Research Guides: History Senior Seminar: Family Ties in US Immigration History

Primary Source Video

Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Academic Video Online includes scholarly video material of virtually every video type: documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, field recordings, commercials, demonstrations, original and raw footage including tens of thousands of exclusive tiles. There are thousands of award-winning films, Academy®, Emmy®, and Peabody® winners along with the most frequently used films for classroom instruction, plus newly released films and previously unavailable archival material.
Tutorials:
Browsing Channels (3:20 minutes)
Clip Making (1:53 minutes)
Searching and Filtering (1:50 minutes)
Scrolling and Searchable Transcripts (1:13 minutes)

Abbreviation: asavon
Vendor: Alexander Street, a ProQuest Company
Type: Streaming Video
PBS Video This link opens in a new window
This collection of video documentaries and series from the Public Broadcasting Service (PBS) offers a wide range of content, from science to history, art to Shakespeare, diversity to business & economics, and more.
Abbreviation: pbsvid
Vendor: Alexander Street, a ProQuest Company
Subjects: *General / Multi-Subject
Type: Streaming Video
Socialism on Film This link opens in a new window
Sourced from the British Film Institute (BFI), this collection of documentary, newsreel and feature films reveals the world as seen by Soviet, Chinese, Vietnamese, East European, and Latin American filmmakers. Ranging from the early 20th century to the 1980s, material encapsulates the themes of war, revolution, news, current affairs, culture and society.
Abbreviation: socflm
Vendor: Adam Matthew Digital Ltd
Subjects: History, Film Studies
Type: Historical / Primary Sources, Streaming Video
United Nations Audiovisual Library This link opens in a new window
The Audiovisual Library holdings comprise a hybrid collection with both analog and digital records. Included are films, video recordings, audio recordings in a wide variety of systems and formats. In addition, the Photo Library also holds approximately 800,000 photographs. The unique analog and historic collections are being digitized selectively as resources are made available also.
Abbreviation: unavi
Vendor: United Nations
Coverage: 1920–Current
Subjects: International Affairs
Type: Historical / Primary Sources, Images, Streaming Audio, Streaming Video
Vanderbilt Television News Archive This link opens in a new window
The Vanderbilt Television News Archive began recording broadcasts on August 5, 1968, with the mission to create, preserve and provide access to the news broadcasts from the U.S. national television networks. The database currently includes over a million records, including abstracts at the story level of regular evening newscasts and catalog records for each special news report. Streaming video of NBC material, ranging from August 5, 1968, to the present and CNN broadcasts beginning in 1995 is available. Current material is not available until at least 72 hours after the original broadcast.
Note: Due to copyright considerations, not all VTNA records include online streaming video content. FSU does not have access to the video loan service. Registering for a personal account does not enable additional access.

Abbreviation: vantna
Vendor: Vanderbilt University
Coverage: 1968–Current
Subjects: Communication
Type: Indexes / Catalogs, Streaming Video

Prelinger Film Archives
Prelinger Archives was founded in 1983 by Rick Prelinger in New York City. Over the next twenty years, it grew into a collection of over 60,000 "ephemeral" (advertising, educational, industrial, and amateur) films. In 2002, the film collection was acquired by the Library of Congress, Motion Picture, Broadcasting and Recorded Sound Division. Prelinger Archives remains in existence, holding approximately 20,000 digitized titles (all originally derived from film) and a large collection of home movies, amateur and industrial films acquired since 2002. Its primary collection emphasis has turned toward home movies and amateur films, with approximately 30,000 items held as of Fall 2023. Its goal remains to collect, preserve, and facilitate access to films of historic significance that haven't been collected elsewhere. Included are films produced by and for many hundreds of important US corporations, nonprofit organizations, trade associations, community and interest groups, and educational institutions.
Universal Newsreels
In the pre-TV era, people saw the news every week in their neighborhood movie theaters. Newsreels were shown before every feature film and in dedicated newsreel theaters located in large cities. Universal Newsreel, produced from 1929 to 1967, was released twice a week. Each issue contained six or seven short stories, usually one to two minutes in length, covering world events, politics, sports, fashion, and whatever else might entertain the movie audience. These newsreels offer a fascinating and unique view of an era when motion pictures defined our culture and were a primary source of visual news reporting.

Reference

Dictionary of American Family Names
This second, revised, and expanded edition of Dictionary of American Family Names contains more than 80,000 of the most commonly occurring surnames in the United States, reflecting better than ever the unique diversity of the American population. All surnames with more than 300 bearers in the 2010 US Census are now included, increasing the number of names discussed by over 10,000 and widening the representation of languages and cultures from North and South America, Eastern Europe, Africa, the Middle East, and East Asia, many of which were absent from the first edition. Native American and African American surnames have been given particular attention, though much research still remains to be done in these important areas of American family history and naming practices.
International Organization for Migration Glossary
Key terms and definitions related to migration from the UN-affiliated International Organization for Migration.
Oxford Handbook of American Immigration and Ethnicity
The Oxford Handbook of American Immigration and Ethnicity explores how Americans think of themselves and how science, religion, period of migration, gender, education, politics, intermarriage, and occupational mobility shape both this image and American life.
US Census Bureau Definitions
The definitions and explanations found in reports in the Current Population Reports series issued by the Census Bureau are largely drawn from various technical and procedural materials used in the collection of data in the Current Population Survey. The concepts defined below generally refer to current definitions. For reports based on earlier surveys, especially those published before 1990, the user should consult the printed reports for those years. As reports and surveys continue to evolve, definitions may also alter to accommodate these changes.

Census Data
Historical census data and demographic trends
Congressional Record
The contemporary, verbatim record of Congressional proceedings
Family Search
Family Search allows you to create a free account to search their records.
GovInfo.gov
govinfo is a service of the United States Government Publishing Office (GPO) that provides free public access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government.
more...less...
GPO Access Online
National Archives Immigration Research
An overview of the different types of immigration records available from the National Archives. Although some of these records have been digitized and made available online, there are many records that are only available in paper or microfilm format at NARA locations.
U.S. Congressional Documents and Debates
Before the establishment of the Congressional Record in 1873, the proceedings of Congress were published under different names: the Annals of Congress (1789 to 1824), Register of Debates (1824 to 1837), and Congressional Globe (1833 to 1873)
USCIS Administrative Appeals Office
The Administrative Appeals Office (AAO) of the US Citizenship & Immigration Services (USCIS) decides cases of immigration law and policy. There are three searchable databases of AAO decisions: Adopted, Precedent, and Non-Precedent.

Migration Law Database
The International Organization for Migration collects information on the rights and responsibilities of migrants under international migration law. The online migration law database draws together migration related instruments and relevant norms regulating migration at the international and regional levels. The following sources of information are being included: relevant international, regional and bilateral treaties; international and regional resolutions, declarations and other instruments.
Universal Declaration of Human Rights
Ratified by the United Nations more than 75 years ago, the UDHR is a founding document for human rights around the world.

Newspapers

African American Newspapers, 1827–1998 This link opens in a new window
Provides online access to 280 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. This unique collection, which includes papers from more than 35 states, features many rare and historically significant 19th-century titles.
Abbreviation: afamnp
Vendor: NewsBank
Coverage: 1827–1998
Subjects: African-American Studies, Communication, History
Type: Historical / Primary Sources, Newspapers and Newswires
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Ethnic NewsWatch™ includes current journals, magazines, and newspapers from ethnic and independent presses.
- African American/Caribbean/African
- Arab/Middle Eastern
- Asian/Pacific Islander
- European/Eastern European
- Hispanic
- Jewish
- Native Peoples
Abbreviation: ethnicnews2
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1973–Current
Subjects: African-American Studies, Asian Studies, Communication, History, International Affairs, Latin American & Caribbean Studies, Middle Eastern Studies, Political Science, Russian & Eastern European Studies
Type: E-Journal Collections, Newspapers and Newswires
Indigenous Newspapers in North America This link opens in a new window
Indigenous Newspapers in North America aims to present a diverse and robust collection of print journalism from Indigenous peoples of the US and Canada over more than 9,000 individual editions from 1828–2016.
Abbreviation: aminews
Vendor: Adam Matthew Digital Ltd
Coverage: 1828–2016
Subjects: Anthropology, Cultural Heritage, History
Type: Historical / Primary Sources, Newspapers and Newswires
New York Times (Historical) This link opens in a new window
Offers full-page-images and article images from the New York Times newspaper from its first issue in 1851 to three years before the current date. This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand primary source accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
Abbreviation: nythist
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1850–Current - 3 years
Subjects: History
Type: Historical / Primary Sources, Newspapers and Newswires
WNA Latin American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
WNA Latin American Newspapers is part of the World Newspaper Archive (Readex, a division of NewsBank) and in partnership with the Center for Research Libraries includes dates and eras, languages, places of publication, and newspaper titles of Latin American Newspapers. The collection contains more than 1.2 million pages of content.
Abbreviation: latinnews
Vendor: NewsBank
Coverage: 1822–1922
Subjects: History, Latin American & Caribbean Studies
Type: Historical / Primary Sources, Newspapers and Newswires

Nikkei Newspapers Digital Archive
The Nikkei Newspapers Digital Archive (NNDA) is a project of the Hokubei
Hochi (North American Post) Foundation and the University of Washington Libraries. Our goal is to make accessible two significant newspapers which tell the story of Japanese immigration and Japanese American community life in Seattle and beyond, from 1902 to 1950, and continuing to the present day. The newspapers, North American Times (1902-1942) and North American Post (1946-1950), were published primarily in Japanese, with occasional, and then regularly appearing, pages published in English. Translation summaries (English) are provided for some front page stories.
more...less...
The NNDA currently features the following issues:

Hokubei Jiji/North American Times: 12/14/1917-12/31/1919, 9/10/1923, 1/1934-10/31/1935, and 11/17/1937-3/12/1942

Hokubei Hochi/North American Post: 6/5/1946-12/1957

Primary Source Databases

American Civil Liberties Union Papers, 1912–1990 This link opens in a new window
American Civil Liberties Union Papers, 1912–1990 focuses on civil rights, civil liberties, race, gender, and issues relating to the U.S. Supreme Court. The relevance of the collection to today’s curriculum and to current debates at both national and local levels serve many research needs. American Civil Liberties Union Papers, Part II: Southern Regional Office is comprised of never-before-digitized materials documenting the ACLU’s legal battle to enforce the Civil Rights Act of 1964 in thirteen Southern states. This collection is an indispensable resource for understanding the complete history of the civil rights movement. FSU Libraries has access to Parts I and II of this collection.
Abbreviation: aclupap
Vendor: Gale
Coverage: 1912–1990
Subjects: African-American Studies, Communication, History, Law, Political Science
Type: Historical / Primary Sources, Reports
Amnesty International Archive This link opens in a new window
Explore the rise of the global human rights movement during the second half of the twentieth century through the International Secretariat records of Non-Governmental Organization (NGO), Amnesty International. The material within this collection is vital for studying the history of key political events, global social change, human rights violations and campaigns with themes including abolition of torture, state violence, political prisoners, minority rights, and more.
Abbreviation: aiarch
Vendor: Adam Matthew Digital Ltd
Subjects: History
Type: Historical / Primary Sources
Historical Statistics of the United States: Millennial Edition This link opens in a new window
Contains more than 37,000 annual time series of quantitative historical information covering virtually every quantifiable dimension of American history: population, work and welfare, economic structure and performance, governance, and international relations, all from the earliest times to the present. A compendium of statistics from over 1000 sources last updated in 1990, HSUS has been expanded to include data series and topics such as slavery, American Indians, health, crime, migration, poverty, and the Confederate States of America are each placed in historical context.
Abbreviation: hsus
Vendor: Cambridge University Press
Subjects: Criminology and Criminal Justice, History, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: Datasets / Statistics, Historical / Primary Sources
Indian Claims Insight This link opens in a new window
Indian Claims Insight provides researchers with the opportunity to understand and analyze Native American migration and resettlement throughout U.S. history in the context of U.S. Government Indian removal policies and subsequent actions to address Native American claims.
Abbreviation: ici
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1789–Current
Subjects: History, Law
Type: Government Publications, Historical / Primary Sources
Migration to New Worlds This link opens in a new window
Discover the motives, aspirations, realities and personal hardships for European and Asian migrants during two centuries of global migration. Set against a backdrop of colonial expansion, industrial progress and global conflict, Migration to New Worlds tells the stories of individuals and families who risked everything to build new lives in North American and Australasia between 1800 and 1980.
Abbreviation: mnw
Vendor: Adam Matthew Digital Ltd
Coverage: 1800–1924
Subjects: Anthropology, Demography and Population Studies, History
Type: Government Publications, Historical / Primary Sources, Images, Indexes / Catalogs, Maps

FSU Special Collections

Immigrant Students, 1949-1950, Box: 17. Florida State University Office of the President: Doak Campbell Administration Files, HUA 2018-062. FSU Special Collections & Archives. https://archives.lib.fsu.edu/repositories/10/archival_objects/229463

Hasterlik-Hine collection, Special Collections & Archives, Florida State University Libraries, Tallahassee, Florida. https://repository.lib.fsu.edu/islandora/object/fsu:wwiihasterlikhinecoll

The Hasterlik-Hine collection consists personal correspondence between Giulia Kortischoner (married name Hine) and her family and friends. The personal correspondence consists of letters, postcards, get-well-soon cards, greeting cards, and a small number of travel documents. The collection contains discussions about the Holocaust, life as a Jewish refugee, and the progress of the war and life afterwards.

Claude Pepper Papers, Special Collections & Archives, Florida State University Libraries, Tallahassee, Florida. http://purl.fcla.edu/fsu/MSS_1979-01

Search within the voluminous papers of Senator Claude Pepper with recommended keywords: immigration, naturalization, child adoption, refugee, migrant, immigrant, displaced, asylum, emigration, visa.

Imamura, Kikuko, Folder 21, Box: 78, Folder: 21. Tom Brokaw collection, 01.0171. FSU Special Collections & Archives. https://archives.lib.fsu.edu/repositories/10/archival_objects/13214

Part of the Tom Brokaw collection, social commentary about racism as a Japanese immigrant after the war who followed her husband to New York City for his career in 1960, discussing the after affects of WWII.

Joil (Saul) Alpern transcript, Special Collections & Archives, Florida State University Libraries, Tallahassee, Florida. http://purl.fcla.edu/fsu/WWII_09_0037

Alpern, Joil. No One Awaiting Me: Two Brothers Defy Death During The Holocaust In Romania. Calgary: University Of Calgary Press, 2001. https://fsu-flvc.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/permalink/01FALSC_FSU/mnma1/alma9910368786306561

André L. van Assenderp - Immigration-related documents: US Embassy Havana, Cuba, 1948, 037, Container: 14.0022 - Box 2, Folder: 037. André Lauwrensius van Assenderp and Carol Lee Johnson van Assenderp collection, 14.0022. FSU Special Collections & Archives. https://archives.lib.fsu.edu/repositories/10/archival_objects/180456

Neil Betten collection, Special Collections & Archives, Florida State University Libraries, Tallahassee, Florida. https://purl.lib.fsu.edu/fa/02-01-1997

This collection was compiled by former Florida State University Department of History professor Neil Betten. It contains 41 copies of Congress Weekly: A Review of Jewish Interests from February 1942 to June 1944. This weekly newsletter was published by the American Jewish Congress, which was headed by Stephen Wise. The newsletter covered topics such as the Warsaw Ghetto, Jewish soldiers in the U.S. military, Palestine, Zionism, and current issues in the United States and overseas affecting Jews. The collection also contains a Ph.D. dissertation by Peggy G. Pelt, "Wainwright Shipyard: Impact of a World War II War Industry in Panama City, Florida." The dissertation contains oral histories that document work and Home Front conditions related to this shipping building company.

Natalia Grauer Rosenbald transcript, Special Collections & Archives, Florida State University Libraries, Tallahassee, Florida. http://purl.fcla.edu/fsu/WWII_04_0246

Natalia Grauer Rosenbald's oral history outlines her life growing up in Krakow, Poland and her experiences in the Krakow ghetto, Mauthausen, and Ravensbrück. She speaks about hiding, dog attacks, working in the crematorium sorting clothes, stealing food, the Death March, how the SS tried disguising themselves with the advance of the Allies, liberation, reprisal shootings, finding her family after the war, living in Cyprus, Israel, Australia, and Germanybefore settling in the United States. She concludes her oral history with her experiences talking at schools about the Holocaust, visiting Auschwitz, and her message to the world about the Holocaust.

Miscellaneous Letters, Folder 001, Container: 15.0030 - Box 1, Folder: 001. Grafton W. Johnson papers, 15.0030. FSU Special Collections & Archives. https://archives.lib.fsu.edu/repositories/10/archival_objects/44582

1934 letter to Doris Hightower from missionary in Kweiteh, China with photos of Chinese women in traditional winter clothing, 1964 correspondence regarding the Graftons’ attempt to adopt a child.