Research Guides: Latin American Studies: Getting Started

Welcome!

Latin American Studies is an interdisciplinary subject area which involves many countries, regions, languages, and cultures.

This research guide is intended for students and researchers in Latin American Studies of all levels. It lists general resources related to Latin American Studies, including books, journals, and online resources available at the FSU Libraries.

Related Guides:

Painting of a woman in front of a wall of paintings

Fernando Botero,
The Collector, 1974.

Key Resources

A list of digital libraries, bibliographies, and databases to begin your research.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a digital library of academic content in many formats and disciplines. The collections include top peer-reviewed scholarly journals as well as respected literary journals, academic monographs, research reports from trusted institutes, and diverse primary sources. FSU has access to JSTOR’s Archive, Artstor, Primary Sources, and Global Plants collections.
Tutorials:
JSTOR on YouTube
How to search (04:20)
Primary Source Collection: 19th-Century British Pamphlets (00:51)

Abbreviation: jstor
Vendor: JSTOR
Coverage: 1665–Current
Subjects: Arts Administration, Art History, *General / Multi-Subject
Type: E-Book Collections, E-Journal Collections
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
The MLA International Bibliography provides a subject index for books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. Works of interest to scholars are included whether they are written for a scholarly or a more general audience, provided that the content or its treatment places them within the scope of the bibliography. Masters' theses, guides that are essentially plot summaries, and other apprentice or simplified works are excluded.
Abbreviation: mla
Vendor: EBSCO
Coverage: 1921–Current
Subjects: African-American Studies, Latin American & Caribbean Studies, Linguistics, Literature, Middle Eastern Studies, Rhetoric & Composition, Russian & Eastern European Studies, Women's and Gender Studies
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) This link opens in a new window
Covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. This database abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. Documents indexed include journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers.
Subject coverage:
Anthropological linguistics
Applied linguistics
Descriptive linguistics
Discourse analysis
Language - pathological and normal
Learning disabilities
Nonverbal communication
Phonetics
Phonology
Psycholinguistics

Abbreviation: llba
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1973–Current
Subjects: Anthropology, Asian Studies, Communication, Communication Disorders, Latin American & Caribbean Studies, Linguistics, Middle Eastern Studies, Rhetoric & Composition, Russian & Eastern European Studies, Teacher Education
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
Handbook of Latin American Studies This link opens in a new window
Contains records describing books, book chapters, articles, and conference papers published in the field of Latin American studies and edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress. Coverage includes relevant books as well as over 1,350 social science and 550 humanities journals and volumes of conference proceedings published worldwide.
Abbreviation: hand-lat-amer
Vendor: Library of Congress
Subjects: Film Studies, Latin American & Caribbean Studies, Literature
Type: Indexes / Catalogs

Latin American Network Information Center (LANIC)
Administered by the University of Texas Austin, provides access to official (government), scholarly, and popular internet portals to information on Latin America for virtually every subject available.
more...less...
Subject areas in the main menu on the homepage include Countries, Economy, Education, Government, Humanities, Internet & Computing, Libraries and Reference, Media and Communication, Recreation, Regional Resources, Science, Social Sciences, Society and Culture, Sustainable Development.
The site also has special collections accessible on the left-hand side menu of the homepage, including:
- LAGDA Gov Docs Archive (full-text versions of official documents and video and audio recordings of key regional leaders) – can browse by country
- LAOAP Open Archives Portal (Collaborative Project between Latin Americanist Research Resources Project
- LARRP and LANIC, to improve access to social sciences grey literature produced in Latin America.)
- LAPTOC (Latin American Periodicals Tables of Contents). Provides access to tables of contents for different journals – can browse list of journal titles by country and link to Tables of Contents)
- Electoral Observatory (reports on latest elections – news, overseeing agencies)
- TILAN Networking Trends (resource center that seeks to document trends regarding expansion of the Internet throughout the countries of Latin America. Includes full text of research reports and articles; statistics: tables containing data on a variety of indicators typically sought by individuals interested in Internet growth in Latin America; summaries of basic networking statistics and key resources for further information for each Latin American country; subject directory of links to related resources throughout the Web
- Zapatistas!
- Etext Collection (conference papers from Teresa Lozano Long Institute of Latin American Studies, Latin American Studies Association, Association for the Study of Cuban Economy, Presidential Messages, The Sustainable Development Reporting Project (year-long endeavor to look at the most promising and important sustainable development programs in Central America, made possible by a grant from the Mexico City office of the Ford Foundation), Individual books, theses, papers, and other publications hosted as part of the Etext Collection
Latin American Research Resources Project (LARRP)
LARRP projects include LAPTOC, a searchable Web database, providing access to the tables of contents of more than 800 journals published in Latin America; Latin American Open Archives Portal (LAOAP), which provides access to social sciences grey literature produced in Latin America by research institutes, nongovernmental organizations, and peripheral agencies; and Mexican and Argentinian presidential speeches from the early 19th century to the present.

Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and indexes journal articles covering countries other than the United States and Canada in the subject areas of history, the social sciences and humanities. The scope of coverage is World History (1450–present) and related areas including culture, diplomacy, economics, international relations and politics.
Abbreviation: hist-abs
Vendor: EBSCO
Coverage: 1964–Current
Subjects: Asian Studies, History, Middle Eastern Studies, Russian & Eastern European Studies, Women's and Gender Studies
Type: Indexes / Catalogs

Citation Guides

Citation Guide
by Liz Dunne Last Updated Nov 29, 2023 16997 views this year
Citation Analysis
by Jeremy Katz Last Updated Jan 4, 2024 2539 views this year
Citation Management for Business Students & Faculty
by Trip Wyckoff Last Updated Apr 12, 2023 56 views this year
Alternative Citation Metrics
by Jeremy Katz Last Updated Sep 3, 2024 140 views this year
Zotero User's LibGuide
by Matt Hunter Last Updated Jun 12, 2024 3828 views this year

Latin American Studies

Social Sciences Librarian

Ask a Librarian

Welcome!

Key Resources

Citation Guides