Research Guides: U.S. Government: U.S. Census Bureau

U.S. Census Bureau
The mission of the U.S. Census Bureau is serve "as the leading source of quality data about the nation's people and economy. We honor privacy, protect confidentiality, share our expertise globally, and conduct our work openly. We are guided on this mission by our strong and capable workforce, our readiness to innovate, and our abiding commitment to our customers."
How to Use Census Data: Guides and Handouts About Data from the U.S. Census Bureau
Before you decide which type of data you need for current statistics, read "Choosing Census Data' on this website by the Oklahoma Department of Libraries. There is also additional helpful information here.
Census Publications

Past & Present

Dicennial Census Official Publications
Official reports by the U.S. Census Bureau on census data and methods from 1790 to the present
U.S. Census - Research and data from Pew Research Center
Publications by the Pew Research Center on the U.S. Census
Historical Census Data
Great index to locating historical censuses.

more... less...

University of Michigan Library
Historical Census Statistics on Population Totals By Race, 1790 to 1990, and By Hispanic Origin, 1970 to 1990, For The United States, Regions, Divisions, and States
more... less...

U.S. Census Bureau
Measuring America: The Decennial Censuses From 1790 to 2000
Contains copies of the questionnaires and instructions used in each decennial census from 1790-2000. Also available in STROZIER, Documents General Collection C3.2: M46/2.

more... less...

U.S. Census Bureau
Census Records
Census schedules from 1790 to 1950, from the National Archives

Demographic Data and Statistics

Census Bureau Data
To locate population, housing, economic, and geographic data.
State and County Quickfacts
Also click on More (state) data sets at top and Browse Data Sets for (city) on top right side after selecting a city

more... less...

U.S. Census Bureau
Economic Census
Provides a detailed portrait of the economy of the U.S. once every five years, (years ending in 2 and 7) from the national to the local level.
The 2007 Economic Census covers most of the U.S. economy in its basic collection of establishment statistics. There also are several related programs, including statistics on minority- and women-owned businesses. Censuses of agriculture and governments are conducted at the same time. Older editions in STROZIER Documents.

Databases

Historical Statistics of the United States: Millennial Edition
Contains more than 37,000 annual time series of quantitative historical information covering virtually every quantifiable dimension of American history: population, work and welfare, economic structure and performance, governance, and international relations, all from the earliest times to the present. A compendium of statistics from over 1000 sources last updated in 1990, HSUS has been expanded to include data series and topics such as slavery, American Indians, health, crime, migration, poverty, and the Confederate States of America are each placed in historical context.
Abbreviation: hsus
Vendor: Cambridge University Press
Subjects: Criminology and Criminal Justice, History, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: Datasets / Statistics, Historical / Primary Sources

International Census Database
Missouri Census Data Center
The Missouri Census Data Center (MCDC) is a cooperative program among state agencies in Missouri and the U.S. Bureau of the Census. Its purpose is to enhance awareness of and access to public data, especially Census Bureau products. Data may be accessed directly, via the public machine readable data archive, or by using one of the custom applications
Census Bureau Map Products
more... less...

U.S. Census Bureau
Census Survey Explorer
Use U.S. Census Bureau surveys or censuses by filtering and searching by geography, frequency, topics, and subtopics.

Social Explorer (1 concurrent user limit)
Note: Only 1 simultaneous user is allowed. Contains historical decennial census data for the United States from 1790 to the latest census, the American Community Survey, the American Religious Bodies (ASARB), and InfoGroup for latest religion data. Able to create reports and download data in convenient formats quickly and easily. Engagement between society and science.
Tutorials:
Social Explorer LibGuide

Abbreviation: socex
Vendor: Center for Research Libraries
Subjects: Anthropology, Communication, Criminology and Criminal Justice, Demography and Population Studies, Economics, Geography, Human Development & Family Science, Information Studies, International Affairs, Law, Political Science, Psychology, Public Administration and Policy, Public Health, Social Work, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: Datasets / Statistics, Directories, Encyclopedias & Dictionaries, Government Publications, Historical / Primary Sources, Maps

Reference Books

The Census book : a genealogist's guide to federal census facts, schedules and indexes : with master extraction forms for federal census schedules, 1790-1930.
STROZIER LIBRARY Reference -- HA214.D63 2000.
Congressional Quarterly's encyclopedia of the U.S. Census
STROZIER LIBRARY Reference (off-site storage) -- HA37.U55C66 2000
[United States census publications, exclusive of decennial census publications]
STROZIER LIBRARY Micromaterials -- Mif 1533 and STROZIER LIBRARY Micromaterials -- Film 4086
Guide to this microfiche collection is: Bureau of the Census catalog of publications, 1790-1972 (Doc C56.222/2-2: 1790-1972) on Ready Reference
The Who, What, and Where of America : Understanding the Census Results
STROZIER LIBRARY Reference -- HA201.122.W48 2003

Population Schedules

Population schedules usually refer to the sources that can help you locate names of your ancestors. We keep several volumes of population schedules in Strozier Library. From 1790 (the first decennial census)-1840, only the head of household is listed and the number of household members in selected age groups, but more information is provided from 1850-1950, such as names and ages of family members, state or country of birth, marriage status, occupation, etc. Due to privacy laws, these census records are not available to the public until 72 years after a given census was taken. The National Archives in Washington, D.C. has all of the census schedules.

Population schedules for 1790 to 1930
Available from the Internet Archive, for selected states.

Research Librarian

Mohamed Berray

Email Me

Contact:

0027P Scholars Commons
Strozier Library

850-645-2709

Subjects: Government Information, Political Science, Public Administration and Policy