Painted in Mexico, 1700-1790 by Ilona Katzew (Editor); Luisa Elena Alcalá (Contribution by); Jaime Cuadriello (Contribution by); Paula Mues Orts (Contribution by); Ronda Kasl (Contribution by)
Call Number: ND253 .P35 2017
Publication Date: 2017-10-17
This beautiful and groundbreaking book provides the first in-depth reassessment of 18th-century Mexican painting, making accessible an extraordinary body of images, alongside compelling new scholarship. This stunning volume represents the first serious effort to reposition the history of 18th-century Mexican painting, a highly vibrant period marked by major stylistic changes and the invention of new iconographies. Exquisitely illustrated with newly commissioned photography of never-before-published artworks, the book provides a broad view of the connections of Mexican painting with transatlantic artistic trends and emphasizes its own internal developments and remarkable pictorial output. During this time painters were increasingly asked to create mural-size paintings to cover the walls of sacristies, choirs, staircases, cloisters, and university halls among others. Significantly, the same artists also produced portraits, casta paintings (depictions of racial mixing), folding screens, and finely rendered devotional images, attesting to their extraordinary versatility. Authored by leading experts in the field, the book's essays address the tradition and innovation of Mexican painting, the mobility of pictures within and outside the viceroyalty, the political role of images, and the emphasis on ornamentation. Rounding out this volume are over 130 catalogue entries that offer new and authoritative interpretations.
Picturing Cuba: Art Culture, and Identity on the Island and in the Diaspora by Jorge Duany (Editor)
Call Number: NX525.A1 P53 2019
Publication Date: 2019-10-01
Picturing Cuba explores the evolution of Cuban visual art and its links to cubanía, or Cuban cultural identity. Featuring artwork from the Spanish colonial, republican, and postrevolutionary periods of Cuban history, as well as the contemporary diaspora, these richly illustrated essays trace the creation of Cuban art through shifting political, social, and cultural circumstances.Contributors examine colonial-era lithographs of Cuba's landscape, architecture, people, and customs that portrayed the island as an exotic, tropical location. They show how the avant-garde painters of the vanguardia, or Havana School, wrestled with the significance of the island's African and indigenous roots, and they also highlight subversive photography that depicts the harsh realities of life after the Cuban Revolution. They explore art created by the first generation of postrevolutionary exiles, which reflects a new identity, and expresses the sense of displacement experienced by Cubans who resettled in another country. A concluding chapter evaluates contemporary attitudes toward collecting and exhibiting post-revolutionary Cuban art in the United States. Encompassing works by Cubans on the island, in exile, and born in America, this volume delves into defining moments in Cuban art across three centuries, offering a kaleidoscopic view of the island's people, culture, and history.
Art in Latin America: the modern era, 1820-1980 by Dawn Ades (Editor); L. Guy. Brett (Contribution by); Stanton L. Catlin (Contribution by); Rosemary O'Neill (Contribution by)
Call Number: N 6502.4 .A3 1989
Publication Date: 1990-09-10
Discusses Latin American art of the nineteenth and twentieth centuries, detailing the indigenous, colonial, post-colonial, and political influences.
The Arts of Spain: Iberia and Latin America 1450-1700 by Marjorie Trusted
Call Number: N 7104 .T78 2007
Publication Date: 2007-09-11
This beautifully illustrated book opens up the great age of Spanish and Portuguese sculpture, painting, architecture, and the decorative arts. A dazzling array of arts from the Peninsula and Hispanic America of the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries, from the time of the Reconquest of Granada to the decline of the Habsburg dynasty in Spain, is presented here. The book also discusses Spain's cultural relationships with the rest of Europe, particularly Britain, in the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries and explores the ambivalent ways in which Spanish art was viewed and received. Often prejudiced ideas about Spanish Catholicism and culture led to a biased understanding of Iberian arts. This view also sometimes affected the Spaniards' own view of their arts and traditions, as well as the way in which the art of Spain is perceived today by others. This landmark publication explores how works of art produced in Spain and Portugal relate to other European traditions through themes such as the role of the church, secular art, the heritage of Islam and Judaism, and trade and patronage. The variety of artworks examined in context within each chapter is impressive and eclectic, ranging from paintings, sculpture, books, and engravings to tapestries, furnishings, ceramics, and architecture. Marjorie Trusted's accessible but authoritative text, works of art from Spain, Portugal, and Hispanic America, and maps and a timeline linking Hispanic art and culture with contemporary events elsewhere make this an invaluable survey of Hispanic art during its golden age.
Art of Colonial Latin America by Gauvin Alexander Bailey; Angus Hyland (Designed by); Julia MacKenzie (Editor); Hoop Design (Designed by)
Call Number: N 6502.2 .B35 2005
Publication Date: 2005-01-19
A lively account of the interaction between European and indigenous artists that took place during more than 300 years of Spanish and Portuguese colonial influence in Latin America (c.1492–1820). The book offers a fascinating insight into viceregal, missionary and civic architecture, as well as painting, sculpture and such ‘minor arts’ as furniture, textiles and ceramics. This is a long-awaited book on an increasingly popular subject and includes many previously unillustrated works
Twentieth-Century Art of Latin America by Jacqueline Barnitz
Call Number: N 6502.5 .B36 2001
Publication Date: 2001-03-15
The twentieth-century art of Latin America is art in the western tradition, and its leading figures--Wifredo Lam, Roberto Matta, Diego Rivera, Joaquín Torres-García, to name only a few--have achieved international stature. Yet much of the writing about this art has offered either a victimized view of an art tradition dominated by foreign models or a romanticized view of what Latin American art should be. This pathfinding book, by contrast, seeks not to "invent" Latin American art but to look at it from the points of view of its own artists and critics. Drawing on some forty years of studying and teaching Latin American art, Jacqueline Barnitz surveys the major currents and artists of the twentieth century in Mexico, the Caribbean, and South America (including Brazil). She progresses chronologically from modernismo and the break with nineteenth-century academic art to some of the trends of the 1980s, setting each movement within its historical and cultural contexts. This grand survey of modern Latin American art will thus be the essential guide to a vibrant art tradition, as well as a vital teaching tool. Lavishly illustrated with color and black-and-white reproductions of major works, it will be useful to artists, collectors, historians, writers, and social scientists, as well as art historians. Jacqueline Barnitz is Professor of Modern Latin American Art at the University of Texas at Austin.
The Arts in Latin America, 1492-1820 by Joseph J. Rishel
Call Number: N 6502 .A79 2006
Publication Date: 2006-11-06
A magnificent survey of the rich and varied arts in Latin America from 1492 to the end of the colonial era Essays by Gauvin Alexander Bailey, Clara Bargellini, Dilys E. Blum, Elizabeth Hill Boone, Marcus Burke, Mitchell A. Codding, Thomas B. F. Cummins, Cristina Esteras Martín, M. Concepción García Sáiz, Ilona Katzew, Adrian Locke, Gridley McKim-Smith, Alfonso Ortiz Crespo, Jorge F. Rivas P., Nuno Senos, Edward J. Sullivan, and Marjorie Trusted. By the end of the 16th century, Europe, Africa, and Asia were connected to North and South America via a vast network of complex trade routes. This led, in turn, to dynamic cultural exchanges between these continents and a proliferation of diverse art forms in Latin America. This monumental book transcends geographic boundaries and explores the history of the confluence of styles, materials, and techniques among Europe, Africa, Asia, and the Americas through the end of the colonial era--a period marked by the independence movements, the formation of national states, and the rise of academic art. Written by distinguished international scholars, essays cover a full range of topics, including city planning, iconography in painting and sculpture, East-West connections, the power of images, and the role of the artist. Beautifully illustrated with over 450 works--many published for the first time--this book presents a spectacular selection of decorative arts, textiles, silver, sculpture, painting, and furniture. Scholarly entries on some three hundred works highlight the various cultural influences and differences throughout this vast region. This groundbreaking book also includes an illustrated chronology, informative maps, and an exhaustive bibliography and is sure to set a new standard in the field of Latin American studies.
Dimensions of the Americas: art and social change in Latin America and the United States by Shifra M. Goldman
Call Number: N 6501 .G64 1994
Publication Date: 1995-01-01
Acclaimed art historian Shifra Goldman here provides the first overview of the social history of modern and contemporary Latin American and Latino art. Long needed in the field of art history, this collection of thirty-three essays focuses on Latin American artists throughout Mexico, Central and South America, the Caribbean, and the United States. Goldman's extensive introduction provides an up-to-date chronology of modern Latin American art; a history of "social art history" in the United States; and synopses of recent theoretical and historical writings by major scholars from Mexico, Cuba, Brazil, Peru, Uruguay, Chile, and the United States. In her essays, Goldman discusses a vast array of topics including: the influence of the Mexican muralists on the American continent; the political and artistic significance of poster art and printmaking in Cuba, Puerto Rico, and among Chicanos; the role of women artists such as Guatemalan painter Isabel Ruiz; and the increasingly important role of politics and multinational businesses in the art world of the 1970s and 1980s. She explores the reception of Latin American and Latino art in the United States, focusing on major historical exhibits as well as on exhibits by artists such as Chilean Alfredo Jaar and Argentinian Leandro Katz. Finally, she examines the significance of nationalist and ethnic themes in Latin American and Latino art. Written in a straightforward style equally accessible to specialists, students, and general audiences, this book will become essential reading for anyone interested in understanding the importance of Latin American art and the complex dynamic shaping it.
The Encyclopedia of Latin American and Caribbean Art by Jane Turner (Editor)
Call Number: REF N 6502 .E53 1999
Publication Date: 2002-01-01
The nearly 1,400 articles in this volume cover all the major artistic developments in Central and South America and the Caribbean from the colonial period to the present. From 16th-century Spanish colonial architects such as Fray Andres San Miguel to European explorers such as Alexander vonHumboldt to contemporary artists such as Debora Arango, the entries chart the adaptations of European artistic traditions and the evolution of individual national cultures.
Art in Latin America by Iria Candela
Call Number: N6502.5 .C3613 2013
Publication Date: 2013-11-05
This is the first book to provide a thorough exploration of Latin American art since 1990, a period during which the Latin American art scene has grown in importance and influence. Iria Candela explains the importance of contemporary art in this complex and diverse region, and provides a detailed study of new and unconventional art practices. Her original, in-depth interpretation of more than 100 works in a wide variety of media focuses on disruptive and politically committed works that challenge traditional forms and recognize the need to strengthen freedom of expression and democratization in Latin America. Among the Latin American - born or - based artists featured are Gabriel Orozco, Doris Salcedo, Ernesto Neto, Francis Alÿs, Jorge Macchi, Santiago Sierra, Carlos Garaicoa, and Allora & Calzadilla.
Art and Empire by Mitchell A. Brown
Call Number: NX562 .B76 2019
Publication Date: 2019-06-30
-Published to accompany an exhibition at the San Diego Museum of Art from 18 May, 2019 to September 2, 2019 Spain's Golden Age may be defined as the extraordinary moment when the visual arts, architecture, literature, and music all reached unprecedented heights. Featuring a diverse selection of more than 100 outstanding works produced by leading artists from Spain and its global territories, Art & Empire: The Golden Age of Spain is the first exhibition in the United States (at the San Diego Museum of Art) to expand the notion of 'Golden Age' to include the Hispanic world beyond the shores of the Iberian Peninsula. Such far-flung Spanish-controlled centers as Antwerp, Naples, Mexico, Lima, and the Philippines are represented by paintings, sculpture and decorative arts of astounding quality and variety from the pivotal years of about 1660 to 1750. Artists featured in the exhibition include Diego Velazquez, Peter Paul Rubens, Bartolom Esteban Murillo, Francisco de Zurbaran, Jusepe de Ribera, El Greco, Juan de Valdas Leal, Juan Sanchez Cotan, and many more. This exhibition also marks the first time in the Museum's history that all five of the Spanish masters represented on the Museum's building fac ade Velazquez, Murillo, Zurbaran, Ribera and El Greco will be shown together at the Museum. Art & Empire: The Golden Age of Spain features more than 100 works organized into five sections including The Courtly Image: Portraiture in the Hispanic World; The Birth of Naturalism; Art in the Service of Faith; Splendors of Daily Life; and Global Materials and Trade, and represent more than 10 countries, including Belgium, Italy, Mexico, Peru and the Philippines.
Hispanic Art in the United States: thirty contemporary painters and sculptors. by John Beardsley; Jane Livingston; Octavio Paz Lozano
Call Number: N 6538 .H58 B43 1987
Publication Date: 1987-05-01
Santos and Saints: the religious folk art of Hispanic New Mexico by Thomas J. Steele
Call Number: N7910.N6 S8 1994
Publication Date: 1994-12-01
Santos and Saints is a new book, though the title has been around for over twenty years. This new edition provides greater detail and newly available information to illustrate the santero's art and to describe the tradition roles of santos in both religious and secular life. Santos and Saints has served for two decades as the best available guide to the religious folk art of New Mexico. In its new edition, it has become even more valuable to scholars and general readers alike.
Spanish Art in America by anne mayagoitia (Translator)
Call Number: NX562.A1 S63 2016
Publication Date: 2017-03-31
Showcases the wealth of Spanish art in American collections, ranging from medieval to renaissance to contemporary art- Highlights the collections of seventeen museums across the country, including the Hispanic Society of America, the Meadows Museum in Dallas, the San Diego Museum of Art, the Museum of Fine Arts in Boston, and the Museum of Modern Art in New York, among others The American passion for collecting Spanish art has resulted in superb collections in a wide number of museums from the east to the west coast. This beautifully photographed, oversized book discusses each collection in separate chapters, exploring the background to the collections and how they were acquired. The text addresses the economic as well as cultural frameworks for acquisitions, which expanded significantly in the second half of the 19th century with the increasing wealth of industrial America. Works in these collections include outstanding paintings by the great Golden Age masters, including Zurbaran, Murillo, Velazquez, El Greco, and Goya, and 20th century masterpieces by Dali, Mir , Picasso, Gris, Zuloaga, and Sorolla. Curators from the collections and independent scholars contributed the text, expanding our understanding of the artists, their works, and the cultural richness they represent.
Lexikon of the Hispanic Baroque: Transatlantic Exchange and Transformation by Evonne Levy (Editor); Kenneth Mills (Editor)
Call Number: CB 226 .L49 2013
Publication Date: 2014-01-06
Over the course of some two centuries following the conquests and consolidations of Spanish rule in the Americas during the late fifteenth and early sixteenth centuries--the period designated as the Baroque--new cultural forms sprang from the cross-fertilization of Spanish, Amerindian, and African traditions. This dynamism of motion, relocation, and mutation changed things not only in Spanish America, but also in Spain, creating a transatlantic Hispanic world with new understandings of personhood, place, foodstuffs, music, animals, ownership, money and objects of value, beauty, human nature, divinity and the sacred, cultural proclivities--a whole lexikon of things in motion, variation, and relation to one another. Featuring the most creative thinking by the foremost scholars across a number of disciplines, the Lexikon of the Hispanic Baroque is a uniquely wide-ranging and sustained exploration of the profound cultural transfers and transformations that define the transatlantic Spanish world in the Baroque era. Pairs of authors--one treating the peninsular Spanish kingdoms, the other those of the Americas--provocatively investigate over forty key concepts, ranging from material objects to metaphysical notions. Illuminating difference as much as complementarity, departure as much as continuity, the book captures a dynamic universe of meanings in the various midst of its own re-creations. The Lexikon of the Hispanic Baroque joins leading work in a number of intersecting fields and will fire new research--it is the indispensible starting point for all serious scholars of the early modern Spanish world.
Diego Rivera: artist and muralist by Megan Schoeneberger; Curt Germundson (Consultant Editor); Megan Schoenberger
Call Number: JUV ND 259 .R5 S36 2006
Publication Date: 2006-01-01
Provides an introduction to the life and biography of Diego Rivera, the Hispanic man who showed his love for art and Mexico through his numerous paintings and murals.
Transactions: contemporary Latin American and Latino art by Stephanie Hanor (Editor, Text by); Vik Muniz (Artist)
Call Number: N 6538 .H58 T73 2006
Publication Date: 2006-10-15
Transactions ISBN 0-934418-65-9 / 978-0-934418-65-2 Hardcover, 9 x 12 in. / 176 pgs / 100 color and 15 b&w. / U.S. $49.95 CDN $60.00 October / Art
Art in New Mexico, 1900-1945: paths to Taos and Santa Fe by Charles C. Eldredge; Julie Schimmel; William H. Truettner
Call Number: N 6530 .N6 E4 1986
Publication Date: 1986-02-01
"Exhibition held at National Museum of American Art, Smithsonian Institution, Washington, D.C., 7 Mar.-15 June 1986 and others."
In the Shadow of Velázquez by Jonathan Brown
Call Number: N 7483 .B76 A5 2014
Publication Date: 2014-07-08
In this lucid, witty book, the eminent art historian Jonathan Brown examines links between his personal life and his study of Hispanic art of the Golden Age. His adventures are offered as a model for understanding how art history is shaped by life experiences, and he describes the influence of his parents, Jean and Leonard Brown, noted collectors of documentation of 20th-century avant-garde movements.His turn to research on the Golden Age of Spanish art was motivated by a year in Madrid, 1958-59. Art history in Spain was modeled on the policies of the Franco regime, and Brown sought to find different ways to interpret Spanish painting. His approach is demonstrated by fresh insight into painters, including Velázquez. A new interpretation of Las Meninas is proposed and the perils of attribution are examined. Later in his career, Brown began to study the transformation of Spanish art in the Americas. The book originated as a series of six lectures delivered at the Museo Nacional del Prado in 2012.
Tamayo: the New York years by Carmen Ramos
Call Number: N6559.T36 A4 2017
Publication Date: 2017-11-21
Mexican American artist Rufino Tamayo (1899-1991) is best known for his boldy-colored, semi-abstract paintings. This is the first volume to focus on Tamayo's work during his time in New York City, where he lived from the late 1920s to 1949, at a time of unparalleled transatlantic cross-cultural exchange. Tamayo: The New York Years offers a unique opportunity to trace his artistic development through sixty works--from early woodcuts and bold canvasses, through paintings depicting the modern city, to his final dream-like, celestial-themed compositions. E. Carmen Ramos is the curator of Latino art at the Smithsonian American Art Museum.
English Is Broken Here: notes on cultural fusion in the Americas by Coco Fusco
Call Number: E184.S75 F88 1995
Publication Date: 1995-05-01
Essays, performance scripts, and interviews by one of America's emerging art critics.
Roberto de la Selva: Modern Mexican masterpieces in wood by Marion Oettinger (Editor, Introduction by); Katherine Crawford Luber (Foreword by); Susan Toomey Frost (Featuring); Peggy Tenison (Photographer)
Call Number: NK9798.S4 A4 2016
Publication Date: 2016-01-28
Images of the Spirit by Graciela Iturbide; Alfredo Lopez Austin (Epilogue by); Roberto Tejada (Preface by)
Call Number: TR 654 .I867 1996
Publication Date: 1996-11-29
Graciela Iturbide makes subtle yet powerful photographs that blend evocative scenes, primarily the cultures of her native Mexico, with her own deeply personal vision. Images of the Spirit, the first major publication of Iturbide's photography, demonstrates how in her dreamlike encounters with what may first appear to be ordinary, she perceives the surreal and the marvelous. Iturbide's work is a mixture of history, lyricism, and portraiture, sometimes informed by the art of Mexico's photographic master, Manuel Álvarez Bravo. In Iturbide's photographs, she combines the story of a culture in transition with issues of identity, diversity, and selfhood. As the poet and critic Roberto Tejada points out in his Preface, "Sidelong Mirrors and Invisible Masks," Iturbide's photographs "underline time and again the rift between belonging and citizenship, rendered often against a backdrop of Mexican icons or heroes--be it the frail displacement of a rural campesino in Puebla, or the triumph of locals in East Los Angeles." Tejada who has lived in Mexico for the last ten years, provides a trenchant illumination of this Mexican photographer's use of her country's lore and stories of conquest, it's pre-Hispanic past, its indigenous visual vocabulary, and its centuries of tradition and ceremony, often infused with Christian iconography. Writer and scholar Alfredo Lopez Austin is an anthropologist studying Latin American cultures. In his series of letters to Iturbide, which form the poetic Epilogue to Images of the Spirit, he envisions her "on a promontory set over the world in such a way as to see from one ocean to the other, to approach the vault of heaven and to surpass the artificial boundaries." Reflecting on the breadth of her expansive, insightful mind while invoking many narrative voices and identities drawn from Mexico's richly vibrant mythologies, Lopez Austin shows us how Iturbide's photographs mirror the artist herself. Through his writing Iturbide is revealed as observer, searcher, affirmer. Images of the Spirit is produced at the highest level of the printer's art, enhancing the resonance of Iturbide's imagery, and the luminosity of her vision. Iturbide's compassion and dedication to her native land and its people make Images of the Spirit a power evocation of the underlying forces inspiring the complex, diverse, and ever-changing cultural landscape of Mexico. This aperture publication accompanies a traveling exhibition that opened at the Philadelphia Museum of Art.