Research Guides: U.S. Government: Department of Agriculture

Department of Agriculture (USDA)
The mission of the Department of Agriculture (USDA) is to "provide leadership on food, agriculture, natural resources, and related issues based on sound public policy, the best available science, and efficient management."

USDA Daily Research News

Library Databases

AGRICOLA
The AGRICOLA (Agricultural Online Access) database covers journal articles, monographs, theses, microforms, audiovisuals, software and technical reports. It consists of two data sets: National Agricultural Library (NAL) Online Public Access Catalog and Article Citation Database. Each data set may be searched separately, or together. Coverage from 1970 to the present.
Set up a My Research Account in ProQuest to save documents, searches, alerts and more (go to the top right corner of any ProQuest database).

Abbreviation: agricola
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1970–Current
Subjects: Earth Science, Environmental Sciences
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
Food and Agriculture Organization Legislative and Policy Database (FAOLEX)
United Nations FAOLEX is a comprehensive and up-to-date legislative and policy database, one of the world's largest electronic collections of national laws, regulations and policies on food, agriculture and natural resources management.
Abbreviation: unfao
Vendor: United Nations
Subjects: Environmental Sciences, Food, International Affairs, Law
Type: Datasets / Statistics, Government Publications

Agriculture Legislative Committees

Committee on Agriculture (House)
STROZIER Documents Y4.AG8/1:
Committee on Agriculture (House) (FDsys)
Committee on Agriculture, Nutrition, and Forestry (Senate)
STROZIER Documents Y4.AG8/3:
Committee on Agriculture, Nutrition, and Forestry (Senate) on FDsys
Report on activities during the ... Congress
STROZIER, Documents General Collection Ground Floor -- Y1.1/8: 100-1134, etc.

Special Reports

Safeguarding America’s Agricultural Statistics A Century of Successful and Secure Procedures, 1905-2005

Related Sites

FAO Yearbook of Fishery Statistics
STROZIER, Documents General Collection Ground Floor -- SH1.Y4
more...less...
Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO)
Yearbook of Forest Products
The FAO Yearbook of Forest Products is a compilation of statistical data on basic forest products for all countries and territories of the world. It contains series of annual data on the volume of production and the volume and value of trade in forest products.
more...less...
FAO

USDA Websites

Annual Agricultural Statistics
STROZIER, Documents--A1.47: and A1.47/2: CD
Agriculture Information Bulletin Index
Many of these publications may be found in STROZIER, Documents General Collection Ground Floor A1.75:
Annual Report on Tobacco Statistics
1929-current
Census of Agriculture
Conducted every 5 years (years ending in 2 and 7.) Also available in print in the Documents collection.
Economic Research Service
Primary source of economic information and research in the U.S. Department of Agriculture.
more...less...
USDA
Farm Service Agency
more...less...
USDA
Fire Effects Information Service (FEIS)
"FEIS provides up-to-date information about fire effects on plants, lichens, and animals...contains literature reviews, taken from current English-language literature of about 900 plant species, 7 lichen species, about 100 wildlife species, 17 Research Project Summaries, and 16 Kuchler plant communities of North America."
Food Dollar Series
"The food dollar series measures annual expenditures on domestically produced food by persons living in the U.S. The database is searchable by category: total, food at home, or food away from home—for the food dollar and food and beverage dollar and by year—from 1993 to 2008. There are three primary series to provide a variety of perspectives about where our food dollar goes: the marketing bill, the industry group dollar, [and] the primary factor dollar.
List of Soil Surveys by State
Also available in the Documents Collection in A57.38:
National Agricultural Library
One of four national libraries of the United States, this library has one of the world's largest and most accessible agricultural information collections.
National Agricultural Statistics Service
more...less...
USDA
National Resources Conservation Service
Provide expertise in soil science and leadership for soil surveys and water conservation.
more...less...
USDA
Natural Resources Inventory
"A statistical survey of land use and natural resource conditions and trends on U.S. non-Federal lands."
Plants Database
State Fact Sheets
"State fact sheets provide information on population, income, education, employment, federal funds, organic agriculture, farm characteristics, farm financial indicators, top commodities, and exports, for each State in the United States. Links to county-level data are included when available."
Treesearch-Forest Service Research
U.S. Forest Service publications online.
University of North Texas Libraries Digital Collections
This A to Z Digitization Project encompasses all pre-1960 federal government documents which were identified for retro-cataloging purposes. They are digitizing them alphabetically, starting with the call number A, which includes agricultural documents.
USDA Nutrient Database for Standard Reference
Yearbook of Agriculture (1894-)
STROZIER, Documents -- -- A1.10:
Need to enter the year you want in the search screen
more...less...
USDA

Recommended Websites

Core Historical Literature of Agriculture
This electronic collection contains agricultural texts published between the early nineteenth century and the middle to late twentieth century. Full-text materials cover agricultural economics, agricultural engineering, animal science, crops and their protection, food science,forestry, human nutrition, rural sociology, and soil science.
more...less...
Albert R. Mann Library, Cornell University
Southern Research Station Headquarters
Full-text publications

Commodities

In addition to the categories below, additional catagories are found on the National Agricultural Statistics Service site.

Broiler Hatchery
Catfish Processing
Cattle on Feed
Chicken and Eggs
Cold Storage
Meats, dairy products, poultry products, fruits, nuts, and vegetables.
Cotton Ginnings
Crop Production
Egg Products
Farm Labor
Grain Stocks
Hogs and Pigs
Livestock Slaughter
Peanut Stocks and Processing
Potato Stocks
Rice Stocks
Sheep
Turkey Hatchery
Vegetables
Commodity Forecasts- World Supply and Demand Forecasts
A highlight of this site are the links to the World Agricultural Supply and Demand Estimates (WASDE) report which "provides USDA's comprehensive forecasts of supply and demand for major U.S. and global crops and U.S. livestock."

Research Librarian

Mohamed Berray

Email Me

Contact:

0027P Scholars Commons
Strozier Library

850-645-2709

Subjects: Government Information, Political Science, Public Administration and Policy