FSU Libraries physical spaces will close beginning Thursday, March 19 at 5:00 p.m. until further notice. We will not be able to provide access to physical items in our Federal, United Nations, and State of Florida depository collections at this time. For more information on how to find resources online, please check out the Searching for Gov Info Online tab on this research guide.
For U.S Government resources on Covid-19, please visit the following sites:
This library is a congressionally designated depository for U.S. Government documents. Public access to the government documents collection is guaranteed by public law. (Title 44 United States Code)". The FSU Libraries was designated a Federal Depository Library in 1941 and serves the 2nd United States Congressional District of the state of Florida. Information about the Federal Depository Library Program (FDLP) may be found here.
Federal Inspectors General launch portal to share reports from across government:
https://www.oversight.gov/, announced by the Council of the Inspectors General on Integrity and Efficiency, brings together past and brand-new reports from the 73 agency IGs whose reports are often classified.
Information about the Federal Collection
1.What is a
Government documents are official publications produced by
any government agency, such as the Federal government, a state agency or the
United Nations. They come in a variety of physical formats, including books,
periodicals, maps, microfiche, CD-ROMs, videotapes, and in electronic format on
2.What is in the
Federal documents collection?
Strozier Library receives many of the publications available
through the Federal Depository Program. Subjects covered include aeronautics,
business, demographics, education, energy, environment, foreign affairs,
government policy and programs, health, natural resources, technology and
more.We have publications issued by the
first Congress and by all subsequent congresses, and publications from every
cabinet level department and most other administrative agencies.
3.How do I search
for Federal documents?
Most Federal documents received since 1990 can be found
through the online catalog.Documents
issued since 1895 can also be identified through The Monthly Catalog of United States Government Publications issued by
the Government Printing Office.The
table under the "Uncataloged material" tab lists other places to locate documents that are not in our online
U.S. government-sponsored research and worldwide scientific,
technical, engineering, and business-related information can be identified
through the National Technical Information Service (NTIS), at http://www.ntis.gov or possibly from here.
4.How do I find
Federal documents on the shelf?
Practically all of the Federal documents are shelved in
compact stacks or microfiche cabinets in the Basement of Strozier Library,
which areaccessibleall hours Strozier Library is open.Most Federal documents are arranged by
issuing agency using the call number system created by the Superintendent of
SuDoc numbers are in three parts, separated by a period and
a colon, and often include slashes. The part before the period represents the
agency responsible for the publication, the part between the period and the
colon describes the series or type of publication, and that after the colon
identifies the individual piece. Click on the "By agency" tab of this guide for more detailed information.
2016 End of Term Presidential Web Archive Now Available
Due to increased public interest (between fall 2016 & spring 2017) to preserve and document U.S. Government web content at the end of the Obama Presidential term, the Federal Government’s End of Term (EOT) Web Archive partners, in collaboration with other efforts like DataRefuge, and Environmental Data and Governance Initiative (EDGI), have archived over 200 Terabytes of websites and data. There are current ~ 50,000 available for searching and browsing through the EOT Web Archive project page, and the Internet Archive Collection page.
This database combines many of CQ's most well- known government and political titles into a single searchable database. It includes such titles as the Political Handbook of the world, Elections A to Z, the Federal Regulatory Directory and the Washington Information Directory and covers such topics as International Affairs, Congress, Law and the Courts, Elections and Political Behavior, the Presidency and Politics and History.
CQ Weekly provides nonpartisan information on Capitol Hill, legislative news and analysis of events. This also includes votes by the House of Representatives and Senate of the United States.
Details: CQ Weekly provides nonpartisan information on Capitol Hill, legislative news and analysis of events. This also includes votes by the House of Representatives and Senate of the United States.
Subscription-based resource linked to the National Security Archive, an independent, non-governmental research institute and library located at The George Washington University, which collects and publishes declassified documents obtained through the Freedom of Information Act. The Archive provides the most comprehensive collection available of significant primary documents central to US foreign and military policy since 1945.
Provides access to over 6,000,000 summaries of journal articles, technical reports, and conference papers and proceedings dating from 1970 forward as well as more than 10,000 web site abstracts, and 80 full-text searchable handbooks, patents and standards. Formerly known as Engineering Information Village, Ei Village 2.
ProQuest Government Periodicals Index is your key to unlocking the wealth of material published by the United States federal government. As a publisher of information relating to diverse subjects business, agriculture, national security, the environment, nutrition, transportation and more the federal government offers numerous magazines and newsletters with substantial research value. Government Periodicals Index helps researchers access this type of information through detailed indexing.
HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world. For greater access, log in under My Collections with your FSU ID.
Quick access to important U.S. policy documents, presidential directives, and national strategy documents as well as specialized resources such as theses and reports from various universities, organizations. In Library Access only for some collections but the following is available to the public: CRS reports; Congressional Budget Office (CBO) reports; Congressional hearings, reports, documents, resolutions and public laws; GAO reports, Inspector General reports, Presidential directives, etc.
Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government, this database offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals, and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of those sites. The Military & Government Collection provides cover-to-cover full text for nearly 300 journals and periodicals and indexing and abstracts for more than 400 titles.
Materials on public affairs from 1972 to date. Includes articles, books, conference proceedings, government documents, book chapters, and statistical directories about public affairs. Contains a variety of international sources including journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more.
Details: Materials on public affairs. Includes articles, books, conference proceedings, government documents, book chapters, and statistical directories about public affairs.
Coverage: from 1972-present
A comprehensive view of congressional action and the behind-the-scenes activity involved in crafting U.S. legislation. It includes the Congressional Research Digital Collection (CRDC), Committee Prints and CRS Reports (1824-Present), Statutes at Large (1789-present), and the Congressional Serial Set (1789-Present). Includes the Federal Register & Political News.
Contains historical decennial census data for the United States from 1790 to the latest census, the American Community Survey, the American Religious Bodies (ASARB), and InfoGroup for latest religion data . Can create reports and download data in convenient formats quickly and easily. Only 1 simultaneous user is allowed.
"Cumulative List of Organizations described in Section 170(c) of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986, is a list of organizations eligible to receive tax-deductible charitable contributions. This online version is offered to help you conduct a more efficient search of these organizations."
"The Foreign Assistance Dashboard provides a view of U.S. Government foreign assistance funds and enables users to examine, research, and track aid investments in a standard and easy-to-understand format. The Dashboard is still in its early stages of development."
"governmentattic.org provides electronic copies of thousands of interesting Federal Government documents obtained under the Freedom of Information Act. Fascinating historical documents, reports on items in the news, oddities and fun stuff and government bloopers, they're all here. "
"LLMC is a non-profit cooperative of libraries dedicated to the twin goals of, preserving legal titles and government documents, while making copies inexpensively available digitally through its on-line service LLMC-Digital. LLMC provides libraries with a reliable and budget-friendly source of digital replacement when their older, physically deteriorating books became too burdensome to store given diminished use. While aiding libraries in their preservation and space recovery programs, it also provides an economical way to complete retrospective collections."
Use MetaLib's federated searching to retrieve reports, articles, and citations by simultaneously searching across multiple databases (including reference databases, digital repositories or subject-based Web gateways). This tool, is a service of the Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (CGP), and also allows searching individual databases using the A-Z Resource List tab at the top.
NISTS's "mission is to promote U.S. innovation and industrial competitiveness by advancing measurement science, standards, and technology in ways that enhance economic security and improve our quality of life."
Contains records for projects that include digitized copies of publications originating from the U.S. Government, serving as a locator tool for publicly accessible collections of digitized U.S. Government publications. Shows U.S. Government publication digitization projects that are planned, in progress, or completed.
This site reports product safety incidents through to help the Consumer Product Safety Commission identify product hazards quicker to provide consumers with safety information on products they regularly use.
"STATS America is a service of the Indiana Business Research Center at Indiana University's Kelley School of Business. We obtain thousands of data items from hundreds of data sets from a dozens of federal and state sources, along with some commercial or private source data."
This A to Z Digitization Project encompasses all pre-1960 federal government documents which were identified for retro-cataloging purposes. They are digitizing them alphabetically, starting with the call number A, which includes agricultural documents.
STROZIER, Documents General Collection -- C51.9/3: Holdings: Vol. 1, no. 1 (Jan. 1946)-v. 11, no. 6 (June 1949) A catalog of government document citations made available after World War II. It was an attempt to distribute government sponsored research that had been secret during the war. There are 2 later titles the library has, all in the same call number, in the Documents Collection and covers up to 1964.