier Library, Main Floor
(850) 644-3271

Monday 10am - 6pm
Tuesday 10am - 6pm
Wednesday 10am - 7pm
Thursday 10am - 6pm
Friday 10am - 5pm

Claude Pepper Library Reading Room
Claude Pepper Center, 636 W Call St
(850) 644-9217 

Monday 10am - 5pm
Tuesday 110am - 5pm
Wednesday 10am - 5pm
Thursday 10am - 5pm
Friday 10am - 5pm