Research Guides: Public Administration & Policy: Articles

Search Google Scholar

Databases

CQ Press on Sage Knowledge
This database combines many of CQ's most well- known government and political titles into a single searchable database. It includes such titles as the Political Handbook of the world, Elections A to Z, the Federal Regulatory Directory and the Washington Information Directory and covers such topics as International Affairs, Congress, Law and the Courts, Elections and Political Behavior, the Presidency and Politics and History.

Use these resources to find information on Public Administration topics:

ProQuest Databases (http://lib.fsu.edu/get/pquest): ProQuest provides millions of documents from thousands of sources, covering all research and subject areas. ProQuest gives you access to current and historical documents. Includes Social Sciences Premium Collection (http://lib.fsu.edu/get/sspc).

Social Sciences Full Text (EBSCO) (http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?profile=ehost&defaultdb=ssf&authtype=ip): Social Sciences Full Text covers a wide array of areas covering the latest concepts, theories and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences.

Credo Reference (http://lib.fsu.edu/get/credo): This Collection includes over 650 titles with emphasis on subject encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, and reference handbooks. Also included are over 1,000 short reference videos, nearly 300,000 high-resolution art images, and thousands of additional images across all subject areas. Subject coverage is especially diverse and equipped to address all key disciplines.

CQ Weekly
CQ Weekly provides nonpartisan information on Capitol Hill, legislative news and analysis of events. This also includes votes by the House of Representatives and Senate of the United States
Demographics Now
Government Finance Statistics
Budgetary and extra-budgetary financial operations data of governments, with history to 1990. (IMF)
Hein Online
Provides a searchable format and full-image access to a large and growing collection of legal journals from the time of their inception to a few years before present, as well as full-text access to laws themselves.
Homeland Security Digial Library
"Over 111,100 documents related to homeland security policy, strategy, and organizational management from a wide variety of sources including federal, state and local governments; international governments and institutions; nonprofit organizations and private entities."
Historical Statistics of the United States
Print version in STROZIER Documents -- C3.134/2: H62 1789-1970
Military and Government Collection
Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government, this database offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals, and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of those sites. The Military & Government Collection provides cover-to-cover full text for nearly 300 journals and periodicals and indexing and abstracts for more than 400 titles.
PAIS
Materials on public affairs from 1972 to date. Includes articles, books, conference proceedings, government documents, book chapters, and statistical directories about public affairs.
Proquest Congressional
A comprehensive view of congressional action and the behind-the-scenes activity involved in crafting U.S. legislation. It includes the Congressional Research Digital Collection (CRDC), Committee Prints and CRS Reports (1824-Present), Statutes at Large (1789-present), and the Congressional Serial Set (1789-Present). Includes the Federal Register & Political News.
Social Explorer
Contains historical decennial census data for the United States from 1790 to the latest census, the American Community Survey, the American Religious Bodies (ASARB), and InfoGroup for latest religion data . Can create reports and download data in convenient formats quickly and easily. Only 1 simultaneous user is allowed.

Statistical Abstract of the United States This link opens in a new window
The ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political and economic conditions of the United States.
Tutorials:
Statistical Abstract of the U.S. ProQuest LibGuide

Abbreviation: saus
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1973–Current
Subjects: Demography and Population Studies, Public Health, Statistics, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: Datasets / Statistics

U.S. Congressional Serial Set - readex
(1817 - 1980)
The 15th Congress of the U.S. Congressional Serial Set - Digital Edition is now available. When complete in 2007, the set will include from the 15th Congress (1817) to the 96th Congress (1980).
Nexis Uni
Nexis Uni offers a simple, intuitive research experience with flexible search options and tools to help guide students through common research tasks. Nexis Uni offers the same trusted content collection of more than 15,000 news, legal and business sources that students and librarians alike have come to expect from LexisNexis, while also providing a better research experience.

Sage Reference Online This link opens in a new window
A collection of over 250 Reference Titles. Sage Reference Online is a social science book platform, where you will find an expansive range of SAGE book and reference content.
Subjects include:
Business & Management
Communication and Media Studies
Counseling and Psychotherapy
Criminology & Criminal Justice
Education
Engineering & Materials Science
Geography, Earth & Environmental Science
Health and Social Care
History
Life & Biomedical Sciences
Maths, Physics, Chemistry & Computing
Philosophy
Politics & International Relations
Psychology
Research Methods & Evaluation
Sociology

Abbreviation: sro
Vendor: Sage Publishing
Subjects: *General / Multi-Subject
Type: Citation Management, E-Book Collections, Encyclopedias & Dictionaries, Indexes / Catalogs

Think Tanks Policy Research

Policy Archive (http://www.policyarchive.org/): Policy Archive is an innovative digital archive of global non-partisan public policy research. It collects and disseminates summaries, full texts, videos, reports, briefs, and multimedia materials of Think Tanks, university, government, and foundation-funded policy research.

Think Tank Search (https://guides.library.harvard.edu/hks/think_tank_search): From Harvard's Kennedy School of Government. Think Tank Search searches the websites of institutions that generate public policy research, analysis, and activity. The list represents a mixture of partisan and non-partisan think tanks. The Site contains U.S. Thank Tanks as well as Non-U.S. Think Tanks by region, as well as Think Tank rankings by influence and transparency.

Find Policy (https://www.findpolicy.org/): This site brings policy research from leading organizations around the world. The site can be searched by Themes, Think Tank, or by Geographical area for 22 countries from around the world.

American Policy Directory (https://library.uoregon.edu/govdocs/apd): From the University of Oregon, this is a directory of policy groups by themes/topics.

Journals

The journals below are published by Sections of the American Society for Public Administration and may be a good place to start your research.

American Review of Public Administration	Public Budgeting and Finance
Chinese Public Administration Review	Public Integrity
International Public Management Journal	Public Performance and Management Review
Journal of Health and Human Services Administration	Public Personnel Management
Journal of Public Management and Social Policy	International Journal of Health Policy and Management
Public Administration Quarterly	Public Works Management and Policy
Review of Public Personnel Administration	State and Local Government Review
Public Policy and Administration	Public Administration and Policy
International Journal of Public Sector Management	Southern Review of Public Administration

Interlibrary Loan

ILLIAD

Request articles not available at FSU or other local libraries through Interlibrary Loan.