Research Guides: Latin American Studies: Finding Books and Media

Library of Congress Classifications

Library of congress Call Number Ranges for Browsing:

CC Archeology
E-F History of the Americas
G Geography
GF Human Ecology/Anthropogeography
GN Anthropology
GR Folklore
JL Political Institutions and Administration – Latin America
N Fine Arts (NA, NB, NC, ND, NE, NK, NX)
PC French, Spanish, and Portuguese Languages
PE English Language
PQ French, Spanish, and Portuguese Literature

Books

UBorrow
Borrow books from any of the 11 state universities in Florida. It's faster than ILL and renewals can be requested. Start by searching the FSU catalog, then click on the blue UBorrow icon at the top of your search results. Select the book you want and click on the blue UBorrow link again to request it.
Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
Request books and journal articles from libraries around the world. Use ILL to request materials not available at FSU.
WorldCat
This catalog will allow you to see if a book is available at another university, the county public library or anywhere else in the world.
University of Florida Latin American Collection
One of the premier Latin American library collections in the United States, UF holds many unique or rare books, manuscripts, maps, and newspapers. UF's Center for Latin American Studies also offers a travel grant for visiting scholars.
The Ibero-Amerikanisces Institute
An interdisciplinary center for academic and cultural exchange between Germany and Latin America, the Caribbean, Spain and Portugal. It is home to the largest specialist library in Europe for the Ibero-American region. It's excellent website provides an online catalog and Virtual Library.
Florida Community College Libraries
Search the union catalog for all of Florida's community college libraries or the catalog for any of the individual libraries.

Dissertations & Theses (Florida State University only) (PQDT, ProQuest)
More information about finding Dissertations and Thesis may be found on the webpage "Theses and Dissertations at The Florida State University"
Abbreviation: dissertation
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1637–Current
Subjects: *General / Multi-Subject
Type: Dissertations / Theses

DART Europe E-Theses Portal
DART-Europe is a partnership of research libraries and library consortia who are working together to improve global access to European research theses.

HathiTrust Digital Library
HathiTrust Digital Library contains millions of books digitized from library collections across the country. FSU users have access to many full text documents and can create new collections of material. To learn how to log into HathiTrust using Shibboleth see our guide to HathiTrust (http://guides.lib.fsu.edu/hathitrust).
Gutenberg-e
Award winning monographs from Columbia University Press, coordinated with the American Historical Association, afford emerging scholars new possibilities for online publications, weaving traditional narrative with digitized primary sources, including maps, photographs, and oral histories.

Oxford Scholarship Online
A cross-searchable library containing the full text of over 2,000 Oxford books in the areas of Economics and Finance, Philosophy, Political Science, and Religion. Includes full text and abstracts.
Subjects with full text:
Philosophy
Law
Religion
Political Science
Economics and Finance
Psychology

Tutorials:
Take a Tour (PowerPoint, PDF, and video available)

Abbreviation: oso
Vendor: Oxford University Press
Subjects: *General / Multi-Subject
Type: E-Book Collections, Indexes / Catalogs
Ebook Central (ProQuest)
Ebook Central is a web-based book lending platform from ProQuest that delivers a rapidly expanding catalogue of books to academic and research libraries.
Abbreviation: eblibrary
Vendor: ProQuest
Subjects: *General / Multi-Subject
Type: E-Book Collections
Cambridge Books Online
With online access to unique, indispensable and extensive scholarly content, Cambridge Books Online will offer all levels of user a new dimension of access and usability to support and enhance research. FSU does not have access to all titles. Full text noted by a green circle.
Abbreviation: cbookso
Vendor: Cambridge University Press
Subjects: *General / Multi-Subject
Type: E-Book Collections
Digitalia
Digitalia is an online provider of Spanish language academic book and journal titles, with publications from Spain, Columbia, Chile, Argentina, Mexico, Peru, Dominican Republic, and more.
Abbreviation: digit
Vendor: Digitalia
Coverage: 1961–Current
Subjects: History, Latin American & Caribbean Studies, Linguistics, Literature
Type: E-Book Collections, E-Journal Collections
eBook Collection (EBSCO)
EBSCO's collection of over 30,000 recently published titles consisting of a broad range of reference, scholarly, popular and professional books. Compatible with all mobile devices, no separate app is required.
Tutorials:
Training Tutorials for EBSCO eBooks

Apps:
EBSCOhost Mobile Applications (website)
Android (PowerPoint)
iPhone (PowerPoint)
Downloading EBSCO eBooks to Your Mobile Device (03:38)

Abbreviation: netlibrary
Vendor: EBSCO
Subjects: *General / Multi-Subject
Type: E-Book Collections