Research Guides: Interdisciplinary Social Sciences: Urban and Regional Planning

Finding Urban & Regional Planning Articles

Urban Studies & Planning Collection This link opens in a new window
This collection includes 33 peer-reviewed journals published by Sage and participating societies, encompassing over 55,000 articles.
Abbreviation: urpc
Vendor: Sage Publishing
Coverage: 1999–Current
Subjects: Anthropology, Demography and Population Studies, Economics, Environmental Sciences, Geography, Political Science, Public Administration and Policy, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: E-Journal Collections
PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) Index provides materials on public affairs from 1972 to date. Includes articles, books, conference proceedings, government documents, book chapters, and statistical directories about public affairs. Contains a variety of international sources including journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more.
Subject coverage:
Administration of justice
Agriculture, forestry and fishing
Banking and finance
Business and service sector
Culture and religion
Economic conditions
Education
Energy resources and policy
Environment
Government
Health conditions
Human rights
International Relations
Labor conditions and policy
Law and ethics
Manufacturing and industry
Media and communications
Military and defense policy
Politics
Population and demographics
Science and technology
Social conditions
Trade
Transportation

Abbreviation: pais
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1972–Current
Subjects: International Affairs, Political Science, Urban and Regional Planning, Public Health, Asian Studies, Latin American & Caribbean Studies, Middle Eastern Studies, Russian & Eastern European Studies
Type: E-Book Collections, E-Journal Collections, Indexes / Catalogs
Social Science Premium Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
This collection provides access to databases covering the international literature in the social sciences, including politics, sociology, social services, anthropology, criminology and education. Featured databases include IBSS, PAIS and Sociological Abstracts. Together, they provide abstracts, indexing and full-text coverage of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, working papers and more, including deep indexing and full text from over 1000 important social science journals
Abbreviation: sspc
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1871–Current
Subjects: *General / Multi-Subject, Anthropology, Art, Art Education, Art Therapy, Communication, Criminology and Criminal Justice, Demography and Population Studies, Early Childhood Education, Economics, Education, Educational Leadership and Policy Studies, Educational Psychology, Exceptional Student Education, Higher Education, Hospitality, Human Development & Family Science, Political Science, Psychology, Public Administration and Policy, Public Health, Public Safety and Security, Social Work, Sociocultural and International Education, Sociology, Sport Psychology, Teacher Education, Urban and Regional Planning, Women's and Gender Studies
Type: Indexes / Catalogs

For the full list of databases relevant to the URP, click here.

PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) Index provides materials on public affairs from 1972 to date. Includes articles, books, conference proceedings, government documents, book chapters, and statistical directories about public affairs. Contains a variety of international sources including journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more.
Subject coverage:
Administration of justice
Agriculture, forestry and fishing
Banking and finance
Business and service sector
Culture and religion
Economic conditions
Education
Energy resources and policy
Environment
Government
Health conditions
Human rights
International Relations
Labor conditions and policy
Law and ethics
Manufacturing and industry
Media and communications
Military and defense policy
Politics
Population and demographics
Science and technology
Social conditions
Trade
Transportation

Abbreviation: pais
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1972–Current
Subjects: International Affairs, Political Science, Urban and Regional Planning, Public Health, Asian Studies, Latin American & Caribbean Studies, Middle Eastern Studies, Russian & Eastern European Studies
Type: E-Book Collections, E-Journal Collections, Indexes / Catalogs
Policy File Index This link opens in a new window
Policy File Index includes access to timely, updated information from over 350 public policy think tanks, nongovernmental organizations, research institutes, university centers, advocacy groups, and other entities.
Abbreviation: pqpfi
Vendor: ProQuest
Subjects: Economics, International Affairs, Political Science, Public Administration and Policy
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) This link opens in a new window
Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) is the most comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. It publishes a wide range of scholarship from 1991 onward that includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs. CIAO is also a widely-recognized source for teaching materials including original case studies written by leading international affairs experts, course packs of background readings for history and political science classes, and special features like the analysis of a bin Laden recruitment tape with video. All sections of CIAO are updated monthly.
Abbreviation: ciaonet
Vendor: Columbia University Press
Coverage: 1991–Current
Subjects: Asian Studies, International Affairs, Latin American & Caribbean Studies, Middle Eastern Studies, Political Science, Russian & Eastern European Studies, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
Congressional Publications (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Congressional Publications provides a comprehensive view of congressional action and the behind-the-scenes activity involved in crafting U.S. legislation. It includes the Congressional Research Digital Collection (CRDC), Committee Prints and CRS Reports (1824–Present), Statutes at Large (1789–present), and the Serial Set (1789–1969), and Hearings (1824-1979, 1980-2003). Includes the Federal Register & Political News. Note that not all hearings have full-text transcripts.
Tutorials:
ProQuest Congressional Publications LibGuide

Abbreviation: conguni
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1789–Current
Subjects: History, Law, Political Science, Public Administration and Policy, Public Safety and Security
Type: Government Publications
OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window
OECD iLibrary is the online library of the OECD, the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development. Everything published by the OECD (books, journals, series, working papers, databases) is available online on OECD. OECD iLibrary also contains content published by the International Energy Agency (IEA), the Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA), the OECD Development Centre, PISA (Programme for International Student Assessment), and the International Transport Forum (ITF). OECD iLibrary presents all content so users can find - and cite - tables and databases as easily as articles or chapters in any available format: PDF, WEB, XLS, ActiveChart, DATA, ePUB, READ.
Tutorials:
User Guide

Subjects include:
Agriculture and Food
Development
Economics
Education
Employment
Energy
Environment
Finance and Investment
Governance
Industry and Services
Nuclear Energy
Science and Technology
Social Issues/Migration/Health
Taxation
Trade
Transport
Urban, Rural and Regional Development

Abbreviation: sourceoecd
Vendor: OECD
Subjects: Anthropology, Art, Business, Communication, Criminology and Criminal Justice, Demography and Population Studies, Economics, Educational Leadership and Policy Studies, Geography, Higher Education, Human Development & Family Science, Information Studies, International Affairs, Law, Music Education, Political Science, Psychology, Public Administration and Policy, Public Health, Retail Entrepreneurship, Sociocultural and International Education, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: Datasets / Statistics, Directories, E-Book Collections, E-Journal Collections

For the full list of databases relevant to the URP, click here.

America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic database covering the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. America: History and Life is an index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With indexing for 1,700 journals from as far back as 1910.
Abbreviation: americahistlife
Vendor: EBSCO
Coverage: 1910–Current
Subjects: African-American Studies, History, Women's and Gender Studies
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new window
The Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals offers a comprehensive listing of journal articles on architecture and design, including bibliographic descriptions on subjects such as the history and practice of architecture, landscape architecture, city planning, historic preservation, and interior design and decoration.
Set up a My Research Account in ProQuest to save documents, searches, alerts and more (go to the top right corner of any ProQuest database)

Abbreviation: avery
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1865–Current
Subjects: Architecture, Art History, Interior Design, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as open-access full text for more than 4,700 records.
Abbreviation: green
Vendor: EBSCO
Coverage: 1898–Current
Subjects: Environmental Sciences, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a digital library of academic content in many formats and disciplines. The collections include top peer-reviewed scholarly journals as well as respected literary journals, academic monographs, research reports from trusted institutes, and diverse primary sources. FSU has access to JSTOR’s Archive, Primary Sources, and Global Plants collections.
Tutorials:
JSTOR on YouTube
How to search (04:20)
Primary Source Collection: 19th-Century British Pamphlets (00:51)

Abbreviation: jstor
Vendor: JSTOR
Coverage: 1665–Current
Subjects: Arts Administration, Art History, *General / Multi-Subject
Type: E-Book Collections, E-Journal Collections
North American City Reports This link opens in a new window
North American City Reports preserves the full text of surveys, budgets, statistical records, case studies, planning documents, training manuals, policy guidelines, reports, and news from the five hundred largest cities in North America. It also includes select materials from hundreds of related agencies and non-governmental organizations.
Abbreviation: pcnacr
Vendor: Coherent Digital
Subjects: Demography and Population Studies, Economics, Geography, International Affairs, Law, Political Science, Public Health, Statistics, Urban and Regional Planning, Women's and Gender Studies
Type: Government Publications, Reports
PolicyMap This link opens in a new window
PolicyMap is a U.S. national data and mapping tool that combines a curated, comprehensive geographic data library with simple, robust mapping and analytics tools. University faculty, researchers, and students use it to create compelling maps of up to five layers, export trend charts with key benchmarks, download data for use in other tools, generate on-the-fly reports and upload your own data to view it with ours.
Note: create or sign in to your personal user account to access PolicyMap.
Abbreviation: pcmap
Vendor: PolicyMap
Subjects: Communication, Criminology and Criminal Justice, Demography and Population Studies, Finance, Food, Geography, Law, Political Science, Public Health, Public Safety and Security, Social Work, Statistics, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: Datasets / Statistics, Directories, Government Publications, Historical / Primary Sources, Maps
Politics in America This link opens in a new window
This definitive guide to the members of the 114th Congress includes not just their biographies and voting records but also detailed descriptions and histories of the districts they represent.
Abbreviation: cqpa
Vendor: SAGE Publishing
Subjects: Political Science
Type: Biographies, Maps
Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista is a leading provider of market and consumer data. Statista consolidates statistical data on over 80,000 topics from more than 22,500 sources.
Abbreviation: stati
Vendor: Statista
Subjects: Business, Communication, Demography and Population Studies, Economics, Hospitality, Marketing, Public Health, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: Datasets / Statistics
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science includes Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Links to some full text.
Tutorials:
Web of Science LibGuide

Abbreviation: webofsci
Vendor: Clarivate Analytics
Subjects: *General Science, *General / Multi-Subject, Engineering
Type: Citation Management, Indexes / Catalogs

Urban & Regional Planning Data Sources by Topic

[Domestic]

American Housing Survey
Dates back to 1973. sponsored by the Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) and conducted by the U.S. Census Bureau. The survey is the most comprehensive national housing survey in the United States.
Eviction Lab
From Princeton University. Provides data, interactive tools, and research to help neighbors and policymakers understand the eviction crisis.
HUD's Consolidated Planning/CHAS Data
Each year, the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) receives custom tabulations of American Community Survey (ACS) data from the U.S. Census Bureau. These data, known as the "CHAS" data (Comprehensive Housing Affordability Strategy), demonstrate the extent of housing problems and housing needs, particularly for low income households. The CHAS data are used by local governments to plan how to spend HUD funds, and may also be used by HUD to distribute grant funds.
HUD's HMDA (Home Mortgage Disclosure Data)
Available from the State of the Cities Data Systems (SOCDS). This dataset is no longer updated.
NAHB's Housing Economics Data
From the National Association of Home Builders. Includes permit data, employment information, and new and existing homes sold by region.
U.S. Housing Market Conditions
From Office of Policy Development & Research (PD&R) at U.S. Dept of Housing. Contains all the national, regional, state, metropolitan, and local data and analysis in one location. Search by geography to obtain all the reports available for a particular area. Alternatively, search by the type of report. Each report contains different levels of data and/or analysis.
US Census Housing Data
Include a wide range of data on the size, age and type of American homes; home values, rents and mortgages, the housing and construction industry, and more.

[International]

Compendium of Human Settlements Statistics
From the United Nations > Demographic and Social Statistics > Housing. Official national statistics on housing stock and housing conditions generated from population and housing censuses
Urban Indicators Database
From the UN Habitats. Browse data by theme. Includes dataset on Housing, Slums and Information Settlements
Data Planet Foundations
A statistical database available to FSU users only. Browse the data by the "Housing and Construction" subject. Includes homeless-related data.

Bureau of Transportation Statistics
Part of the Department of Transportation (DOT), the BTS is the preeminent source of statistics on commercial aviation, multimodal freight activity, and transportation economics, and provides context to decision makers and the public for understanding statistics on transportation.
National Transit Database Data
From Federal Transit Administration
Transportation Data Portal from Florida Dept. of Transportation
The Transportation Data Portal is a platform for locating data related to the core mission of the Florida Department of Transportation (FDOT). The department’s primary statutory responsibility is to coordinate the planning and development of a safe, viable, and balanced state transportation system serving all regions of the state, and to assure the compatibility of all components, including multimodal facilities. This online resource can be used to explore and download open geospatial data; analyze and combine open datasets using maps; develop new web/mobile applications and more.
Census Transportation Planning Products Program (CTPP)
From the American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials. The CTPP Program procures tabulations of American Community Survey (ACS) 5-year (and historical Census decennial) data. The chief differences between ACS data and CTPP data are FLOWS from home to work and WORKPLACE BASED data at small Geographies
Railroad Safety Data
From Federal Railroad Administration's Office of Safety Analysis

US Census Data (Data.Census.Gov)
At the Geography filter, choose the place, or metropolitical statistical area
State of the Cities Data Systems (SOCDS)
From HUD. Provides data for individual Metropolitan Areas, Central Cities, and Suburbs. Topics include demographic and economic characteristics of the population; unemployment rates; jobs, business establishments, and average pay since the 1990s; violent and property crime rates; local building permits; city and suburban government finances; and Principal Cities
National Neighborhood Indicators Partnership (NNIP)
NNIP is a learning network, coordinated by the Urban Institute, that connects independent partner organizations in more than 30 cities.
Urban Institute's Data/Viz
Key stats, graphs, and maps on economic and social policy. Check out its Urban Data Catalog at https://datacatalog.urban.org/
Governing.com's Data Reports
News, stats, and insights on America's states and localities.

America's Top-Rated Cities: A Statistical Handbook, 4 Volume Set 2019 by David Garoogian (Editor)
Call Number: eBook w/ unlimited access
Publication Date: 2019 (26th ed.)
America's Top-Rated Cities provides current, comprehensive statistical information and other essential data in one easy-to-use source on the top 100 cities that have been cited as the best for business and living in the United States. Look up the sources for the most recent stats.
U.S. Cities & Communities 2023 by R. K. Miller A title in the RKMA Market Research Handbook series.
Call Number: eBook w/ unlimited access
Publication Date: 2022

City Population by sex, city and city type from UNdata
Dates back to 1970. Source: United Nations Statistics Division.
OECD Regions and Cities at a Glance 2020
Provides a comprehensive assessment of how regions and cities across the OECD are progressing towards stronger, more sustainable and more resilient economies and societies. The publication provides a unique comparative picture in a number of aspects connected to economic development, health, well-being and net zero-carbon transition across regions and cities in OECD and selected non-OECD countries.
Metropolitan Areas - OECD Stats
Topics include population, crime, digitalization, income distribution, economy, environment, labor, etc.

Population Statistics
From the U.S. Census. Topics include Age and Sex, Ancestry, Children, Computer and Internet Use, Foreign Born, Hispanic Origin, International, Language Use, Migration/Geographic Mobility, Older Population and Aging, Population Estimates, Population Projections, Race, and Veterans
Population Reference Bureau
Check their Data Center for the US and international data indicators including Gini Index of Income Inequality, Net Migration Count, Percent of the Population Living in Poverty, etc. 2021 World Population Data Sheet is also available.
U.S. Census International Database
Population estimates and projections for 227 countries and areas. Includes Population Pyramids.
United Nations Population Fund
Search by country or region.
World Population Prospects (from the United Nations
Population estimates and projections that have been prepared by the Population Division of the Department of Economic and Social Affairs of the United Nations Secretariat. The main results are presented in a series of Excel files displaying key demographic indicators for each UN development group, World Bank income group, geographic region, Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) region, subregion and country or area for selected periods or dates within 1950-2100.

For more information, check our U.S. Census Data Guide

Income & Poverty
From the U.S. Census. Topic includes Income, Income Inequality, Poverty, Program Income and Public Assistance, Small Area Income & Poverty Estimates (SAIPE), Supplemental Poverty Measure, Wealth and Asset Ownership, Well-Being, CPS ASEC Redesign and Processing Changes
Historical Poverty Tables: People and Families - 1959 to 2020
From the U.S. Census
data.census.gov
Search the site for poverty-related data. Sources include the American FactFinder
GDP & Personal Income Data
From the U.S. Bureau of Economic Analysis. Includes Personal Income and Employment by County and Metropolitan Areas.
Poverty
From the U.S. Census. Poverty data from several household surveys and programs.

[News Polls]

[Polling Agencies]

Gallup
Around for over 80 years with a nonpartisan analysis of global issues. Some contents are freely available on the website. Search the site with poll subject.
Harris Poll
One of the longest running surveys in the U.S. tracking public opinion, motivations and social sentiment since 1963
KFF Polling
From Kaiser Family Foundation, a good source in health policy analysis, polling and health journalism
Pew Research Center
A good source for public opinion polling, demographic research, and media content analysis. Search the site with poll subject
Quinnipiac / Poll
From the Department of Public Affairs within Quinnipiac University
Rasmussen Reports
A nonpartisan analysis of political, economic and lifestyle issues.
Zogby Analytics
Since 1984. Search the site with poll subject
Eurobarometer
Public opinion in the European Union

[Collection of Polls from Different Sources]

iPoll Databank (database)
IPOLL, from the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research, is a full text database of 500,000 questions from national public opinion surveys since 1935 and updated daily. iPOLL includes survey results data from academic, commercial and media survey organizations such as Gallup, Harris Interactive, Pew Research Associates, ABC, CBS, Wall Street Journal and many more. Many data sets are available for download in ASCII or SPSS format.
PollingReport.com
An independent, nonpartisan resource on trends in American public opinion. Shows a report of polls from different sources. E.g., Guns related polls at https://www.pollingreport.com/guns.htm
ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research)
Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research maintains and provides access to a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction. The collection includes CBS News/New York Times Poll Series, National Poll on Healthy Aging, and over 3,000 polls on various topics.
World Public Opinion
An international collaborative project, a source for public opinion around the world on international issues

Fore more sources on polls and public opinions data, click here.