Research Guides: *Theatre: Find Articles

Find Articles

Drama Online This link opens in a new window
Drama Online features plays from Methuen Drama, the Arden Shakespeare and Faber and Faber as well as production photos from the Victoria and Albert Museum. Play Tools with Character Grids, Words and Speech graphs and Part Books offer a new way to engage with plays for close study or for performance. Additional content includes scholarly notes, annotated texts, critical analysis, contextual information, reference works, performance and practitioner texts, acting and backstage guides. Note: FSU has access to Aurora Metro Books, Critical Studies and Performance Practice, Donmar Shakespeare Trilogy, Drama Online Core Collection, National Theatre Collections 1 & 2, Nick Hern Books Modern Plays, Oberon Books Collections 1 & 2, RSC Live Collections 1-3 (2013–2023), Shakespeare's Globe on Screen 1 & 2 (2008–2018) , and the Theatre Communications Group Play Collection.
Subject Terms:
Performing Arts
Theatre
Theater
Drama
Plays

Additional information:
Content List

Resource URL: https://www.dramaonlinelibrary.com/
Abbreviation: do
Vendor: Bloomsbury Publishing
Subjects: Literature, Theatre
Type: Biographies, E-Book Collections, Encyclopedias & Dictionaries, Images, Streaming Audio, Streaming Video
Eighteenth Century Drama This link opens in a new window
A unique archive of almost every play submitted for license between 1737 and 1824, and hundreds of documents that provide social context for the plays, featuring: John Larpent Collection of Plays from the Huntington Library Supplementary documents including Anna Larpent Diaries The London Stage, 1660–1800 A Biographical Dictionary of Actors, Actresses, Musicians, Dancers, Managers and Other Stage Personnel in London, 1660–1800.
Resource URL: http://www.eighteenthcenturydrama.amdigital.co.uk
Abbreviation: eighcd
Vendor: Adam Matthew Digital Ltd
Coverage: 1660–1824
Subjects: Literature, Theatre
Type: Historical / Primary Sources
Humanities and Social Sciences Full Text (plus Retrospective) This link opens in a new window
Periodical coverage in Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective (1907–1984) includes some of the best-known scholarly journals and numerous lesser-known but important specialized magazines. Humanities Full Text brings you full text plus abstracts and bibliographic indexing of the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities, as well as numerous lesser-known but important specialized magazines.
Resource URL: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=hsr&defaultdb=hft
Abbreviation: humanities
Vendor: EBSCO
Coverage: 1907–1984
Subjects: *General / Multi-Subject
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
Humanities Source This link opens in a new window
Humanities Source is a valuable collection for students, researchers and educators interested in all aspects of the humanities. It includes feature articles, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, original works of fiction, book reviews, and reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, operas, plays, and much more.
Resource URL: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=hus
Abbreviation: ehs
Vendor: EBSCO
Subjects: African-American Studies, Classics, History, Linguistics, Literature, Philosophy & Ethics, Religion, Rhetoric & Composition, Women's and Gender Studies
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A database of the back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences and sciences. The gap between the most recently published issue of any journal and the date of the most recent issue available in JSTOR is from 2 to 5 years.
Tutorials:
How to search (04:20)
Primary Source Collection: 19th-Century British Pamphlets (00:51)

Resource URL: http://www.jstor.org/action/showAdvancedSearch
Abbreviation: jstor
Vendor: JSTOR
Coverage: 1665–present
Subjects: Arts Administration, Art History, *General / Multi-Subject
Type: E-Book Collections, E-Journal Collections
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Includes Contemporary Authors, Dictionary of Literary Biography, and Contemporary Literary Criticism Select Provides access to biographies, bibliographies and critical analysis of authors from every age and literary discipline.
Resource URL: https://link.gale.com/apps/LitRC?u=tall85761
Abbreviation: galelit
Vendor: Gale
Coverage: 1400–Current
Subjects: Literature, Theatre
Type: Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
The MLA International Bibliography provides a subject index for books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. Works of interest to scholars are included whether they are written for a scholarly or a more general audience, provided that the content or its treatment places them within the scope of the bibliography. Masters' theses, guides that are essentially plot summaries, and other apprentice or simplified works are excluded.
Resource URL: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=mzh
Abbreviation: mla
Vendor: EBSCO
Coverage: 1921–Current
Subjects: African-American Studies, Latin American & Caribbean Studies, Linguistics, Literature, Middle Eastern Studies, Rhetoric & Composition, Russian & Eastern European Studies, Women's and Gender Studies
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
Nineteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new window
The Nineteenth Century Collections Online includes Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange; British Politics and Society; British Theatre, Music, Literature: High and Popular Culture; Children's Literature and Childhood; European Literature, 1790-1840: The Corvey Collection; Europe and Africa: Commerce, Christianity, Civilization, and Conquest; Mapping the World: Maps and Travel Literature; Photography: The World Through the Lens; Religion, Spirituality, Reform, and Society; Science, Technology, and Medicine, 1780–1925; Science, Technology, and Medicine, 1780–1925, Part II; Women: Transnational Networks.
Resource URL: http://link.gale.com/apps/NCCO?u=tall85761
Abbreviation: ncco
Vendor: Gale
Coverage: 1780–1925
Subjects: Art History, History, Literature, Religion
Type: E-Book Collections, Historical / Primary Sources
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the full-text of more than 200 scholarly journals published by the Johns Hopkins University Press. Subjects include art, anthropology, classics, culture and society, demographics, economics, folklore, history, language, literature, mathematics, medicine and health, philosophy, politics, religion, science, sociology, etc. Coverage varies according to title (1993).
[*http://muse.uq.edu.au/journals Mirror server if link is not working.]

Resource URL: http://muse.jhu.edu/journals
Abbreviation: muse
Vendor: The Johns Hopkins University Press
Coverage: 1993Current
Subjects: *General / Multi-Subject
Type: E-Book Collections, E-Journal Collections
Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive This link opens in a new window
First published in 1902, the Times Literary Supplement (TLS) is the only literary weekly—in fact the only journal—to offer comprehensive coverage of the latest and most important publications, in every subject, in several languages as well as reviewing current, theatre, cinema, music and exhibitions. Every issue of this important publication can be found in digital form, cover-to-cover, in the Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive. It is an essential resource for anyone studying, or supporting the study of, modern literature and culture.
Resource URL: https://link.gale.com/apps/TLSH?u=tall85761
Abbreviation: tlsh
Vendor: Gale
Coverage: 1902–2019
Subjects: English, Film Studies, History, Literature, Music, Theatre
Type: E-Journal Collections, Historical / Primary Sources, Images, Newspapers and Newswires

These are just some of the important Theatre journals we have subscriptions to at FSU. While most journals are available online many print titles in the visual arts are not, but they remain equally important resources. Check the Libraries' catalog for complete access and holdings information.

Research tip: when looking for a specific journal you can search by its ISSN, rather than its title. Like a book's ISBN, journals have an 8 digit ISSN that uniquely identifies them (example: Modern Drama is 1712-5286).

ARTbibliographies Modern (ABM) This link opens in a new window
ARTbibliographies Modern (ABM) provides full abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art, with more than 13,000 new entries being added each year. Entries date back as far as the late 1960s.
ABM is the premier source of information on modern and contemporary arts dating from the late 19th century onwards, including photography since its invention. It includes abstracts of English and foreign-language material on famous and lesser-known artists, movements, and trends. The coverage of ABM is wide-ranging and includes performance art and installation works, video art, computer and electronic art, body art, graffiti, artists' books, theatre arts, conservation, crafts, ceramic and glass art, ethnic arts, graphic and museum design, fashion, and calligraphy, as well as traditional media including illustration, painting, printmaking, sculpture, and drawing.
ABM is used by students and researchers around the world to pinpoint publications and writings relevant to their area of study. Its extensive classification system and comprehensive abstracts make it an ideal source for information on artists, art movements, art history and theory, design, photography, and crafts.

Set up a My Research Account in ProQuest to save documents, searches, alerts and more (go to the top right corner of any ProQuest database)

Resource URL: http://search.proquest.com/artbibliographies/advanced?accountid=4840
Abbreviation: artbibmod
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1966–Current
Subjects: Architecture, Art Education, Art History, Art Therapy, Arts Administration, Cultural Heritage, Interior Design, Museum Studies, Studio Art
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
Arts & Humanities Citation Index This link opens in a new window
The Arts & Humanities Citation Index is a multidisciplinary database indexing more than 1,100 arts and humanities journals, as well as relevant references from over 6,800 science and social sciences periodicals. Provides multidisciplinary indexing of all fields of arts and humanities, including dance, film, radio and television, language, music and literature.
Tutorials:
Web of Science Tutorials

Resource URL: https://webofknowledge.com/?DestApp=WOS&editions=AHCI
Abbreviation: wokah
Vendor: Clarivate Analytics
Coverage: 1975–Current
Subjects: Architecture, Art Education, Art History, Art Therapy, Arts Administration, Cultural Heritage, Interior Design, Studio Art
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
Essay & General Literature Index This link opens in a new window
Indexes essays and articles contained in collections of essays and miscellaneous works published in the United States, Great Britain, and Canada. More than 300 volumes are indexed annually. Additionally, more than 20 annuals and serial publications such as Proceedings of the American Antiquarian Society, The Supreme Court Review, Dickens Studies Annual, and Anglo-Saxon England are indexed. In addition to analysis of individual essays, the Essay and General Literature database also provides full bibliographic information on collective titles indexed. This database focuses on the humanities and social sciences, with subject coverage ranging from economics, political science, and history to criticism of literary works, drama, and film.
Resource URL: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=egi
Abbreviation: essay
Vendor: EBSCO
Subjects: Economics, Film Studies, History, Literature, Political Science
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text This link opens in a new window
International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text contains all of the content available in International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance as well as full text for 100 titles.
Resource URL: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=ibh
Abbreviation: ibtd
Vendor: EBSCO
Subjects: Dance, Literature, Music, Theatre
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
Performing Arts Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
Performing Arts Periodicals Database indexes around 400 scholarly and trade journals, magazines, books, and newspapers covering theater, dance, film, television, stagecraft, broadcast arts, storytelling and more; drawing from both current files and selected back files to 1864. 160 publications are included in full text.
Subject coverage:
Dance
Theater
Film
Mime
Opera
Puppetry
Radio
Television
Storytelling
Video
Performance Art

Resource URL: http://search.proquest.com/iipa/advanced?accountid=4840
Abbreviation: iipa
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1864–Current
Subjects: Dance, Literature, Music, Theatre
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
The MLA International Bibliography provides a subject index for books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. Works of interest to scholars are included whether they are written for a scholarly or a more general audience, provided that the content or its treatment places them within the scope of the bibliography. Masters' theses, guides that are essentially plot summaries, and other apprentice or simplified works are excluded.
Resource URL: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=mzh
Abbreviation: mla
Vendor: EBSCO
Coverage: 1921–Current
Subjects: African-American Studies, Latin American & Caribbean Studies, Linguistics, Literature, Middle Eastern Studies, Rhetoric & Composition, Russian & Eastern European Studies, Women's and Gender Studies
Type: Indexes / Catalogs

Access instructions for Google Scholar for FSU patrons:

Go to http://scholar.google.com
Click on the upper left menu icon and select "settings"
Click on "library links" on left side bar
Type "Florida State University" into the search box and search
Mark the check box for "Florida State University - Find It @ FSU"
Click "save"

For more on Google Scholar, see the FSU Libraries Google Scholar Research Guide.