The Joint Chiefs of Staff are composed of the Chairman, the Vice Chairman, the Chief of Staff of the Army, the Chief of Naval Operations, the Chief of Staff of the Air Force, and the Commandant of the Marine Corps.
The Publication Directorate of INSS publishes books, monographs, reports, and occasional papers on national security strategy, defense policy, and national military strategy through National Defense University Press that reflect the output of university research and academic programs. In addition, it produces Joint Force Quarterly, a professional military journal published for the Chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff.
The Joint Special Operations University (JSOU) provides its publications to contribute toward expanding the body of knowledge about joint special operations. JSOU publications advance the insights and recommendations of national security professionals and the Special Operations Forces (SOF) students and leaders for consideration by the SOF community and defense leadership.
"The Federation of American Scientists, an independent, nonpartisan think tank and membership organization, is dedicated to providing rigorous, objective, evidence-based analysis and practical policy recommendations on national and international security issues connected to applied science and technology. " Site has many good statistical and other reports.
The Board provides independent advice and recommendations on scientific, technical, manufacturing, acquisition process, and other areas of interest to the Department of Defense. Site contains Full-text 1993-present. Lists of reports, 1986-1992.
"The Military Health System (MHS) is a global medical network within the Department of Defense that provides cutting-edge health care to all U.S. military personnel worldwide."
"Military Suicide Research Consortium (MSRC) a collaboration with Florida State’s Psychology Department. As part of the MSRC, staff at iDigInfo have compiled a large collection of scholarly research and are exploring ways to extract scientific data from the texts."
This site is useful for information on military personnel, health and medical records stored at the National Personnel Records Center, Military Personnel Records NPRC (MPR).
The USA4MilitaryFamily initiative "seeks to engage and educate state policymakers, not-for-profit associations, concerned business interests, and other state leaders about the needs of military members and their families."
Most volumes available in STROZIER, Documents D114.11:
Perform a titles search for army lineage series in the FSU online catalog to locate all volumes of this series.
Some full-text online. Print volumes available in STROZIER, Documents D114.7: There are other subseries, such as: European Theater of Operations and the War in the Pacific.
This report describes the Department of Defense's (DoD's) environmental accomplishments during the past fiscal year. Site contains reports from 1995-present.
The Board provides independent advice and recommendations on scientific, technical, manufacturing, acquisition process, and other areas of interest to the Department of Defense. Site contains Full-text 1993-present. Lists of reports, 1986-1992.
Naval Media Center (U.S.). Publishing Division.; United States. Navy Internal Relations Activity.; United States. Bureau of Naval Personnel.; United States. Department of the Navy. Office of the Chief of Information. 1945-2011.
Starts with the first issue in 1951. This journal includes the art work of the late Will Eisner, who was the artistic director for PS Magazine from 1951 through 1972
U.S. Declassified Documents Online's greatest value lies in the wealth of facts and insights that it provides in connection with the political, economic, and social conditions of the United States and other countries. Materials as diverse as State Department political analyses, White House confidential file materials, National Security Council policy statements, CIA intelligence memoranda, and much more offer unique insights into the inner workings of the US government and world events in the twentieth and twenty-first centuries.
A significant resource for researchers in almost every discipline, this collection makes it possible for researchers to easily and quickly access and review selected previously classified government documents online.
U.S. Declassified Documents Online provides users with:
actual documents that were used to develop and implement domestic and foreign policies
provides the “real” story behind events and crises
encourages critical reevaluation of previously published memoirs and other subjective writings
U.S. Declassified Documents Online enables users to examine documents originating from sources including:
Atomic Energy Commission
Central Intelligence Agency (CIA)
Department of Defense
Department of Justice
Department of State
Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI)
National Security Council
Presedential Libraries
White House
Other executive agencies
Materials available for review include:
Cabinet meeting minutes
CIA intelligence studies and reports
Correspondence
Diary entries
FBI surveillance and intelligence correspondence and memoranda
Full texts of letters, instructions, and cables sent and received by U.S. diplomatic personnel
Joint Chiefs papers
National Security Council policy statements
Presidential conferences
State Department political analyses
Technical studies
Trade treaties, studies and analyses
U.S. briefing materials for meetings with foreign heads of state and government officials
White House Confidential File materials
And much more
Abbreviation: declassdoc Vendor: Gale Coverage: 1941-1997 Subjects: African-American Studies, Economics, History, International Affairs, Latin American & Caribbean Studies, Law, Middle Eastern Studies, Political Science, Public Administration and Policy, Public Safety and Security Type: Government Publications, Historical / Primary Sources, Images, Standards
The most comprehensive collection available of significant primary documents central to US foreign and military policy. The Digital National Security Archive contains the most comprehensive set of declassified government documents available. The resource now includes 42 collections consisting of over 103,000 indexed documents, with more than 719,000 total pages.
Abbreviation: digital-nsa Vendor: ProQuest Coverage: 1945-Current Subjects: History, International Affairs, Political Science Type: Encyclopedias & Dictionaries, Government Publications, Historical / Primary Sources, Indexes / Catalogs
The HSDL collection provides quick access to important U.S. policy documents, presidential directives, and national strategy documents as well as specialized resources such as theses and reports from various universities, organizations and local and state agencies.
Abbreviation: hsdl Vendor: Naval Postgraduate School Center for Homeland Defense and Security Coverage: 1788-Current Subjects: Political Science, Public Administration and Policy, Public Safety and Security Type: Government Publications
Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government, this database offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of these sites. Military & Government Collection provides full text for nearly 300 journals and periodicals. The database also offers indexing and abstracts for more than 400 journals, primary source documents, and books. Publications covered in this database include Air Force Comptroller, Defense Studies, JFQ: Joint Force Quarterly, Military Technology, Combat Edge, FBI Law Enforcement Bulletin, Foreign Affairs, Naval Forces, and many more. Additionally, many full-text titles are available in native (searchable) PDF or scanned-in-color.
Abbreviation: milgv Vendor: EBSCO Coverage: 1900-Current Subjects: International Affairs, Political Science Type: Government Publications, Indexes / Catalogs
