Research Guides: U.S. Government: Department of Health & Human Services

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
Their mission is to protect the health of all Americans and provide essential human services, especially for those who are not able to help themselves. The work of this agency is conducted by 11 agencies, that are listed below.
Office of the Secretary
Administration for Children & Families
Administration for Community Living
Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services
U.S. Food and Drug Administration
Health Resources and Services Administration
Indian Health Service
National Institutes of Health
Office of Inspector General
Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration
HHS A - Z Index
Topical index to locate information

HHS Reports Online

Selected Data

Selected Serial Publications

Center for Devices and Radiological Health (CDRH)
In FDA's effort toward more transparency, it is making more information available. This site has links to several databases (scroll to middle of page.)
Emerging Infectious Diseases
Also available in STROZIER Documents HE20.7817:
Environmental Health Perspectives
Also available in STROZIER Documents HE20.3559:
FDA Food Code
A model that assists food control jurisdictions at all levels of government by providing them with a scientifically sound technical and legal basis for regulating the retail and food service segment of the industry (restaurants and grocery stores and institutions such as nursing homes). Also available in STROZIER Documents HE20.4002: F73/27/1995-2001.
Life Tables
Life expectancy.
Monthly Vital Statistics Reports
STROZIER, Documents -- -- HE20.6217:
Library has 1952-1998. Earlier years in print, 1986-1998 in microfiche.
National Vital Statistics Report
Continues the Monthly Vital Statistics Reports. Regular issues cover provisional birth, death, marriage, and divorce statistics. Special reports are issued 4-6 times per year and cover final data on births for the previous year, and special topic analyses are issued irregularly.
NCHS Health E-Stats
Reports and statistics on timely topics.
The Reports of the Surgeon General
"The Reports of the Surgeon General contains official reports, conference and workshop reports, and proceedings from the Office of the Surgeon General."
Vital and Health Statistics Series
Also available in STROZIER, Documents --- HE20.6209: with the Series number(s) following this call number.
Vital Statistics of the United States
Annual reports that contain detailed vital statistical data, including natality, mortality, marriage and divorce, containing data going back to 1890.
STROZIER, Document --- HE20.6210:
NIA Publications
Order free publications from the National Institute on Aging.
Health, United States
Also in Strozier Documents HE20.7042/6
Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report (MMWR)
Also available in STROZIER Documents HE20.7009
Public Health Reports
Archived issues. Also available in Strozier Documents HE20.30

Library Databases

Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI)
Provides ready access to information on measurement instruments (i.e., questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding schemes/ manuals, rating scales, projective techniques, vignettes/scenarios, tests) in the health fields, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and information science.
Abbreviation: health-psych
Vendor: EBSCO
Coverage: 1985–Current
Subjects: Communication, Communication Disorders, Medicine, Nursing, Nutrition & Integrative Physiology, Public Health
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
Health & Safety Science Abstracts
Published in association with the University of Southern California's Institute of Safety and Systems Management, this database provides a comprehensive, timely survey of recent work relating to public health, safety, and industrial hygiene.
Subjects:
Occupational safety and health
Transportation
Environmental and ecology
Food and drugs
Pesticides
Natural disasters, civil defense and emergency management
Fire safety
Radiation safety and electrical safety
Consumer and recreation safety
Ergonomics and human factors
Diseases, injuries and trauma
Epidemiology and public health
Medical safety
Toxicology
Civil and structural engineering

Abbreviation: healthsafety
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1981–Current
Subjects: Nursing, Public Administration and Policy, Public Health, Public Safety and Security
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
Health and Wellness (Gale)
Health and Wellness offers access to full-text medical journals, magazines, reference works, multimedia, and much more. Perfect for researchers at all levels, this comprehensive consumer health resource provides authoritative information on the full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative medical practices. Material contained in this resource is intended for informational purposes only.
Abbreviation: health-well
Vendor: Gale
Coverage: 1980–Current
Subjects: Medicine, Nursing, Public Health
Type: E-Book Collections, E-Journal Collections, Newspapers and Newswires, Streaming Audio

Directories

Guide to Information Resources
Where to Write for Vital Records
State directory of offices to acquire birth, death, marriage, or divorce certificates.

Research Librarian

Mohamed Berray

Email Me

Contact:

0027P Scholars Commons
Strozier Library

850-645-2709

Subjects: Government Information, Political Science, Public Administration and Policy