Research Guides: Chemistry & Biochemistry: Books

Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

NIST Chemistry WebBook An open access database with access to chemical and physical property data for chemical species through the internet. The data provided in the site are from collections maintained by the NIST Standard Reference Data Program and outside contributors. Data in the WebBook system are organized by chemical species. The WebBook system allows users to search for chemical species by various means. Once the desired species has been identified, the system will display data for the species.
NIST Chemistry WebBook Guide Guide to the NIST Chemistry WebBook

The Merck Index by Maryadele J. O'Neil (Editor) An encyclopedia of chemicals, drugs, and biologicals with over 10,000 monographs describing significant chemicals, drugs, and biological substances. Contains an organic name reactions section comprised of 446 named reactions and an index. A concise reference history and associated reaction schema are provided for each reaction or sub-reaction.
Call Number: Dirac Reference RS51 .M4 2006
ISBN: 091191000X
Publication Date: 2006-11-03
Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology by Wiley-Interscience Publication Staff (Editor); Kirk-Othmer Presents a wide scope of articles on chemical substances, properties, manufacturing, and uses; on industrial processes, unit operations in chemical engineering; and on fundamentals and scientific subjects related to the field.
Call Number: Dirac Reference TP9.K54 2004
ISBN: 0471484946
Publication Date: 2004-03-29
Hawley's Condensed Chemical Dictionary by Richard J. Lewis A compilation of technical data and descriptive information covering thousands of chemicals and chemical phenomena, trade name products, processes, reactions, products, and related terminology. Adds entries for notable chemists and Nobel Prize winners, equipment and devices, natural forms and minerals, named reactions, and chemical processes.
Call Number: Dirac Reference QD5 .C5 1997
ISBN: 0471292052
Publication Date: 1997-09-01

Locating Books

Search the Library for The Sciences

Search by title, subject, or description:

eBook collections:

Search for netLibrary eBooks by adding netlibrary to your terms in the catalog search, or go directly to netLibrary (Log in required for off campus access).

Library of Congress numbers

QD 1-999	Chemistry
QD 1-65	General (including history of chemistry, alchemy)
QD 71-142	Analytical chemistry
QD 146-197	Inorganic chemistry
QD 241-441	Organic chemistry
QD 415-436	Biochemistry
QD 450-801	Physical and theoretical chemistry
QD 625-655	Radiation chemistry
QD 702-731	Photochemistry
QD 901-999	Crystallography

These are the general Library of Congress Classification and broad subject areas for chemistry. Use the call numbers to browse the collection.

Dissertations & Theses

Theses and Dissertations at FSU
A comprehensive list of ways to find theses and dissertations from FSU and resources to find other dissertations.

FSU Digital Repository This link opens in a new window
FSU Digital Repository is a service of The Florida State University Libraries. Research and scholarly output included here has been selected and deposited by the individual university departments, research units and faculty on campus. Complete Electronic Theses and Dissertations (ETD) at FSU from 2003 to the present. Includes select retrospective digitized dissertations from 1952–2002 (FSU Dissertations 1952–2002 section). Includes selected retrospective digitized theses prior to 2003 (FSU Historic Early Theses section).
Abbreviation: curres-fsu
Vendor: Florida Virtual Campus
Coverage: 1952–2003
Type: Historical / Primary Sources, Images, Indexes / Catalogs, Open Access
Dissertations & Theses (Florida State University only) (PQDT, ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
More information about finding Dissertations and Thesis may be found on the webpage "Theses and Dissertations at The Florida State University"
Abbreviation: dissertation
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1637–Current
Subjects: *General / Multi-Subject
Type: Dissertations / Theses

Handbooks & Tables

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics by Lide, David R. A Ready-Reference Book of Chemical and Physical Data. Accessible on the web!
Call Number: QD65.H3 (e-Book)
ISBN: 142006679X
Knovel Critical Tables Tables of physical, solvent, and thermodynamic properties. The physical property tables alone include over 21,000 inorganic and organic compounds, and pure substances. The solvent property tables have data for 385 common solvents, and the thermodynamic property tables have data for over 15,000 compounds.
Publication Date: 2003
International Critical Tables of Numerical Data, Physics, Chemistry and Technology by National Research Council Staff (Compiled by) Offers data on physical, thermodynamic, mechanical, and other key properties and is a major reference source used by those in chemistry, physics, and engineering. Many tables have been "knovelized" to be interactive. The full text of the original print version is available in PDF format (full-text searchable), including original index. All entries in index hyperlinked to their page numbers.
ISBN: 1591244919
Publication Date: 2003