Research Guides: U.S. Government: Census

U.S. Census Bureau

U.S. Census Bureau
The mission of the U.S. Census Bureau is serve "as the leading source of quality data about the nation's people and economy. We honor privacy, protect confidentiality, share our expertise globally, and conduct our work openly. We are guided on this mission by our strong and capable workforce, our readiness to innovate, and our abiding commitment to our customers."
International Census Database
How to Use Census Data: Guides and Handouts About Data from the U.S. Census Bureau
Before you decide which type of data you need for current statistics, read "Choosing Census Data' on this website by the Oklahoma Department of Libraries. There is also additional helpful information here.
Guide to Sources of Statistics
Research Data Tools
Recent Releases

Past & Present

Dicennial Census Official Publications
Official reports by the U.S. Census Bureau on census data and methods from 1790 to the present
U.S. Census - Research and data from Pew Research Center
Publications by the Pew Research Center on the U.S. Census
Historical Census Data
Great index to locating historical censuses.
more...less...
University of Michigan Library
Current Population Survey
A monthly survey of about 50,000 households conducted by the Bureau of the Census for the Bureau of Labor Statistics. It has been conducted for over 50 years.
more...less...
A joint effort between the Bureau of Labor Statistics and the Census Bureau.
Historical Census Statistics on Population Totals By Race, 1790 to 1990, and By Hispanic Origin, 1970 to 1990, For The United States, Regions, Divisions, and States
more...less...
U.S. Census Bureau
Measuring America: The Decennial Censuses From 1790 to 2000
Contains copies of the questionnaires and instructions used in each decennial census from 1790-2000. Also available in STROZIER, Documents General Collection C3.2: M46/2.
more...less...
U.S. Census Bureau
Census Records
Census schedules from 1790 to 1950, from the National Archives

Demographic Data and Statistics

Current Population Reports
Much of the current population data is derived from the Current Population Survey (CPS). The Library has many of these reports in the Documents section in C3.186:P-
more...less...
U.S. Census Bureau
American Factfinder
To locate population, housing, economic, and geographic data.
State and County Quickfacts
Also click on More (state) data sets at top and Browse Data Sets for (city) on top right side after selecting a city
more...less...
U.S. Census Bureau
Census of Population and Housing
Contains various decennial volumes from 1790 to 2000 that have been digitized, as well as publications in the Special Collection such as bulletins and miscellaneous reports. Many also in the library in our Documents Collection.
more...less...
U.S. Census Bureau
Families and Households
American Community Survey Data on Same Sex Couples
Age Data of the United States
Can search by geography, for national, state, county and other geographic groups and contains special age groups such as baby boomers, grandparents and the older population.
Migration and Geographic Mobility
Foreign-Born Population
more...less...
U.S. Census Bureau
Language Use in the United States: 2011
Educational Attainment
more...less...
U.S. Census Bureau
School Enrollment
more...less...
U.S. Census Bureau
Population of the 100 Largest Cities and Other Urban Places in the United States 1790 TO 1990
Statistical Abstract 2012

Economic Data

Economic Census
Provides a detailed portrait of the economy of the U.S. once every five years, (years ending in 2 and 7) from the national to the local level.
The 2007 Economic Census covers most of the U.S. economy in its basic collection of establishment statistics. There also are several related programs, including statistics on minority- and women-owned businesses. Censuses of agriculture and governments are conducted at the same time. Older editions in STROZIER Documents.
Statistics of U.S. Businesses
International Trade
Current Industrial Reports
These reports produce timely, accurate data on production and shipments of selected products.
Employment Data
more...less...
U.S. Census Bureau
Income Data Tables
Poverty

Maps & Atlases

Census Atlas of the United States
STROZIER, Documents Oversize C 3.205/8-3:29
Census Bureau Map Products
The Growth and Distribution of American Cities: 1790 to 2000
Maps that show a visual representation of growth of American cities through time.

Library Databases

Historical Statistics of the United States: Millennial Edition This link opens in a new window
Contains more than 37,000 annual time series of quantitative historical information covering virtually every quantifiable dimension of American history: population, work and welfare, economic structure and performance, governance, and international relations, all from the earliest times to the present. A compendium of statistics from over 1000 sources last updated in 1990, HSUS has been expanded to include data series and topics such as slavery, American Indians, health, crime, migration, poverty, and the Confederate States of America are each placed in historical context.
Abbreviation: hsus
Vendor: Cambridge University Press
Subjects: Criminology and Criminal Justice, History, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: Datasets / Statistics, Historical / Primary Sources
DemographicsNow (Gale Business) This link opens in a new window
Demographics Now has been developed by SRC, LLC to bring you the data you need to make sound business decisions. With DemographicsNow you can analyze the demographic and market potential of any geography in the U.S.
Abbreviation: demnow
Vendor: Gale
Subjects: Communication, Demography and Population Studies, Geography, Hospitality, Public Health
Type: Datasets / Statistics, Maps
Social Explorer (1 concurrent user limit) This link opens in a new window
Note: Only 1 simultaneous user is allowed. Contains historical decennial census data for the United States from 1790 to the latest census, the American Community Survey, the American Religious Bodies (ASARB), and InfoGroup for latest religion data. Able to create reports and download data in convenient formats quickly and easily. Engagement between society and science.
Tutorials:
Social Explorer LibGuide

Abbreviation: socex
Vendor: Center for Research Libraries
Subjects: Anthropology, Communication, Criminology and Criminal Justice, Demography and Population Studies, Economics, Geography, Human Development & Family Science, Information Studies, International Affairs, Law, Political Science, Psychology, Public Administration and Policy, Public Health, Social Work, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: Datasets / Statistics, Directories, Encyclopedias & Dictionaries, Government Publications, Historical / Primary Sources, Maps

Reference Books

The Census book : a genealogist's guide to federal census facts, schedules and indexes : with master extraction forms for federal census schedules, 1790-1930.
STROZIER LIBRARY Reference -- HA214.D63 2000.
Congressional Quarterly's encyclopedia of the U.S. Census
STROZIER LIBRARY Reference (off-site storage) -- HA37.U55C66 2000
[United States census publications, exclusive of decennial census publications]
STROZIER LIBRARY Micromaterials -- Mif 1533 and STROZIER LIBRARY Micromaterials -- Film 4086
Guide to this microfiche collection is: Bureau of the Census catalog of publications, 1790-1972 (Doc C56.222/2-2: 1790-1972) on Ready Reference
The Who, What, and Where of America : Understanding the Census Results
STROZIER LIBRARY Reference -- HA201.122.W48 2003

Census Population Schedules

Population schedules usually refer to the sources that can help you locate names of your ancestors. Below are the census schedules we have in this library. From 1790 (the first decennial census)-1840, only the head of household is listed and the number of household members in selected age groups, but more information is provided from 1850-1930, such as names and ages of family members, state or country of birth, marriage status, occupation, etc. Due to privacy laws, these census records are not available to the public until 72 years after a given census was taken. Therefore, all census population schedules up to 1930 are now available and the 1940 census schedules won't be released until 2012. The State Library of Florida might have some census schedules that that we don't own. The National Archives in Washington, D.C. has all of the census schedules.

Population schedules of the second census of the United States, 1800.
STROZIER LIBRARY Micromaterials -- Film 511 .
Reels 1-3. Connecticut -- Reel 4. Delaware -- Reel 5. District of Columbia -- Reels 6-8. Maine -- Reels 9-12. Maryland -- Reels 13-19. Massachusetts -- Reel 20. New Hampshire --Reels 21-28. New York -- Reels 29-34. North Carolina -- reels 35-44. Pennsylvania -- reels 45-46. Rhode Island -- Reels 47-50. South Carolina -- Reels 51-52. Vermont.
Population schedules of the third census of the United States, 1810.
STROZIER LIBRARY Micromaterials -- Film 512.
Reels 1-3. Connecticut -- Reel 4. Delaware -- Reels 5-9. Kentucky -- Reel 10. Louisiana -- Reels 11-12. Maine -- Reels 13-16. Maryland -- Reels 17-22. Massachusetts -- Reels 23-25. New Hampshire -- Reels 26-37. New York -- Reels 38-43. North Carolina -- Reels 44-57. Pennsylvania -- Reels 58-59. Rhode Island -- Reels 60-62. South Carolina -- Reel 63. Tennessee -- Reels 64-65. Vermont -- Reels 66-71. Virginia.
Population schedules of the fourth census of the United States, 1820.
STROZIER LIBRARY Micromaterials -- Film 513.
See online catalog record for Reel information.
Fifth census of the United States, 1830 : population schedules.
STROZIER LIBRARY Micromaterials -- Film 294 Reels 1-4 (Alabama), Reel 15 (Florida), Reels 16-21 (Georgia),
Reels 33-42 (Kentucky), Reels 43-45 (Louisiana),
Reels 53-58 (Maryland), Reels 70-71 (Mississippi),
Reels 72-73 (Missouri), Reels 118-125 (North Carolina),
Reels 169-173 (South Carolina), Reels 174-182, (Tennessee) Reels 189-201 (Virginia) See online catalog record for more state information.
[Population schedules of the sixth census of the United States, 1840. Florida]
STROZIER LIBRARY Micromaterials -- Film 295
[Population schedules of the seventh census of the United States, 1850. Florida]
STROZIER LIBRARY Micromaterials -- Film 296 Reels 1-3.
reel 1. Alachua-Gadsden (in part) counties -- reel 2. Gadsden (in part)-Washington counties -- reel 3. Slave schedules.
Population schedules of the eighth census of the United States, 1860. Georgia.
STROZIER LIBRARY Micromaterials -- Film 297.
See online catalog record for Reel information.
Population schedules of the ninth census of the United States, 1870. Georgia.
STROZIER LIBRARY Micromaterials -- Film 298 Roll 144 (v. 6: Clay, Clayton, Clinch, Cobb, Coffee, and Colquitt Counties), Roll 147 (v. 8: DeKalb, Dooly, and Dougherty Counties), Roll 151 (v. 11: Fulton County), Roll 184 (v. 29: Wilkes, Wilkinson, and Worth Counties)
[Population schedules of the tenth census of the United States, 1880. Florida]
STROZIER LIBRARY Micromaterials -- Film 299 Reels 1-8.
reel 1. Alachua-Baker Counties -- reel 2. Bradford-Duval Counties -- reel 3. Escambia-Gadsden (in part) Counties -- reel 4. Gadsden (in part)-Jackson Counties -- reel 5. Jefferson-Leon (in part) Counties -- reel 6. Leon (in part)-Marion Counties -- reel 7. Monroe-St. John's (in part) Counties -- reel 8. St. John's (in part)-Washington Counties.
Schedules of the Florida State Census of 1885.
STROZIER LIBRARY Micromaterials -- Film 8110 Reels 1-13.
"All counties in the state are represented with the exception of Alachua, Clay, Columbia, and Nassau."
Eleventh census of the United States, 1890 : population.
STROZIER LIBRARY Micromaterials -- Film 2150
Reel 1. Alabama.--Reel 2. District of Columbia.--Reel 3. Georgia, Illinois, Minnesota, New Jersey, New York, Ohio, North Carolina, South Dakota, Texas. Alternate title is Population schedules of the eleventh census of the United States. Index in Micr Film 2150 Index.
Twelfth census of the United States, taken in the year 1900. Population, Florida.
STROZIER, Library Micromaterials -- Film 5321
Reels 1-13.
Federal population censuses, 1790-1890 : a catalog of microfilm copies of the schedules.
STROZIER LIBRARY Ready Reference
1900 federal population census : a catalog of microfilm copies of the schedules.
STROZIER LIBRARY -- Ready Reference -- GS4.2: P81/2/ 1900
The 1910 federal population census : a catalog of microfilm copies of the schedules.
STROZIER, Documents -- -- GS4.2: P81/2/ 1910
The 1920 federal population census : catalog of National Archives microfilm.
STROZIER, Documents -- -- GS4.2: P81/2/ 1920
Population schedules for 1790 to 1930
Available from the Internet Archive, for selected states.

Related Websites

CensusScope
"CensusScope is an easy-to-use tool for investigating U.S. demographic trends, brought to you by the Social Science Data Analysis Network (SSDAN) at the University of Michigan."
NHGIS (National Historical Geographic Information System)
Can manipulate data for all the decennial census and non-decennial years and more
Census U.S. Intercensal County Population Data, 1970-2009
Available from the National Bureau of Economic Research
Missouri Census Data Center
Uses Census 2000 data.

Research Librarian

Mohamed Berray

Email Me

Contact:

0027P Scholars Commons
Strozier Library

850-645-2709

Subjects: Government Information, Political Science, Public Administration and Policy