Whether you get your news information from your morning print newspaper or from the stories you find shared on social media, managing and interpreting news media is essential for keeping informed of world events, local news, and everything else you need to participate in your community.
This guide organizes the many news sources available through FSU Libraries. Since news is fundamentally organized by date and location, when it was published and where, so too are the databases and links on this guide.
Read Critically: We may think of newspapers as sources of objective reporting, but they are so much more complex! Newspapers record events, but they do so in a way that reflects the concerns, opinions, and debates of their communities, which may be local, national, or international. Furthermore, a newspaper is also a business, a platform for advertisements, and a commodity for sale. Thus, while we can rely on newspapers to relay the latest news of its time and place, that news is a filtered version of everything that happened, framed in such a way to meet both the goals of the paper as a business and to capture the attention and interest of a target audience of readers.
Search Tip #1: Looking for a specific newspaper or magazine? Search the title in OneSearch on the FSU Libraries homepage. If the desired newspaper doesn't come up right away, try filtering your results by Resource Type to include only Journals. Print and electronic options will be presented when available.
Search Tip #2: Want to see all news sources from a particular city, state, or country available through the FSU Libraries? Use OneSearch on the homepage to search for the desired location (e.g. "Chicago," "Florida," "Brazil") and add the keyword "Newspapers" to your search.
For additional sources of Florida news, both current and historical, select Florida News, Past & Present from the menu.
Here are some of our most heavily used databases with recent national and international news coverage. For more of the latest news, select Today's News from the menu.
Nexis Uni offers a simple, intuitive research experience with flexible search options and tools to help guide students through common research tasks. Nexis Uni offers the same trusted content collection of more than 15,000 news, legal and business sources that students and librarians alike have come to expect from LexisNexis, while also providing a better research experience.
Our most frequently searched newspaper titles include:
Here are some of our most heavily used databases of historical news coverage. For a more comprehensive list of our historical newspaper collections, select Historical News -- United States or World -- in the menu.
Searchable digital facsimiles of thousands of newspaper titles from all 50 states. With eyewitness reporting, editorials, letters, advertisements, obituaries and much more, this collection chronicles the evolution of American culture and daily life from the colonial era to the early twentieth century, with especially good coverage of the nineteenth century. Note: FSU has access to African American Newspapers, Series 1; Caribbean Newspapers, Series 1; Early American Newspapers, Series 1: From Colonies to Nation; Series 2: The New Republic; Series 3: From Farm to City; Series 4: The Rise of Industry; Series 5: An Emerging World Power; Series 12: The Specialized Press.
Below are databases dedicated to a single newspaper.
Major revisions and updates by Adam Beauchamp in 2018 and 2023. Lists of microfilm newspapers compiled by Trip Wyckoff.
Except where otherwise noted, the content in this guide is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.
© Florida State University Libraries | 116 Honors Way | Tallahassee, FL 32306 | (850) 644-2706
