Research Guides: Latin American Studies: Background Information

Social Sciences Librarian

Jonathan DaSo

he/him

Email Me

Contact:

Office Hours Spring 2023:
Thursday, 3-5 pm Diffenbaugh 365

(850) 739-3264

Subjects: Modern Languages

Reference Sources

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
This Collection includes over 650 titles with particular emphasis on subject encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, and reference handbooks. Also included are over 1,000 short reference videos, nearly 300,000 high-resolution art images, and thousands of additional images across all subject areas. Subject coverage is especially diverse and equipped to address all key disciplines.
Resource URL: http://search.credoreference.com/
Abbreviation: credo
Vendor: Credo Reference
Subjects: *General / Multi-Subject
Type: Encyclopedias & Dictionaries, Images, Streaming Video
Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new window
Developed cooperatively with scholars and librarians worldwide, Oxford Bibliographies offers exclusive, authoritative research guides. Oxford Bibliographies combines features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia, giving researchers scholarship across a wide variety of subjects.
Subjects:
African Studies
African American Studies
American Literature
Anthropology
Art History
Atlantic History
Biblical Studies
British and Irish Literature
Buddhism
Childhood Studies
Chinese Studies
Cinema and Media Studies
Classics
Communication
Criminology
Ecology
Education
Hinduism
International Law
International Relations
Islamic Studies
Jewish Studies
Latin American Studies
Linguistics
Literary and Critical Theory
Medieval Studies
Military History
Music
Philosophy
Political Science
Psychology
Public Health
Renaissance and Reformation
Social Work
Sociology
Victorian Literature

Resource URL: http://www.oxfordbibliographies.com
Abbreviation: oxbib
Vendor: Oxford University Press
Subjects: Religion, Urban and Regional Planning, *General / Multi-Subject, Bibliography
Type: Encyclopedias & Dictionaries, Research Starter
Oxford Reference (5 concurrent user limit) This link opens in a new window
Oxford Reference contains over 100 general and subject dictionaries, and language reference works published by Oxford University Press. The collection includes quotations, proverbs, place-names and other general reference works. Among the English language reference works are thesauri and a wide variety of dictionaries (e.g. grammar, abbreviations, idioms, eponyms, euphemisms). Foreign language dictionaries include German, Italian, and Spanish. Specialized subject dictionaries are available in a wide range of disciplines.
Please note: Oxford Reference only allows access for 5 FSU users at one time. If you are being asked for a username and password, please try to access the database later.

Subjects:
Archaeology
Art & Architecture
Bilingual dictionaries
Classical studies
Encyclopedias
English Dictionaries and Thesauri
History
Language reference
Law
Linguistics
Literature
Media studies
Medicine and health
Music
Names studies
Performing arts
Philosophy
Quotations
Religion
Science and technology
Social sciences
Society and culture

Resource URL: http://www.oxfordreference.com/
Abbreviation: oxfordref
Vendor: Oxford University Press
Subjects: *General / Multi-Subject
Type: Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
eBooks (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Gale eBooks is an eBook platform that includes access to encyclopedias, specialized reference sources, and general eBook titles of all disciplines. Designed to enable users to easily cross-search all the content to pinpoint relevant material. Detailed subject indexing allows users to search content based on subject, title, document type, and more.
Resource URL: https://link.gale.com/apps/GVRL?u=tall85761
Abbreviation: gvrl
Vendor: Gale
Subjects: *General / Multi-Subject
Type: E-Book Collections, Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
SAGE Reference Online This link opens in a new window
A collection of over 250 Reference Titles. SAGE Reference Online is a social science eBook platform, where you will find an expansive range of SAGE eBook and eReference content.
Subjects include:
Business & Management
Communication and Media Studies
Counseling and Psychotherapy
Criminology & Criminal Justice
Education
Engineering & Materials Science
Geography, Earth & Environmental Science
Health and Social Care
History
Life & Biomedical Sciences
Maths, Physics, Chemistry & Computing
Philosophy
Politics & International Relations
Psychology
Research Methods & Evaluation
Sociology

Resource URL: http://sk.sagepub.com/reference
Abbreviation: sro
Vendor: SAGE Publishing
Subjects: *General / Multi-Subject
Type: Citation Management, E-Book Collections, Encyclopedias & Dictionaries, Indexes / Catalogs

Handbook of Latin American Studies
Contains records describing books, book chapters, articles, and conference papers published in the field of Latin American studies and edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress.

Encyclopedia of Contemporary Latin American and Caribbean Cultures by Daniel Balderston (Editor); Mike Gonzalez (Editor); Ana M. Laopez (Editor)
Call Number: F1406.E515 2000
Publication Date: 2000
3 volumes
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Mesoamerican Cultures : the civilizations of Mexico and Central America by David Carrasco, editor
Call Number: FSU Remote Storage 2 -- F1218.6 .O95 2000
Publication Date: 2001
3 Volumes
Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture by Barbara A. Tenenbaum (Editor); Georgette M. Dorn (Editor)
Call Number: FSU Remote Storage 2 -- F1406.E53 1996
Publication Date: 1995
5,300 entries over five volumes, organized in A-Z dictionary format, treat the entire territory of Spanish and Portuguese conquest and exploration in the New World.

The Cambridge History of Latin America by Leslie Bethell (Editor, Contribution by)
Call Number: FSU STROZIER LIBRARY General Collection 3rd Floor -- F1410.C1834 1984
Publication Date: 1984-
11 Volumes
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Mesoamerican Cultures : the civilizations of Mexico and Central America by David Carrasco, editor
Call Number: FSU Remote Storage 2 -- F1218.6 .O95 2000
Publication Date: 2001
3 Volumes
The Caribbean: a history of the region and its peoples by Stephan Palmié; Francisco A. Scarano (Editors)
Call Number: FSU STROZIER LIBRARY General Collection 3rd Floor -- F2175.C325 2011
Publication Date: 2011
Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture by Barbara A. Tenenbaum, editor
Call Number: F1406 .E53 1996
Publication Date: 1996
5 Volumes

Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Includes Contemporary Authors, Dictionary of Literary Biography, and Contemporary Literary Criticism Select Provides access to biographies, bibliographies and critical analysis of authors from every age and literary discipline.
Resource URL: https://link.gale.com/apps/LitRC?u=tall85761
Abbreviation: galelit
Vendor: Gale
Coverage: 1400–Current
Subjects: Literature, Theatre
Type: Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

Encyclopedia of Latin American and Caribbean literature, 1900-2003 by Daniel Balderston, Mike Gonzalez
Call Number: FSU STROZIER LIBRARY General Collection 5th Floor -- PQ7081.A1E558 2004
ISBN: 0415306868
Publication Date: 2004
Encyclopedia of Caribbean Literature by D. H. Figueredo
Call Number: FSU STROZIER LIBRARY Reference -- PN849.C3E53 2006
Publication Date: 2005
2 Volumes

The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music by Ruth M. Stone (Editor)
Call Number: FSU ALLEN MUSIC LIBRARY General Collection -- ML100.G16 1998
Publication Date: 1997-
V. 2: South America, Mexico, Central America, and the Caribbean
V. 10. World's music: General perspectives and reference tools.
A Guide to Latin American, Caribbean and U.S. Latino Made Film and Video by Karen Ranucci; Julie Feldman
Call Number: FSU STROZIER LIBRARY Reference -- PN1995.9.L37G85 1998
ISBN: 0810832852
Publication Date: 1998
Encyclopedia of Latin American Theater by Eladio Cortes;Mirta Barrea-Marlys (Editors)
Call Number: FSU STROZIER LIBRARY Reference -- PQ7082.D7E64 2003
Publication Date: 2003
The Encyclopedia of Latin American and Caribbean Art by Jane Turner (Editor)
Call Number: FSU STROZIER LIBRARY Reference -- N6502.E53 2000
Publication Date: 2002

Latin America: a Political Dictionary by Ernest E. Rossi. Jack C. Plano, Editors
Call Number: FSU STROZIER LIBRARY Reference -- F1406.R67 1992
Publication Date: 1992

Selected Bibliography of US Government and International Documents on Latin America and the Caribbean