Gun Violence and Gun Control

From the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives. Links to "Gun Control Act (18 U.S.C Chapter 44)" and "
National Firearms Act (26 U.S.C. Chapter 53)"

From the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives.

See a comparison of state laws for all 50 states

Covers the following topics: Licenses for purchasing or owning firearms; Firearm registration; Background checks for private sales; Open carry rules; Concealed carry rules; Magazine limits for firearms; Stand your ground laws; & People prohibited from possessing firearms

Repository of Historical Gun Laws, a searchable database of gun laws from the medieval age to 1776 in England and from the colonial era to the middle of the twentieth century in the United States.

Provides the data necessary to evaluate the effectiveness of various firearm laws. The law categories include Ammunition Regulations; Assault Weapons and Large-Capacity Magazines; Background Checks; Buyer Regulations; Child Access Prevention; Concealed Carry Permitting; Dealer Regulations; Domestic Violence; Gun Trafficking; Immunity; Possession Regulations; Preemption; Prohibitions for High-Risk Gun Possession

On the database landing page, search the "Gun Regulation and Legislation" collection for the Supreme Court Briefs. For policy research, look for "CRS Reports" within the collection.

Oyez (pronounced OH-yay)—a free law project from Cornell’s Legal Information Institute (LII), Justia, and Chicago-Kent College of Law—is a multimedia archive devoted to making the Supreme Court of the United States accessible to everyone.

A Supreme Court ruling that the 14th Amendment's Due Process and Equal Protection Clauses applied only to state action, and not to violations of civil rights by individual citizens.

A Supreme Court ruling that determined that Fourth Amendment protections do not apply to searches and seizures by United States agents of property owned by a nonresident alien in a foreign country.

The Supreme Court reversed the district court, holding that the Second Amendment does not guarantee an individual the right to keep and bear a sawed-off double-barrel shotgun.

A decision by the United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit holding that the Second Amendment to the United States Constitution guarantees individuals the right to bear arms. The case involved a challenge to the Constitutionality of 18 U.S.C. § 922(g)(8)(C)(ii), a federal statute that prohibited the transportation of firearms or ammunition in interstate commerce by persons subject to a court order whose explicit terms prohibits the use of physical force against an intimate partner or child.

The Supreme Court's decision that the Second Amendment to the Constitution protects an individual's right to possess a firearm, irrespective of service in the militia, and to use that arm for traditionally lawful purposes.

The Due Process Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment extends the Second Amendment’s right to keep and bear arms to the states, at least for traditional, lawful purposes such as self-defense.

The State of Ohio, sought review of a judgment from the Court of Appeals for Cuyahoga County (Ohio), which reversed a trial court decision and granted summary judgment to appellee city. It held that R.C. 9.68 was not a general law, that it limited municipalities' home rule powers under Ohio Const. art. XVIII, § 3, and that it violated the separation of powers doctrine.

The Supreme Court decided that the amendment confers a right to bear arms for self-defense, which is as important outside the home as inside.

A United States Supreme Court case in which the Court held a court-ordered transfer of a felon's lawfully owned firearms from government custody to a third party is not barred by §922(g) if the court is satisfied that the recipient will not give the felon control over the firearms, so that he could either use them or direct their use.